Carrying Stuff

I like purses.  I like big purses and I like them red.  Proof is in this post.

So back in August, I surprised myself by buying a purple Medium Cafe Bag from Tom Bihn.  I wanted something light weight to carry around and I got it in time to take on my Hot Air Balloon Ride.  Yes, it is purple.  The actual color name is Plum.

20130823_080452

I didn’t give up the red completely though, the inside is cayenne. :)

Phone Pocket

I did not like how everything in the Cafe Bag fell to the bottom and it was hard to root around in there looking for things.  Someone suggested I buy a Side Effect to use as a big wallet of sorts.

That is the reason I order the the Steel/Wasabi SE. It was just to organize the things in a bigger bag.

After a few days walking around Charlotte, NC carrying the Cafe Bag with the Side Effect inside, along with candy and bottles of water, my shoulders got sore.  I ditched the Cafe Bag and used only the SE.  I did not continue to carry the water, because we didn’t even drink it until we got back to the truck anyways.

I love the SE.  I still continue to carry it almost daily.  I know, I am shocked myself.  It isn’t even RED!  Here is a photo of the inside and how I have everything located.

IMG_2313

My keys, TB wallet, TB small dyneema pouch in Ultraviolet, card holder, and a mini-padded pouch that holds my earbuds.  Also have clip-ons, mini altoids, a second set of keys, and ultrasuede cloth for my glasses.  Since my smartie fun phone does not fit in the side pocket, I put Werther’s candies in there.  I think that is really what those little pockets are for.  Seriously.

IMG_2324

My wallet and card holder are attached to key straps that are attached to o-rings on the inside of the SE.  It’s handy-dandy!

My smartie fun phone, fits perfectly in the outside zipper pocket.  And look! It totally matches the color of the SE.  I didn’t even realized that until I had the SE for a couple of weeks.  So glad I requested the color change.

IMG_2316

In the Thank You box I showed you yesterday was a medium plum colored organizer pouch.  I am now using that to hold the current knitting pattern.  A 8×11 inch paper folded in half fits perfectly in there.  This size pouch fits better in my Swift than the large clear pouch.
IMG_2323

The black padded pouch you saw in yesterday’s post is a mystery to me.   I have no idea what to put in it.  I want something in it that I will need every day, so I can see the lovely gift with the lovely red ribbon on it.  :-D  I thought of using it as a Mom’s Med-kit.  I’ll have to think on that a while.

I am not the only one in this family carrying TB products now.

The husband has gone through three or four shoulder bags and rolling bags in the past couple of years.  I went on a savings spree and bought him the Empire Builder with Wasabi inside.  This is an early Christmas gift.  He is very pleased with it.

Are these things expensive.  You bet, but not any more than other good quality products.  These are American made and best of all, they will last a life time.

IMG_1559

When I am able to, I plan on purchasing another Side Effect. The exterior is their U.S. made, high tenacity 1050 denier ballistic nylon. In black.  BUT…the interior is  ultralight 200d Dyneema®/200d nylon ripstop fabric. In Iberian (RED).  Yep, same red as the inside of my Swift.  See, the black/iberian Side Effect has to come home to me.

4 responses to “Carrying Stuff

  1. Yep – LOVE American companies!

  2. Your friend, Kristy, in the other posts sounds like a very amazing friend. I love your bags. They sound like an organizer’s dream-come-true.

  3. I love bags of all descriptions…but especially one that helps me stay organized on a trip! What a great post! I’ll look for these!

  4. I like handbags with pockets too; I don’t want to spend months out of my whole life rooting around in a one-cell nightmare of a bag.

Leave a Reply

