Cinnamon Applesauce Blueberry Muffins

blueberry-muffin.jpg

 My girls like the plain Cinnamon Applesauce Muffins, but refuse to eat the blueberry ones.  *sigh*

Original recipe from Trish F.

Mix well in large bowl:

  • 1 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 1/2 cup unbleaced all purpose flour
  • 1 TB baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Mix and add to the dry ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup orange blossom honey
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup all natural unsweetened applesauce

Fold in:

  • 1 cup blueberries

Preheat oven to 400.  Grease muffin tins. 

Mix just until the flour is incorporated.  Fold in blueberries and divide evenly into muffin tins.  Sprinkle top with a mixture of cinnamon and sucanat sugar.  Bake for 20 minutes.

*The muffins in the picture above were made with 2 cups of soft wheat and 1 cup of hard red wheat.  I like to vary the wheat used in muffins.  🙂

4 responses to “Cinnamon Applesauce Blueberry Muffins

  1. MMMM… those look yummy. Blueberry muffins are probably the only way I like to eat blueberries…. I do not like blueberry syrup…. but I am sure it is delicious…. in a blueberry sort of way!

  2. Those look and sound divine. 😎 Could I make these using store bought ww flour? I’m not quite in your league when it comes to grinding my own wheat berries/grains and such.

    I’m not sure anyone other than my hubby would eat them if I made them….darn, I guess that would leave half for me, all if I make them when he’s gone. :mrgreen:

  3. Oooo yeah….copying that one. We’ll hold the blueberries, but it sounds delicious even without them! 😀 Hmmmm….we have berry and blueberry flavored applesauce (unsweetened). I wonder if that would work? They’d make purple muffins! 😆

    Thanks for sharing!

  4. This recipe looks great.

    As for the blueberries. My DD hated them until she ate them right after one of her tests at the hospital where they drugged her. Ever since then she’s love blueberries.

    Not recommended, but funny!

Leave a Reply

