Carnitas

 Before you read this post, you must first read the Carnitas post over at Four Squares  .  You’ll appreciate this post much better if you do.  I’ll wait for you, so go ahead and read Duky’s post.  Hummm, deee-dummm, twiddle thumbs…dum..dum…hmmm.  

Good you’re back!  Ok, here is my version of Carnitas.  First buy 7 pounds of pork shoulder with the great BIG bone in it. Why?  Because you can’t find one without the bone.  Maybe you should send your husband, so you can blame him.   Why 7 pounds?  Because.

I should have said first you need to find a really good looking man to marry, who will start cooking meals before you even ask.  My Knight in Shining Armor prepared the meat and started cooking before I even came down for church, Sunday morning.  Even though, I messed up and bought the pork with the great big bone in it, he let me have some of the Carnitas.  🙂

knight.jpg 

See husband cook?  Good husband.

I am not going to bore you with extra pictures.  You can view what this dinner looks like over at Duck Soup.  She has wonderful pictures to share.  

Next step is to let it cook a really long time.  We, uh I mean hubby, ended up putting the meat in the micowave to sit while we were at church.  It was still warm when we got home and he finished cooking it.  What did I do?  I set the table. 

After eating such a fine lunch, you send your hard working husband up to the bedroom to have some quiet time, while you clean.  This is when you notice that there is lots of yummy Carnita left, because your silly children refused to eat it.  Too bad for them, yeah for the parents.  Then you get up from you chair, and start to clean the kitchen.  WHAT A MESS!!  Husband has used all pans, utensils, whatever in the entire kitchen.  No problem if you can turn into June.   Need to know how to turn into June?  Go here.

me-in-pearls.jpg

 

See Wife in pearls and an apron?  Good wife!

Now you have the power to scrub the kitchen clean.  When you come to the last cast iron skillet, you must take a picture of yourself with the hand knitted prize of all prize, wash cloth.  Although you will not look like a slob, because you are June, you will resolve to go on a diet…tomorrow.

me-in-pearls-1.jpg

See friend use washcloth?  Good friend.

Enjoy the clean kitchen and go shopping without the kids. You have earned it, after all you did clean up the mess your husband made.   What?  Why didn’t this June cook the meal?  This June is no sissy, when the husband wants to cook, she lets him.  🙂

17 responses to “Carnitas

  1. LOLOL

    That was too funny! I wish I had gotten a good looking man to do the cooking for me. I will have to follow your lead next time.

    You look fabulous with your washcloth! Good friend. 😀

  2. Isn’t June funny? Good June!

  3. I really think that my man cooking is better than your man…..I just don’t have the pictures to prove it. 😆

    I have to admit that I think June is a very stong woman, any woman who wouldn’t let her man cook when he wants to is most definitely a sissy.

    You look perfect w/the dishcloth. 😎

  4. Michelle, you are hilarious! Where do you get your wit? That was so funny! You go, June!

    Love, Wardeh

  5. Melanie, you already have a good looking husband, you just need to make him cook a little. He is very fine at the manly things. 😀

    Elaine, we need proof!

    Wardeh, I don’t know where this comes from. I know my DY friends (the rotten apples) start a lot of it. LOL

  6. Dear June,
    I am so proud of you for allowing Ward to cook supper! I am also proud of you for using your best washcloth to clean up.

    I have my own WardInTraining to cook for me. 🙂

  7. I would have helped you clean up your hubby’s mess, if you’d let me pick at the carnitas, too!

    Manly men are always manly….especially while helping their June. 🙂

    PS. I love your kitchen. Mine is set up similar with the sink and the stovetop opposite each other.

  8. I love your kitchen. Mine is so pokey and old and ick.

    My manly pretty boy cooks too. I’d make a bad June. I forget to put the pearls on. (I own them, I just forget to wear them)

  9. Very nice June! I love that apron! My Aunt had several like that and I was always envious of her growing up.

    Sadly, I’ve never found a pattern for such a useful apron.

  10. I love it! Ward is a good lookin’ “cooker”. And what a good wife June is to clean up!
    I like your kitchen!

  11. < ![CDATA[I love it! Ward is a good lookin' "cooker". And what a good wife June is to clean up! I like your kitchen!]]>

  12. Thanks all for the comments on my kitchen. Ward has recently done some major remodeling. I’ll post about it some time soon. 🙂

  13. < ![CDATA[Thanks all for the comments on my kitchen. Ward has recently done some major remodeling. I'll post about it some time soon. :)]]>

  14. The handsome honey is an excellent idea! I should have thought of that. Ironically, as I was reading this my carnitas were in the kitchen getting all dressed up for me to gobble down.

  15. < ![CDATA[The handsome honey is an excellent idea! I should have thought of that. Ironically, as I was reading this my carnitas were in the kitchen getting all dressed up for me to gobble down.]]>

  16. You are hilarious! I think the best part was getting the manly man to cook. I need to work on that. 🙂

  17. < ![CDATA[You are hilarious! I think the best part was getting the manly man to cook. I need to work on that. :)]]>

Leave a Reply

