Why does Elaine collect elephants and…

why are there elephants in Alaska? That is a good question. The story begins a long time ago in a far off homeschool forum. Elaine shows photos of her new computer. It is covered in elephants. Why? That is another good question. When Elaine is questioned her respones are elusive. (if you look in the dictionary, elusive is on the same page as elephant. Coincidence, I think not! )

Quote by Donna “Ya know, I see those little elephants on your monitor and that reminded me that you never told us why you like elephants.”

A Sumi quote, “Yeah, Elaine, why do you like elephants?”

Quote from me.  “Didn’t know you had elephants in Alaska.”

There are several such quotes from the far off forum….

Quote from the Elaine, “I thought surely this would be an easy question to answer most kids can figure it out.” 

“Actually there was a time when we had 3 in Alaska. One was forced to leave, one died and now we just have the one. The one that died is actually the animal that started the Alaska Zoo that Barbra-Sue gave the link to in a different topic. It was a sad day in Anchorage when Annabelle died – she is burried at the zoo.”

Notice, she still hasn’t answered the question.  Why does she collect elephants and why are they in Alaska? 

Quote from Donna, “Did ya’ll notice Elaine still didn’t tell us.  )
Let’s see.. a kid could figure it out… thinking….   
All I can think of is “An elephant never forgets.” ”

Quote from Sumi, “Or that Elaine wishes that she can live vicariously through elephants….because they are very big

This is what Elaine said after Donna mentioned she hadn’t answered the question. “Oh I didn’t did I”  and “You know that is a great feature of elephants. Once they are full grown there aren’t many creatures willing to take one on unless it is sick or very old. And the thougth of being able to just pick someone up and shake some sence into them is very tempting.”

Notice, Elaine still hasn’t answered the question.

I suggest she needs a ride out of Alaska.  Really, who wants to live in all that snow?!

Donna came up with, “Before she settled down to married woman life, she was a world wide traveler and so was her husband and they met while elephant riding through the wilds of Africa.”

I have to agree with Donna here and my story is the truth…

Read the real story here.

 After many days of agony and suspense, someone figured out why Elaine collects elphants.  Have you guessed why? 

18 responses to “Why does Elaine collect elephants and…

  1. I have read the rest of the story, so yes, I do know why Elaine collects elephants. But, I shant say, so as not to ruin the fun. 8)

    You tell a wonderful tale, Applie!

  2. 😆 No one tells a story quite like you do. The only one who comes close is DM 🙂

  3. I know, I know! But I’m not talking. 😆

  4. After eight pages of forum talk, Melanie of Duck Soup, aka Duckie, aka knitter of fine socks, figures out the why our Elaine likes elephants.

    “Because elephant starts with “el” just like Elaine?” 😀

  5. You tell a good story Appliejuice.

  6. The things I missed! Now we know thanks Applie:)

  7. I enjoyed this Applie….so why do I collect frogs?

  8. Hmmm, well ginger… I don’t know. I’ll have to think about it. 😀

  9. You’re hilarious, Michelle. 😀

  10. What a great story. Sure made me chuckle.
    El…..well it’s as good a reason as any. (I never would have guessed.)

  11. I still don’t know why Elaine collects elephants!?!

  12. Elaine collects elephants because, elephant starts with “el” just like Elaine. 🙂

  13. That is a great story, Applie.

    (I still think Elaine likes elephants because they are BIIIIG 🙂 )

  14. Sumi is partly right. They are large get mostly laid back creatures – if you leave them alone and don’t get in their space they generally leave you alone. I also like the idea that few others will mess with an adult elephant unless its old or sickly. 🙂

    Of course they don’t have very good taste in attire 😆

  15. I linked to this post in my blog this morning. As I was reading the ressponses here I noticed that you never have gotten around to figuring out why Ginger say, “…so why do I collect frogs?”

    Are you getting old, or need to have some elephants around, that you can’t remember what other’s say on your blog? 😕 😛 😆

    You can delete this if you like after you’ve seen it I just wanted to point this out to you. And to let you know that I’ve linked to your blog from mine.

  16. < ![CDATA[I linked to this post in my blog this morning. As I was reading the ressponses here I noticed that you never have gotten around to figuring out why Ginger say, "...so why do I collect frogs?" Are you getting old, or need to have some elephants around, that you can't remember what other's say on your blog? :???: :P :lol: You can delete this if you like after you've seen it I just wanted to point this out to you. And to let you know that I've linked to your blog from mine.]]>

  17. I don’t know why Ginger collects frogs. These things come to me at certain times. When I figure it out I’ll let you know. 😀 Maybe it is because she is very bouncy.

  18. < ![CDATA[ I don’t know why Ginger collects frogs. These things come to me at certain times. When I figure it out I’ll let you know. 😀 Maybe it is because she is very bouncy.]]>

Leave a Reply

