Whole Wheat Rolls 100%

Decided to do a little baking for my challenge this month.  For years every single dinner roll I have ever made out of whole wheat bread, tasted just like a mini loaf of bread.  I wanted a dinner roll that tasted like a dinner roll and it was fluffy and soft.  So I gave up and stopped making the dinner rolls.

Then one day on Pinterest  I saw Soft 100% Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls.  Because of the awesome looking rolls, I decided to look at  the recipe.  Because of the 1/2 cup butter, 1/4 cup honey, and 3 eggs I decided to give it a try.

I used my bread machine to mix the dough just right.  I did have to add about 1/2 cup more flour than called for.  Then I proceeded to shape the rolls according to the instructions.

Next I placed them in my USA pan and let them rise for a long time.  Notice the sides are touching.  This helps with the softness.

After baking, I brushed melted butter on top of each roll.  This picture is before I put the butter on it.  So, you have 1/2 cup butter inside, melted butter on the top, and smear butter on when sliced open.  What’s not to love there?  Aren’t they purdy!

Look at that light fluffiness!  De-lish!

 Verdict:  Family loved them and all were gone by the time dinner was over.  YUMMY!   So TOTALLY NAILED IT!!  I nailed it so well, I may make these again for our Thanksgiving Dinner.

Click  for the recipe –> Soft 100% Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls

Hopefully the other ladies did their challenge.  Go check them out.

About appliejuice

I am a Christian Homeschooling mom. I love my God, my husband who is my knight in shining armor, my four blessings, and my friends.
This entry was posted in healthy lunch, healthy snacks, Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Whole Wheat Rolls 100%

  1. CelticRose says:

    Those look great!!!! and love the amount of butter!!!! Sadly, we have whole wheat allergies here so I can’t try them for myself……

  2. You’ve already done Thanksgiving?????

  3. Not Inadequate says:

    So totally making these! They look AMAZING! Definitely Nailed It.

  4. Kristy says:

    Those looks amazing!!! Did one batch make that many rolls? Do you need a USA pan or would a cookie sheet work? NAILED IT!

    • appliejuice says:

      A cookie sheet won’t work because you need a pan with sides. I used a 9/13 pan and mentioned USA pan because they are made in the USA and are totally awesome. Nothing sticks to them. :) Yes, one batch made all those rolls.

  5. tressays says:

    Those look very good! Nice job!

  6. Melanie says:

    Those look awesome! You’ve convinced me to try this recipe at Thanksgiving.

  7. Donna Young says:

    They look delicious!

  8. Sheri says:

    Did you use 2 TABLEspoons of yeast? I made this recipe several weeks ago and they fell flat while baking. I thought it might have been the large amount of yeast, but I haven’t made them again. They still tasted wonderful though.

    • appliejuice says:

      I used what was called for. When placing the rolls in the pan to rise, they need to be close together, but not touching. When they rise, they well touch each other. Also, I added a little more flour. I don’t know if that will work or not.

Leave a Reply

