Bread Questions Answered

These are from the comments in the Daily Bread post. 

Melanie, Elaine, and Robin asked about Lecithin.   Lecithin is a soy product and helps the bread to rise and have a nice texture; I think.  I really don’t know what it does.  LOL   All I can remember is that it helps the bread do better.  I tried to research it and can’t find what I was looking for.  Oh well.  I do not always use it.  I also don’t always use gluten, which helps the bread get fluffy.  If you are using fresh milled whole grain flour, you really don’t need to add the gluten, because it is already in the grain.

Robin, you probably have winter white wheat.  It is what you make bread with.  There is also winter red wheat that has a nice nutty flavor, you also make bread with that.  Soft wheat is for pastries, muffins, and good stuff like that.  You can find some information on the different kinds of flours in my recipe section. 

 It is real easy to do a search for information on flours; lots of info. out there.  🙂  I buy my wheat from Breadbeckers.  You should check in your area for a co-op that delivers to you. 

You can use store bought whole wheat flour, but your breads will be heavy.  You’ll have to adjust the amount of liquids or flour.  A really good place to learn to make bread is at Wardeh’s place Such Treasures.  You can find a list of her recipes here and an awesome bread tutorial here.

 Real Food Living has a wonderful FAQ section with lots of information. 

I am just a so-so bread baker, but Wardeh and Vickilynn of Real Food Living are the bomb of whole wheat bread baking.  😀

Now about the equipment.  I like love my kitchen equipment.  😀  I bought almost all of my equipment from Breadbeckers.  The only think not working now is my breadmachine.  I had it for five years I think.  Something is wrong with the heating element.  Ok, you didn’t ask that, but you got the information anyway.  🙂    My favorite place to buy kitchen equipment (if I needed any) is The Windy Hill Kitchen.  I bought my dehydrator from her.  Rachel is the owner and a very lovely Christian.  Her prices are very fair and her customer service (which is herself) is wonderful.  No complaints here. 

Rachel also sells homemade soaps and her peppermint goats milk soap, smells good enough to eat.  LOL     That has nothing to do with bread, but your hands do get dirty when you make bread, so you’ll need a nice smelling soap to wash up with.  😀

I think I have answered everything and then some.  If you have any more questions, just ask.  🙂

22 responses to “Bread Questions Answered

  1. I love homemade bread and it will go quickly here. I’d love t make more of it but I’m supposed to be cutting back of eating carbs and bread is high in carbs. 😦

    You did a great job of answering questions about making bread and even going so far as to give us more than we asked for. 🙂

    Thanks.

  2. I thought I read somewhere that lecithin will help the bread stay fresher as well as softer.

  3. I didn’t see the questions, but reading the answers was fun! 🙂 I will now need to go back one entry to read the questions. This is like Jeopardy with bread. 😀

  4. < ![CDATA[I didn't see the questions, but reading the answers was fun! :) I will now need to go back one entry to read the questions. This is like Jeopardy with bread. :D]]>

  5. Donna, sorry that it is Jeopardy with bread. My mind is in several different directions this week, so I might give you questions without expecting answers and answers without questions and totally useless information. Just like I did in this post. 😀

    Sheri, lecithin may keep it fresher. I know that oat flour will. It is a natural perservitive.

  6. < ![CDATA[Donna, sorry that it is Jeopardy with bread. My mind is in several different directions this week, so I might give you questions without expecting answers and answers without questions and totally useless information. Just like I did in this post. 😀

    Sheri, lecithin may keep it fresher. I know that oat flour will. It is a natural perservitive.]]>

  7. You did such a good job answering all those questions, Michelle.

    I’ve never been called the bomb before. 😀 This is momentous!

    And, as usual, this post was a delightful read. You have a way with words.

