Stuffed Jumbo Shells

 This is a family favorite.  Most of the time we use homemade spaghetti sauce with meat, but it is still just as good without meat in the sauce.  🙂

Stuffed Jumbo Shells 

  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, shredded
  • 2 cups ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • Dash pepper
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 10 oz. frozen spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1 lb. manicotti shells, cooked and drained
  • Mix together the first seven ingredients. Spoon about 1 Tbs. of filling into each shell. Place filled shells in a single layer in baking dish. Cover with your favorite spaghetti sauce and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Top with mozzarella cheese.
    Freezer tip: After shells have been stuffed, place in a single layer on a cookie sheet. Flash freeze. Once frozen, place shells in a Ziploc bag and put back in the freezer.
    To prepare, remove the amount of shells you want, place in a baking dish, cover with sauce and bake at 350 degrees for 45 to 60 minutes.

    4 responses to “Stuffed Jumbo Shells

    1. When you say flash freeze I am thinking of what they do to chicken and fish….do you mean to just put the shells in the freezer till they freeze….I know this is a stupid question…but I have been trying to freeze bread dough and have run into problems so I wanted to make sure I understood….sorry for bugging with you with dumb questions when your wrist is hurt…..so take your time answering….I’ll check back.

    2. < ![CDATA[When you say flash freeze I am thinking of what they do to chicken and fish....do you mean to just put the shells in the freezer till they freeze....I know this is a stupid question...but I have been trying to freeze bread dough and have run into problems so I wanted to make sure I understood....sorry for bugging with you with dumb questions when your wrist is hurt.....so take your time answering....I'll check back.]]>

    3. Hey Ginger, it is not a dumb question. It means to place the stuffed shells on a cookie sheet, not touching each other. Freeze them that way. Once frozen, place in ziplock bag or other container. They will not stick to each other. Great for cookies, muffins, extra.

      I am not sure about the bread dough. I have only frozen fresh baked bread. Oh, I have frozen rolls with the flash freeze method and it works great. 🙂 I do bake the rolls on a lower temp for a short amount of time. More on that later, if you need it. I am not sure about a loaf of bread dough. Sorry. 😦

    4. < ![CDATA[Hey Ginger, it is not a dumb question. It means to place the stuffed shells on a cookie sheet, not touching each other. Freeze them that way. Once frozen, place in ziplock bag or other container. They will not stick to each other. Great for cookies, muffins, extra. I am not sure about the bread dough. I have only frozen fresh baked bread. Oh, I have frozen rolls with the flash freeze method and it works great. :) I do bake the rolls on a lower temp for a short amount of time. More on that later, if you need it. I am not sure about a loaf of bread dough. Sorry. :(]]>

    Leave a Reply

    