Florida people call them Gremons.

pondarosa-lemon.JPG    pondarosa-lemon-2.JPG

A neighbor gave us  Pondarosa Lemons to make lemonade.  This lemon is huge.   I lost my sticky that had the measurements :(.  I was  able to squeeze two cups of juice from two of the lemons.  The lemon syrup recipe is below. 

For information on lemons go here .

 Lemon Syrup

1 part juice to 1 part sugar.  Yep you read that right. LOL

Heat juice in mircowave until boiling. Must reach 160 degrees.  Stir in sugar until it desolves.  Let cool.  Put in refrig. until you want some lemonade.  Add syrup to water to your liking. 

You can use the skins for your lemon baking needs.  Just peel thinly and freeze until you need grated lemon peel.

I don’t like lemonade, but my kids do.  I totally forgot about the syrup in the refrig. , so  I am having to throw it out.  Bummer.  I’ll have to ask for mor gremons.

Oh, why do Florida people call them gremons?  Grapefruit + Lemons = gremons.  😀 

2 responses to “Florida people call them Gremons.

  1. The girls and I got a big kick out of seeing this giant lemon, a.k.a. “gremon”! 😀

  2. I had no idea they could get so big!! 😯

Leave a Reply

