A clothespin bag.

If you like what you see, please leave a comment. :)

Print

I have been seeing the cute clothespin bags around on the internet and decided I would like to have one for myself, except I want to use it for my delicates.  You know, the unmentionable clothing you don’t want to just throw in the wash with your other garments.  Anyhoo, I was telling my sister about it and she decided I should make her one also, except it is a clothespin bag.   Here is a step by step guide to making your own.

1.  Find a sister who feels sorry for you because you can’t afford to purchase antique wooden hangers.  Cry on her shoulders and then she will surprise you with a package of hangers in the mail.  You can use any hanger, but I like the old wooden kind because they are curved nicely, do not have a neck at the hook, and there is no bar across the bottom.

2.  You’ll need:  1/2 yard or so (I really didn’t measure) of cute material and a 1/2 yard of contrasting material.  I used cotton.  A package of 1/2″ wide double bias tape.  Thread, sewing machine, the usual.  Now this is where I pretend I am an expert at sewing and know exactly what I am doing.  You can pretend right along with me.  :D

3.   Measure your hanger and cut your fabric (both outside and lining) to the width of the hanger plus and inch for the seam.  Cut length to 19″.   You’ll need outside pieces and two lining pieces.  My outside piece is of ladies and the inside is red polka dot.  Trim the top of the materials to the curve of the hanger.  You’ll need to leave some space for the seam.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

4.  Next cut a 7″ circle from some paper at a template.  I used a dessert dinner dish to make my circle.  I cut it in a tear drop.  See picture below.  Place one outside fabric and one lining fabric back to back.  Pin the template to the top center of the fabric.  The bottom of the circle should measure 11″ down from the top.   This is the front of the bag. You’ll need to cut straight down from the top to the teardrop.  This leaves an opening for the hanger. Do not cut the back (the other two pieces).

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

5.  Here you can see the circle is cut out and I folded the material back so you can see the lining.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

6.  Place the lining pieces face to face and sew all the way around, but do not sew the circle.  Do the same for the front pieces.  Snip corners, so the corners will be straight when you turn the front pieces inside out.  Now turn just the front pieces (the ladies), so that the ladies are showing.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

7.  Now comes the hard part.  Stuff the lining down into the front through the hole.  Poke out all the corners to make them look nice.  Make the circles match up.  Pin and then sew the circles together.  Help later when you add the bias tape.  :)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

8.  Measure the hole and cut your bias tape to that size.  If you gently shape the bias tape around the circle, while ironing the tape, it will keep that shape and make it easier to sew.  Pin the bias tape on and then sew all around, making sure you are sewing together the tape, front piece, and lining.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

9.  Here is what the very top part looks like.  This is where the hook of the hanger will go.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

10.  You are almost finished.  Insert the wooden hanger and pray to the good Lord above that it will fit.   I haven’t quite finished with it.  I really don’t like how the fabric comes together at the hook, so I am going to sew a huge black button there.  I think it will look cute.   After that, this one is going to my sister.  Mine will look exactly like this one, but will be different.  LOL

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I hope you have enjoyed this little sewing show.  It may not happen again.  I do not sew well and make lots of mistakes, but I do enjoy doing it once in a while.  :)

Updated to add:  these instructions come from a book I checked out of the library.   I have no idea what book it was.

About appliejuice

I am a Christian Homeschooling mom. I love my God, my husband who is my knight in shining armor, my four blessings, and my friends.
This entry was posted in crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A clothespin bag.

  1. gingerporter says:

    That is adorable….Whining to the sister gets you wooden hangars? I might have to try that one…lol..:-)

  2. Absolutely gorgeous.

    I am so glad that you found someone to send you some hangers.

  3. Elaine says:

    At least now I know why I was constantly looking at the hangers in every store I went into to see if they had the type you were looking for. :roll:

    You do a much better job at sewing than I do. Now this is for putting your delicate items in before washing? The one for you I mean as I know you don’t do the clothes line outside due to the humidity in FL.

  4. appliejuice says:

    That’s right Elaine. This is for the items that you wash by hand or on delicate. :)

  5. Donna says:

    Your unmentionables bag is very nice Michelle. The material is cute. :) That is a nice idea, having a bag especially for the delicate items.

