I hate knitting

I have been trying to knit since two years ago.  It still hadn’t clicked  until August when I found out that the proper way to knit is the Continental Style.  It made sense then.  So…I started something other than a bookmarker or a lopsided dishcloth or a scarf I’ll never wear in Florida.  I started a lunch bag.  It was a simple pattern.  All I needed was wool yarn, size  15 circular needles, which I paid $15.00 for!  I also needed help from  Square Melanie. Um, yeah she was a lot of help. cough-cough

I begain the process in August.  Knitting every chance I get.  Then I’d stop because I wanted to work faster, so I picked up crocheting again.  Knitting is soo very slow. 

 lunch bag 3

I learned some things. It isn’t easy knitting backwards to fix a mistake. If you drop a stitch, you still need a crochet hook to fix it! In crochet you only need to pull the yarn to go back to fix it and you still only need the crochet hook. You don’t need a needle in crochet.

I finally get to the end of the bag. Yes, there are mistakes and a hole I think, but after felting no one will know. :D I was sick on knitting by the time I got to the flap part, that I decided to fix it and just crochet a nice flap.

Lunch bag

Pretty isn’t it. It is the shell stitch. I like it very much. I didn’t know how it would felt, but I figured the edging would at least be scalloped. :)

To felt it, I put the bag in the wash on hot water, no soap, with some towels to help with the rubbing part. Once the yarn is felted, the bag will be nice and thick. All the stiches will be fused together.

I waited with excitement. I finally finished a knitted project and it was going to be useful to me. The washer beeped, to let me know it was done. I reach in and pull out the pillowcase my bag was in…

And this is what came out.

lunch bag 1

I pry it apart hoping to salvage something. I let it dry for a few days.

Lunch bag 2

It is now cut up into squares for hotpads.

I hate knitting.

About appliejuice

I am a Christian Homeschooling mom. I love my God, my husband who is my knight in shining armor, my four blessings, and my friends.
This entry was posted in crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I hate knitting

  1. Kristy says:

    Oh my! I know nothing about knitting, but that does not look good. Nope, something is wrong with that thing. What is the felting supposed to do…I’m guessing it was supposed to fuse it together slightly but it got a little overdone. Is that right? Wow, I was so impressed after the spider thing but now you’ve really let me down.

    Kristys last blog post..Congratulations Gray Wolves!

  2. Sheri says:

    Oh my, I’m so sorry for your tragedy! And yes, that is tragic. I never got passed the ‘knitting makes me nervous because of all the mistakes that I’m making and I don’t know what to do about them’ phase. Other than that, I think I would really like knitting.

    On a bright note….I spy a very handsome crocheted chicken.

    Sheris last blog post..For Elaine

  3. Donna Young says:

    :-o That stinks. David has one pair of socks that does that in the washing machine – roll into a tight ball and they do not come clean.
    That is disappointing though, all that time.

  4. Melanie says:

    Hahahahahahahahaha!

    You know I am laughing with you, not at you. Really, I mean that. Seriously.

    You have a front loading washer, right? I’ve read that it’s hard to felt things in a front loader because you can’t stop to check the progress and shake out the wrinkles. Maybe next time you could do it by hand. I’ve done that, but only with little things. A whole bag would take a lot of scrubbing.

    I happen to think it’s wonderfully easy to knit backwards. Of course, I get lots of practice – I have to unknit all the stuff I knit while under the influence. *hiccup* I think fixing mistakes in crochet is a bigger pain because you have to rip out everything – even the parts you didn’t mess up – to get back to the mistake. Lame.

    Hotpads rock!

    Melanies last blog post..Cookies and a Bookmark and a Curious Absence of Pictures

  5. Melanie says:

    P.S. I am not really a square. I’m just trying to keep the squares who live with me from being intimidated by my coolness.

    Because only cool people knit Swiffer covers.

    Melanies last blog post..Cookies and a Bookmark and a Curious Absence of Pictures

  6. Elaine says:

    I’m sorry that it didn’t work for you. I’ve never felted anything, well maybe a wool sweater but that was an accident – that’s my story, but I’ve been told that you need patience, a top loader washer, patience, lots of time and did I mention patience.

    You’re a better woman than I for trying for so long. Don’t tell Melanie but I prefer crochet to knitting as well, it’ll be our little secret ;-) I think that normal people prefer crochet. :nods:

    Elaines last blog post..My Joyful Journal ~ October 10, 2008

  7. Oh…sweetie…..I am so sorry.

    Just think…you now have wonderful blue hot pads…that could have been pink.

    chocolatechics last blog post..October 11

  8. Robin says:

    I think that if I would have done this I would have come to two conclusions. One is that I hate knitting. The other is that I would be very happy that I crochet supremely well and (k)not knitting would (k)not be such a loss.

    I also think I would be thankful that I would never wonder again if I would enjoy knitting because now I really knew that I did not enjoy it. When I saw cool knitting projects I would just remember that I crochet pretty swell and could do any of “those” things just as well with crochet. :mrgreen:

    I tried knitting on and off for a few months abotu 18 months ago. I also hate knitting and that’s really okay.

    Because I heart crochet! :D

    Did you get my e-mail about my new blog? :) Blessings, Robin

  9. JoAnn says:

    Not only did a laugh because really things like this are funny…when it isn’t you…or in hindsight.

    I’ve been trying to teach myself to knit for a few years. I haven’t moved beyond the basics though. The only reason I keep trying is because there are some things that just knit better than crochet…like my husband would never wear a crocheted sweater and dishclothes. I hate crocheted dish clothes. But I really prefer crochet to knit as a way to pass my time. It’s much easier and faster and funner (yes, I know it isn’t a word).

    I’ve been known to crochet outfits on rubber chickens and doing a Chicken Little puppet show with them. I also made green eggs and ham once. Funner! : )

    Yes, I did laugh when the ball came out of the wash. LOL I am like you. I like the knitted clothing and dishclothes better than crochet. I plan on trying it again with washclothes…again
    JoAnns last blog post..Our Possessed Microwave

  10. What’s Continental Style? I just spent yesterday crashing the homeschool knitting class for the older girls (the boys are welcome, but none of them want to! :p ), and being boggled at cause I knit and cast on in some apparently bizarre, I-once-saw-someone-doing-it-that-way-a-loooong-time-ago way, that they had never heard of…whatever, I learned it from my very capable Grandma, so though I know little of knitting, I know THAT is still okay! :p But I want to learn how to knit more. So I can actually make things. But not felt them. I buy things to felt, so I don’t get upset when they come out strange, lol!

    That blue thing is definitely odd…cut it up and make baby booties! :p

    LOL That strange ball is now potholders. Yes, it was strange. I’ll email you with a link on the continental style. You are probably casting on that way. I heard there is no wrong way to knit. :)

    muralimanohars last blog post..A total fizzle…

Leave a Reply

