Crocheted Tea Cozies

teacosie.jpgThis is a tea cosy I made for my swap buddie at Crochetville.  It is made from Red Heart yarn.   My friend wanted something retro, with colors to match her kitchen.  She also likes anything with stars.   I fashioned this cozy from Fox-Glove Tea Cosy .   The big red star is a button used to close the cozy around the tea pot.  She and I had the same teapot a six cup Brown Betty (only hers was red).

Here are pictures of the tea cozies she sent me.  She designed these herself.  The first one is like mine, with the bubbles.    The second one is felted.   She sent me extra flowers and they are the ones I put on my daughter’s hat.  🙂  These are not very good pictures and the color does not do them justice.  They are very beautiful.

teacosie-1.JPG teacose2.JPG These are used for my Brown Betty tea pot.  You can find Brown Betties at Harney & Sons or buy them off of eBay (like I did).

Below are some patterns to make your own cozies. If you make any, please tell me about them.

  • Prim Rib – this is knitted.  I really like how it looks, but I can’t knit well.
  • Rosy Cosy –  this is beautiful and I plan on making this soon.
  • Ripple Tea Cozy – very pretty for 2 or 3 cup pots.
  • Scallop Tea Cosy – This is the pattern that started the swap at Crochetville.  It has been done in different colors and is very pretty.
  • Lion Brand Tea Cozy – I haven’t seen this one before.  Looks nice.
  • Teapot cozy – This one is decorated with crochted flowers.

That is all I can find for now.  If I find anymore free patterns, I’ll post them.  🙂

6 responses to “Crocheted Tea Cozies

  1. ooooh cosies, im glad they fit, they look so much better on a brown brown betty lol

  2. Hello! I’m taking a break from taking photos for the scavenger hunt to be on-line. 🙂 Your tea cozies are beautiful! We have been drinking more tea over the past year or so and I appreciate the beauty in tea pots. Do you have different types of tea pots for different kinds of tea? I read that Brown Bettys are good for black tea? I wonder what kind is best for green, Oolong, etc.

    The button picture is another in a line of scavenger hunt photos I’m taking. Some of the phots may seem kind of silly to some, but they are giving me practice for things later. I can’t wait until Spring! I love taking pictures of bugs, too. :mrgreen: Two of my favorite pictures from last Summer are of a large caterpillar on a leaf and a butterfly flying an inch or so above a Zinnia. I am planting a bazillion Hummingbird/butterfly flowers this spring so I can take bunches of pictures. 😀

    Have a wonderful evening~

  3. Hi Applie….I was touring your blog and noticed this thread.
    They have some nice tea cozies…..I have been staring at the pattern from Lion Brand. I have several tea pots that I use….even though I can crochet I can’t make heads or tales of that pattern.

    I was going to try it but just stick with one color….when I have the time. I did like the other cozies also….The lion brand pattern is the one I like the best.

  4. I had to go back and look at the Lion Brand one. That is a cute pattern. 🙂

    When I can’t get heads or tails of a pattern, I just dig right in and do it. It helps me to actually do the pattern while figuring out the instructions.

  5. I have the foxglove pattern and would like to make it for my Aunt, but I can’t figure out what size hook I need to use. What size did you use?

Leave a Reply