  6. Very nice! That material is cute.

    Thanks for explaining and showing the pictures….I had no clue what kind of clothespin bag you were talking about.

  7. Wardeh says:

    Hey, that is cool! You figured out how to do that without instructions? I am sooo impressed. You are so talented! Love, Wardeh

  8. appliejuice says:

    Um, Wardeh, that was so very sweet of you to say that, but I am not that smart. I got the pattern from the library. I think it was from Quick & Easy Sewing Projects. Now I am going back up to the blog and fix my mistake here. No Wardeh, I am not that talented. LOL You are though!

  9. Wardeh says:

    Well, you did figure out the lining yourself, so I’m not going to retract my admiration for you. Love, Wardeh

  10. Paula says:

    love this…you ARE talented…yes you are. I am going to try to make one, too (but not for my sister ’cause her husband washes the clothes:) )

  11. Bethanne says:

    Hello
    I must first say I do like your bag very much and the tutorial.
    I have a question or am I missing something (not understanding it). I made a full circle by tracing around a dish for the opening. Now, comes the hard part. You say to sew the lining together and then the main piece tog. Join them by putting the lining inside the main piece. This is where my problem is. I have no opening for the hanger to go through. Is something missing in the instructions step 6 or am not understanding something.
    Thank you. Bethanne

    I emailed you. :)

  12. Kate says:

    Thanks for the pattern! I made it last night :) Instead of cutting all the way up to the hanger, I just left the top unsewn and then slipstitched the pieces down once I was finished. It eliminated the opening area around the hook that you said you didn’t like. Plus, I made a strip of fabric from my lining print and used it to go around the opening, instead of bias tape. I then satin stitched it to the bag– it looks really neat. Only problem- I didn’t make the strip long enough, so I made a bow out of the lining material and sewed that to the bag to hide the space. All in all, I’m really pleased with my bag, and I think it’s too pretty to hang outside! I’m going to use it to store lingerie:) Thanks for the inspiration!!!

    yeah, I am glad you enjoyed it. I wish I could see a picture.

  13. Renee says:

    How cute! I love the fabric too. Thanks for the instructions, just what I have been looking for!

  14. raajia says:

    I love your bag very much and the tutorial !!! That is a nice idea . many Thanks for the instructions

  15. Dava says:

    O.K. I bought the hangers and that pic looks like fabric I sent to you. Where is my bag? Geez. I get tired of taking my clothespins one at a time to the clothes line! I’m tired.

  16. Dava says:

    This post is nearly three years old LOL

  17. Brenda says:

    Hello
    Did you ever find out what book the clothespin pattern came from? Brenda

  18. Brenda says:

    Hello
    I have the same problem as Bethanne had. The opening for the hanger to go. Please fill in the missing piece. Thank you Brenda
    Bethanne’s note: Hello
    I must first say I do like your bag very much and the tutorial.
    I have a question or am I missing something (not understanding it). I made a full circle by tracing around a dish for the opening. Now, comes the hard part. You say to sew the lining together and then the main piece tog. Join them by putting the lining inside the main piece. This is where my problem is. I have no opening for the hanger to go through. Is something missing in the instructions step 6 or am not understanding something.
    Thank you. Bethanne

  19. appliejuice says:

    I added instructions in step #4. I hope that helps. You can see in step #9, what it should look like.

  20. Big Martha says:

    I’m making this today for a whiny sister who lives a few states away (she claims she can’t find a clothespin bag anywhere). My only suggestion is to not attempt cutting the top hanger shape freehand all the way around. I cut one side, then folded all layers, matched edges and trimmed the other side. I also moved my circle down a bit to leave the top area at the hanger intact. I realize this has been posted for some time and I hope you have continued to sew for your whiny sister. Seems I do more sewing projects for family members than I do for myself. Thanks for this easy instruction post.
    Big Martha

  21. Lovely tutorial, definitely going to have to make one of these, thank you. Love your choice of fabric as well.

  22. Bev Mohr says:

    I love your clothespin bag..My only question is where do I get the hangers???
    Bev

Leave a Reply

