Waffles in heaven?

The Dad is the waffle maker in our home and he does a very good job.  😛

 Saturday morning at the breakfast table.

Dad, “These waffles came out really good.  I used soft wheat instead of white wheat.  I’ll use the soft wheat again next time.”

Girls, “Dad!  These are the best waffles ever!  You’re going to have to take your waffle maker up to heaven when you go.”  

Dad, “I don’t think I want to make waffles for 100 billion people.”

 Girls, “Oh well, you’ll have to do it anyway. We want waffles in heaven.”

11 responses to “Waffles in heaven?

  1. Cute!

    What kind of waffle iron do you have? I would really like to buy one soon.

  2. That is sweet. Sounds like he made some heavenly waffles. I agree with his analysis of the soft wheat vs hard wheat regarding waffle making. 🙂

  3. Aw, that’s gorgeous!
    Excuse the stupidty of this question but what is “soft” wheat?

  4. Oh I wish i had waffles. I remember when I was a kid, at the seaside, we used to get fresh ones.

    Good work with the blog btw. Theres something new every time i look. And you manage to post almost everyday, which is more than i can say for myself lol.

  5. Bekki, I’m wondering the same thing myself.

    I’m not a waffle person, not real fond of pancakes either, but since your DH makes heavenly ones I guess I’ll have to try one, at least, when I get to heaven since he’ll be the waffle maker. 😆 just remind him that all things are possible in heaven.

  6. That is really sweet…..How do you know if yo have soft wheat verses hard wheat….?

    Does it say on the bag?

    I’m very sorry about your wrist Applie….Randy is the waffle maker here also…..

  7. Soft Wheat: Has lower protein and gluten content than the hard wheat used for breadmaking. This is not good bread flour. It is starchier and more malleable than hard and has a 6-10% protein content. Usually grown in the south and midwest. Good for cakes, cookies, pasteries or other baked goods calling for baking powder. When a recipe calls for “whole wheat pastry flour” it is referring to soft wheat. The south is known for great cakes and pasteries.

    If you purchase patry flour, the bran and germ have been removed. Sometimes car starch has been added to give a lighter texture to cakes.

    More information on flour can be found in my recipe section and by searching the internet.

    The type of waffle maker we have (we have 2) are the cheapie $15.00 kind. We had three, but hubby dropped one on the floor and broke it. Yes, we need that many to keep up with the large batch he makes. 🙂 One day I’ll put a picture tutorial on the blog. 😀

  8. Ginger, it will tell you on the bag. The wheat berries have a slight difference, but it is hard to tell when they are milled. I think one is lighter in color.

  9. Applie, that is so funny. :lolol: He definitely needs to bring that waffle maker to heaven. I love waffles!

  10. That is so cute!! I have never attempted waffles… then again I have never had a waffle maker!! I didn’t know that whole wheat pastry flour is refering to soft wheat…. you are a wealth of information!!

Leave a Reply

