Old Fashion Dish Towels

I have been getting tired of covering my bread, to rise, with my everyday dish towels. Children would come along and pull it off to wipe their hands. There were times when I couldn’t even find a clean dish towel to use. Then I remember many years ago my grandmother gave me a set of dish towels that were embroidered. I have always enjoyed embroidered work; it is so pretty. I fished out the set from my cedar chest and found them to be in excellent shape. Each is stitched with the day of the week and a cat doing a household chore.

These towels measure a whopping 32″ x 34″. They will cover anything I want. πŸ˜€
hand-towels.JPGhand-towel-2.JPG

You can tell the quality of the stitching by looking at the back. It should look just as well as the front and it does. πŸ™‚ I don’t know if my grandmother made these or if they were given to her, but I think of her every time I see them.
hand-towel-1.JPG

7 responses to “Old Fashion Dish Towels

  1. Oh how cute are those! Looks like something we would see in June’s kitchen;)

  2. Hi Lisa, yes you would find these in June’s kitchen. lol

  3. Oh how I wish I could find a set of these. They are beautiful. I wonder if anybody still makes them. (I can’t stitch like that to save my life)

  4. Hi Maria. Yes, people do still make these, maybe not this design. I just received a batch of flour sack towels in the mail and I’ll be making them up shortly. Thanks for the comment.

  5. Do you have a pattern for the dish towels online that we could download? If so can you please email me one, I would love to do these with my daughter.

    Thank You

    This set is over 30 years old. I got them from my grandmother. I do not have the pattern or then name of them.

  6. I just might have some, from my great-aunts box of patterns…I’ll see if I can post some on my blog. check in a couple days
    peggyann

  7. SHAREN BACKHAUS

    LOOKING FOR BLACK AMERICAN EMBRODIERY PATTERNS FOR DISH TOWELS

    Sorry, don’t know what they are or where to find them.

Leave a Reply

