In the Dehydrator

Favorite dehydrator book:  Food Drying at Home the Natural Way by Bee Beyer

Favorite dehydrator:  Excalibur from WindyHill Kitchen (no longer available).

I love to dry foods, but I am by no means an expert at it.  😀  Today I am getting ready for our trip to Epcot, summer hiking, and picnics.  I need good wholesome food for the kids to munch on, where ever we may be.  I really should have started this a few months ago.   I kept waiting for the apples to go on sale, but they never did.  *sigh*

Today I have:

Two trays of tomatoes slices drying.  They are lightly salted and I am hoping they will taste yummy on sandwiches.  If they are dry, they will not get the pre-made sandwiches mushy.   If they are not good on sandwiches, then I’ll keep them for cooking.  🙂

Two trays of pineapple.  That is only one pineapple, minus three bites, because I ate them. 😛   These are really yummy to snack on, usually I do not get to dry the pineapple, because the girls eat it too fast.  I didn’t tell them I bought this one. LOL

Two trays of bananas.  The pineapple and bananas will be saved for our GORP/trail mix snack.  When bananas dry the flavor is enhanced, but the looks isn’t so good. 

All of this is in the dehydrator at about 130 degrees and will take 12 or more hours to dry. 

More on this subject later.  🙂

14 responses to “In the Dehydrator

  1. You know, I’ve often thought about getting a dehydrator to dry my own fruit instead of buying it. Perhaps you could write more about your experiences with this and what you would recommend to look for in a dehydrator. 🙂

  2. < ![CDATA[You know, I've often thought about getting a dehydrator to dry my own fruit instead of buying it. Perhaps you could write more about your experiences with this and what you would recommend to look for in a dehydrator. :)]]>

  3. Elaine, I like the Excalibur the best. It has a fan in the back and is adjustable temperature. You don’t have to move the trays around and if you need to dry something big, you can take some of the trays out. I made yogurt in it a few times. 🙂

    I will be talking more about trying foods later. Our favorite are the applie slices.

  4. < ![CDATA[Elaine, I like the Excalibur the best. It has a fan in the back and is adjustable temperature. You don't have to move the trays around and if you need to dry something big, you can take some of the trays out. I made yogurt in it a few times. :) I will be talking more about trying foods later. Our favorite are the applie slices.]]>

  5. I have not used my dehydrator in a long time. I think about you whenever I see if bc of the beef jerky you made awhile back. I need to dry some fruit too. We loved the apples with cinnamon. YUM!

  6. < ![CDATA[I have not used my dehydrator in a long time. I think about you whenever I see if bc of the beef jerky you made awhile back. I need to dry some fruit too. We loved the apples with cinnamon. YUM!]]>

  7. Yep, we love the beef jerky. That will be coming up soon. It really helps to have the jerky when you are at one of the amusement parks. Keeps you going without having to stop and spend $50.00 on lunch that the kids won’t eat.

  8. < ![CDATA[Yep, we love the beef jerky. That will be coming up soon. It really helps to have the jerky when you are at one of the amusement parks. Keeps you going without having to stop and spend $50.00 on lunch that the kids won't eat.]]>

  9. I’ve never tried drying pineapple. My dryer book tells me to cut them in 1/4 inch slices and dry them for 6-36 hours. (6-36 hours! that leaves plenty of room for error @@).

    “”Our favorite are the applie slices.””

    lol

    A long time ago, I had an apple tree that made very sour apples. They made delicious dried apples which were good for eating our of the jar or making fried pies.

  10. < ![CDATA[I've never tried drying pineapple. My dryer book tells me to cut them in 1/4 inch slices and dry them for 6-36 hours. (6-36 hours! that leaves plenty of room for error @@). ""Our favorite are the applie slices."" lol A long time ago, I had an apple tree that made very sour apples. They made delicious dried apples which were good for eating our of the jar or making fried pies.]]>

  11. Applie slices. LOL I can’t believe I made that typo.

    I took the tomato slices out early this morning, but the bananas and pineapples had to be in there for over 24 hours. I sliced the bananas thick.

    Two trays of strawberry, banana, pineapple juice, fruit leather is in there now. 😀

  12. < ![CDATA[Applie slices. LOL I can't believe I made that typo. I took the tomato slices out early this morning, but the bananas and pineapples had to be in there for over 24 hours. I sliced the bananas thick. Two trays of strawberry, banana, pineapple juice, fruit leather is in there now. :D]]>

  13. I have been whating a dehydrator for a long time. They seem to have gone out of vogue in this country but I noticed some in the new hardware catalogue and not that expencive. I’m with Elaine let us know more about how and what you do with it.
    Thanks

  14. < ![CDATA[I have been whating a dehydrator for a long time. They seem to have gone out of vogue in this country but I noticed some in the new hardware catalogue and not that expencive. I'm with Elaine let us know more about how and what you do with it. Thanks]]>

Leave a Reply

