Broad-headed skink

broad-headed-skink-1.jpg This is a Broad-Headed Skink.  My son caught this on our front porch.  This is a male.  The females have lines down the side and are almost identical to Five Line Skink.  The males will get 6 to 13 inches in length.  This one is about 5 or 6 inches.  Here is a close up of the face.

broaded-skink.jpg  They like wet woody areas and forage for food, vertebrates and arthropods,  on the ground.  They will climb trees to hide and sleep.  Cute aren’t they?

20 responses to “Broad-headed skink

  1. That was just sitting out on your front porch? Awesome!

  2. < ![CDATA[That was just sitting out on your front porch? Awesome!]]>

  3. Here in your blog they are cute….in live sight no way!!!

    I think that my hubby and son would love to come visit you and get to handle all these interesting creatures.

  4. < ![CDATA[Here in your blog they are cute....in live sight no way!!! I think that my hubby and son would love to come visit you and get to handle all these interesting creatures.]]>

  5. Very cute. He has a very pretty face.

  6. < ![CDATA[Very cute. He has a very pretty face.]]>

  7. Those skinks are cute. 🙂

    I see the Southeastern Five-lined Skink once in a while, they lurk about the undersides of the porch.

    There is another one that I seldom see. It lives under the chilly leafy woodland floor out back behind the house. It is black with dots. I don’t know what it is.

  8. < ![CDATA[Those skinks are cute. :) I see the Southeastern Five-lined Skink once in a while, they lurk about the undersides of the porch. There is another one that I seldom see. It lives under the chilly leafy woodland floor out back behind the house. It is black with dots. I don't know what it is.]]>

  9. Awwwww! That itty bitty face! A face only a mother could love.

    😆

    Awesome shot! 😀

    Hugs, Robin

  10. < ![CDATA[Awwwww! That itty bitty face! A face only a mother could love. :lol: Awesome shot! :D Hugs, Robin]]>

  11. Donna is it a Salamander?

  12. < ![CDATA[Donna is it a Salamander?]]>

  13. I do believe you are right! 🙂 It’s a little (maybe 5 inches) black salamander with blue spots, very cute. I haven’t seen one in years though.

  14. < ![CDATA[I do believe you are right! :) It's a little (maybe 5 inches) black salamander with blue spots, very cute. I haven't seen one in years though.]]>

  15. I am sorry, Applie. I wish that I could like amphibians and reptiles. I truly do, but they are creepy to me. 🙂 I am glad that you appreciate these creatures. You are awesome!

  16. < ![CDATA[I am sorry, Applie. I wish that I could like amphibians and reptiles. I truly do, but they are creepy to me. :) I am glad that you appreciate these creatures. You are awesome!]]>

  17. i have a little skink like that as a pet do you know what they eat?

  18. that skink is very cute!!!:)

    i”ve coght like 10 not like that they were grey and black.:::))):):):):)

Leave a Reply

