No Knead Bread

As I was reading the blog C’est la vie and found some yummy looking bread called No Knead Bread. I decided to give it a try.

I made the dough with just the three ingredients needed.

3 cups all-purpose or bread flour, more for dusting
1/4 teaspoon instant yeast
11/4 teaspoons salt
1 1/2 cups water

It looks a little watery to me, but since I had never done this before, I decided to go with it.
bread-dough-1.JPG

Here is the dough after letting it rise for 14 hours. πŸ™‚
bread-dough-2.JPG

And here is the last photo of the loaf sliced. It didn’t rise as well as I hoped and it was a little over baked. I baked this loaf in a 6 qt cast iron dutch oven at 450 degrees.
bread-dough-4.JPG

The next time I make this bread, I will be using half whole wheat and half white unbleaced flour. I will use a different pan and possibly lower the temp. Anyhoo, it was a lot of fun to make.

Hmmm, I just read some other information on this bread and it looks like my dough was not “shaggy” enough. πŸ˜†

3 responses to “No Knead Bread

  1. What does shaggy mean? This bread looks fantastic! My friend just gave me a similar recipe. Please post how it turns out with the whole wheat. It does look fun to try. How did it taste?

    Love, Wardeh

  2. Hey Wardeh. I didn’t know what “shaggy” meant either until I looked through the link above. Click on “no knead bread” and then scroll down to “shaggy dough” and click on that. It will show you a picture. Havne’t made the whole wheat yet. I have to plain it, because it takes so long.

    The taste was just like sourdough (to me), chewy too. πŸ™‚ The bread should have risen more. I think I ran out of time and could let it rise the last half hour.

  3. I love using half whole wheat with it! Also good with pine nuts or black olives. Fun recipe, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

