Fruit Leather

I don’t know why, but I only have pictures of things before I dried them.  I’ll have to take pictures of before and after for the next things I dry.   Anyhoo, here is a picture of fruit leather that I made last year.  I haven’t made any for this year, because I am waiting on a good sale for strawberries.  It should be coming up any day now.  😀  I have two daughters who like the fruit leather.

dried-fruit-roll-up.JPG

First thing you have to do is tape down plastic wrap on the trays.  Next take any kind of fruit you like and puree’ it in the blender. I always add honey for sweetness.  Strawberries are very bitter to us, when dried.   Just pour out the liquid onto the plastic wrap and dry at 110 to 118 for 3 to 4 hours.  The leather should have no sticky parts.  Some people will peel the leather off the plastic and then do the final drying on the trays.  I don’t do that, because I am too lazy.  :mrgreen:

Once fully dried, peel off leather and wrap in plastic wrap.  It should last a very long time, if properly sealed; however, in my home they only lasted a few days before they enter into a tummy. 

If memory serves me right, the first layer of fruit is peaches, bananas and left over couple of strawberries.  Second is “I don’t know” but it does have peaches in it.  Third layer is mostly strawberries and bananas. The fourth layer is blackberries, raspberries, and strawberries.  My girls do not like blackberries or raspberries because of the seeds, so I won’t be making that again. 

There are nine trays in my dehydrator, but I must have taken two out to take a picture of the fruit.  😀  Well, this wasn’t too exciting, but I hope you enjoyed it anyway. 

UPDATE!  Strawberries just went on sale; not a great sale, but a good one.  So….freezer pops and fruit leather coming up!  WooHoo.

10 responses to “Fruit Leather

  1. Very interesting.
    I’m thinking that I should look into getting one.

  2. < ![CDATA[Very interesting. I'm thinking that I should look into getting one.]]>

  3. Got two trays of fruit leather in there now. :p

  4. < ![CDATA[Got two trays of fruit leather in there now. :p]]>

  5. Applie…Randy got an excalibur dehydrator off of freecycle for me….it is an older model…I think it has 4 trays.
    I am waiting for the summer to start using it….I may have to hit you up for ideas.
    In fact you are the reason he grabbed that for me…I was always talking about what you were drying.
    See how influential you are…lolol.

  6. < ![CDATA[Applie...Randy got an excalibur dehydrator off of freecycle for me....it is an older model...I think it has 4 trays. I am waiting for the summer to start using it....I may have to hit you up for ideas. In fact you are the reason he grabbed that for me...I was always talking about what you were drying. See how influential you are...lolol.]]>

  7. YUM! I have a dehydrator and I love fruit leather. I have not made any yet but I saw strawberries were on sale so I think I might try it this week! Your pic made me want some right now….

  8. < ![CDATA[YUM! I have a dehydrator and I love fruit leather. I have not made any yet but I saw strawberries were on sale so I think I might try it this week! Your pic made me want some right now....]]>

  9. Green with envy!
    A dehydrator and fresh fruit?
    We still have 20 cm of snow on the ground!!

  10. < ![CDATA[Green with envy! A dehydrator and fresh fruit? We still have 20 cm of snow on the ground!!]]>

Leave a Reply