    Love, Wardeh

  8. < ![CDATA[You did such a good job answering all those questions, Michelle. I've never been called the bomb before. :D This is momentous! And, as usual, this post was a delightful read. You have a way with words. Love, Wardeh]]>

  9. I was just kidding about the Jeopardy. For some reason Jeopardy is funny to me because of the answer in the form of a question deal. Your entry was clear and precise, I didn’t really need to look for the questions in the other post. 🙂 I went and read it because I wanted to. 🙂

  10. < ![CDATA[I was just kidding about the Jeopardy. For some reason Jeopardy is funny to me because of the answer in the form of a question deal. Your entry was clear and precise, I didn't really need to look for the questions in the other post. :) I went and read it because I wanted to. :)]]>

  11. Thank you Michelle! :mrgreen:

    I’ll keep plugging away at the applie pics. 😆 It’s kind of fun – seeing how many different ways I can pose apples…

    😆

    Have a wonderful Wednesday! I’m praying for you to have safe drives to and fro to the VBS and that you would be a blessing to all those kiddos. I just know you are an awesome teacher. We visited a church today on our walk – we were curious about the history of it as it is older – and they were having VBS there. Well, in the mornings. A lady showed us what they were doing with the 12 tribes and all – very cool. It was a Methodist church. I don’t really know much about Methodist churches. But, it was an interesting and informative tour. 😀

    Hugs, Robin

  12. < ![CDATA[Thank you Michelle! :mrgreen: I'll keep plugging away at the applie pics. :lol: It's kind of fun - seeing how many different ways I can pose apples... :lol: Have a wonderful Wednesday! I'm praying for you to have safe drives to and fro to the VBS and that you would be a blessing to all those kiddos. I just know you are an awesome teacher. We visited a church today on our walk - we were curious about the history of it as it is older - and they were having VBS there. Well, in the mornings. A lady showed us what they were doing with the 12 tribes and all - very cool. It was a Methodist church. I don't really know much about Methodist churches. But, it was an interesting and informative tour. :D Hugs, Robin]]>

  13. Lecithin is an emulsifier — it helps water and oil live together in peace 🙂 Problem is, refined lecithin can spoil very easily, so make sure you get it from a store that keeps it in a chilled area. Or just use egg: an egg yolk contains a lot of lecithin, costs a lot less than a bottle of the refined stuff (liquid or powder), and most folks use up eggs well before they expire 🙂

  14. < ![CDATA[Lecithin is an emulsifier -- it helps water and oil live together in peace :-) Problem is, refined lecithin can spoil very easily, so make sure you get it from a store that keeps it in a chilled area. Or just use egg: an egg yolk contains a lot of lecithin, costs a lot less than a bottle of the refined stuff (liquid or powder), and most folks use up eggs well before they expire :-)]]>

  15. Thanks for the info about the lecithin! I use gluten in almost every loaf I make (I’m still so loserly that I do not grind my own wheat :lol:) but I haven’t tried any other bread conditioners.

  16. < ![CDATA[Thanks for the info about the lecithin! I use gluten in almost every loaf I make (I'm still so loserly that I do not grind my own wheat :lol:) but I haven't tried any other bread conditioners.]]>

  17. Why does my homemade bread sometimes split along the top?

  18. < ![CDATA[Why does my homemade bread sometimes split along the top?]]>

  19. Jac, according to baking911.com, you are using too much flour in your recipe. I am not an expert bread baker, so I hope this helped you some. You can find more information at

    http://www.baking911.com/bread/problems.htm

  20. < ![CDATA[ Jac, according to baking911.com, you are using too much flour in your recipe. I am not an expert bread baker, so I hope this helped you some. You can find more information at

    http://www.baking911.com/bread/problems.htm ]]>

  21. Nathan Shoehalter

    Why does the 9-grain bread I’ve been baking tend to crumble apart during slicing and to fall apart when part of a thick sandwich? It only seems to work best as toast. Too much butter, too little flour? Help!

    I am not an expert at this, but it seems to me you have too much flour in your dough. Your dough should be light, and easily handled, not heavy. Adding too much flour often happens when you knead by hand. Try a mixer or a breadmachine. Once the bread dough is on the counter to be shaped, put a little oil on your board and hands. Adding flour will make it heavy and dry.

  22. < ![CDATA[Why does the 9-grain bread I've been baking tend to crumble apart during slicing and to fall apart when part of a thick sandwich? It only seems to work best as toast. Too much butter, too little flour? Help! I am not an expert at this, but it seems to me you have too much flour in your dough. Your dough should be light, and easily handled, not heavy. Adding too much flour often happens when you knead by hand. Try a mixer or a breadmachine. Once the bread dough is on the counter to be shaped, put a little oil on your board and hands. Adding flour will make it heavy and dry.]]>

Leave a Reply

