Read to Me.

Snap Shots is starting a Read to Me challenge.  I have decided to follow this and read aloud to my children.  I have always read to them, but lately I have let it slip by.  

My goal: Read at least 30 minutes a day.

Focus:  will be on biographies of great people.

  • Hans Christian Andersen
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Mark Twain
  • Laura Ingalis Wilder
  • and many more
  •  Novels – Haven’t made the list yet.   I would like to have a two that will take a week or more to read alout to my children. 

Some links that I got off of Snap Shot that might be of interest.

  1. Soli Libri  list of books by age.
  2. Life is not a Cereal  some reading tips and list of books
  3. Read Aloud Handbook   This is Jim Trelease’s home page.  I have his book and it is wonderful.  I have given it as baby gift. 🙂   Anyhoo, you’ll enjoy his book.  You can find his book list at Treasury .

That is it for now. I’ll update this later today or tomorrow with the books I want to read to the children.  🙂

HAPPY READING!

Update:  I have posted a list of real book-list for science here .

10 responses to “Read to Me.

  1. That’s a great idea. 🙂 I haven’t been reading to the kids very much lately. 😦

  2. I have all teenagers now — but we read to them a lot. They ALL read now … you can usually find them with their nose in a book. This challenge is a great idea. Enjoy our reading time!

  3. I didn’t even think about biographies! Thanks for the idea, and good luck with your goals!

  4. I second what Melanie said.
    Dh used to read to us all for half an hour each night, but with his hours…….I should’ve taken up the mantel but didn’t. Now I guess I have no excuses.

  5. I am going to try to read some non-fiction to my daughter as well. I’m glad to see your list. Thanks for joining in.

  6. Your selection of books sounds wonderful! :mrgreen:

    I hope your Thursday was a good one.

    Yes, the comments are private as well. 😀

    Hugggs!

  7. We read a lot of biographies for our history studies. I once read a quote from Ralph Waldo Emerson, it was, “There is no history, only biography” I couldn’t agree more!

  8. I have already read today, but can’t type about it,. Sprained wrist. *sigh*. Maybe later tonight. 🙂

  9. I am praying for you right now, Michelle, for your wrist to heal quickly. (((gentle hugs)))

    I forgot to tell you that the glaze was egg whites on the bread. 😀 It is sooo yummy! That was probably the prettiest loaf of bread I’ve ever made! 😆

    Have a great rest of your Friday! :mrgreen:

  10. Oh My!
    I hope your wrist heals soon.
    I can’t wait to hear about how your reading time went.

Leave a Reply

