My trip to NC

Last month, as most of you know, I had to take an emergency trip to NC to visit my sister.  Read why here and here.  Here are just a few pictures from there. I wish my scanner was working, because I have two good picture (one funny) to share. Maybe I can just take a photo of the photos 😆 . Anyhoo, here they are….

This was taken the morning of the furneral. They are hanging the American flag above the enterance.  Isn’t it beautiful? The fire departments from  two neighboring cities volunteered to do this for my sister and her family.

flag.jpg

This is the flower arrangement that my in-laws sent. They didn’t have to do that, but they did. They’re that kind of people, very nice. They had only met Brian when he was 4 (I think). Brian was running through my in-laws livingroom yelling to his brother to hit him in the chest with a football.  My Father-in-law said, “He’s a tank!”.  Yes, he was.

brians-flowers.jpg

The morning of the viewing, my youngest sister took me to Wal-mart to have my Bling put on.  The night before, a group of 10 women took Leasa to have their nails done, so I also had to have it done.  All in honor of Leasa’s son.  There are three little diamond things at the tip.  I don’t know if you can see that.  Pretty cool isn’t it? 

bling.jpg

Here is the last picture.  It was taken the day before we left for home.  From left to right:

Dava (the youngest), Leasa, Me, and Mark.   Lynn (our oldest brother had already left town and is not in the photo).  Notice the glasses on Mark.  Those are actually Leasa’s and he was being goofy.  😆

siblings.jpg

Dava and Leasa get their hair color from a bottle.  Mine is natural.  Mark’s is natural also, but you can’t see it.  It is grey and in a long pony tail down his back.  I don’t know why? 

We hadn’t been together as a group in about four years.  It was at the time our Dad had a stroke.  It had been 25 years before that, when the last time we were together. 

12 responses to “My trip to NC

  1. The bling bling was cool!

    I am guessing from the post you were at a funeral. I am sorry for the loss.

    I am in NC BTW.

    Sorry to hear you don’t like grits…lol

    Have a nice night.
    Michelle

  2. < ![CDATA[The bling bling was cool! I am guessing from the post you were at a funeral. I am sorry for the loss. I am in NC BTW. Sorry to hear you don't like grits...lol Have a nice night. Michelle]]>

  3. Lovely pictures. The fire dept. did well with their generosity of putting up the flag.

    I am wondering who’s hand is whose in that picture of the pretty nails. 😆

    You all look great together. I’m sorry that you all had to get together for such a sad event. I’ll be praying that you will have more good times as a family before you have to gather for another sad event. (((hugs)))

  4. < ![CDATA[Lovely pictures. The fire dept. did well with their generosity of putting up the flag. I am wondering who's hand is whose in that picture of the pretty nails. :lol: You all look great together. I'm sorry that you all had to get together for such a sad event. I'll be praying that you will have more good times as a family before you have to gather for another sad event. (((hugs)))]]>

  5. I know whose hand is whose. There are some clues in the images. I’m sure I am right. :mrgreen:

    That is such a nice picture of you and your siblings. I wish your picture was bigger!

    I really like what the fire department did. Your in-law’s flowers are very very nice! 🙂

    The nail job is cool. I like the little flag. I can’t see your bling very well, your first finger looks like something is there. 😀

  6. < ![CDATA[I know whose hand is whose. There are some clues in the images. I'm sure I am right. :mrgreen: That is such a nice picture of you and your siblings. I wish your picture was bigger! I really like what the fire department did. Your in-law's flowers are very very nice! :) The nail job is cool. I like the little flag. I can't see your bling very well, your first finger looks like something is there. :D]]>

  7. Donna, I am sure you are right about my hand. 😀 The nail has blue on the tip, then red on the bottom. They then took white and put three lines. There are three fake diamonds on the first white line. I don’t have a better picture and there is nothing on my first finger. The funny thing about this is, my sister told me they had to get a flag from the store, so the person doing the nails would know what it looked like. 😆 They’re asian.

    I’ll post a larger picture of the siblings later today.

  8. < ![CDATA[ Donna, I am sure you are right about my hand. 😀 The nail has blue on the tip, then red on the bottom. They then took white and put three lines. There are three fake diamonds on the first white line. I don’t have a better picture and there is nothing on my first finger. The funny thing about this is, my sister told me they had to get a flag from the store, so the person doing the nails would know what it looked like. 😆 They’re asian.

    I’ll post a larger picture of the siblings later today. ]]>

  9. Those are great pictures, Applie. You obviously have a very cool family. 🙂 It was great of the fire department to hang the flag for the funeral.

  10. < ![CDATA[Those are great pictures, Applie. You obviously have a very cool family. :) It was great of the fire department to hang the flag for the funeral.]]>

  11. Beautiful nails!! Love it! What a beautiful tribute. 🙂

    Hugs, Robin

  12. < ![CDATA[Beautiful nails!! Love it! What a beautiful tribute. :) Hugs, Robin]]>

Leave a Reply

