Homemade Marshmallows

marshmallows-1.jpgI did it.  I made marshmallows and not the healthy kind.  They are oooey-gooey goodness and I won’t be making them again. Why?  Because I will eat them and the girls will pop them in their mouths faster than I can say, “wait give me one!”.  

The recipe comes from Cooking For Engineers .

Homemade Marshmallows

  • Grease 9×13-in. pan and powder with powdered sugar
  • 3 Tbs. (21 g) gelatin
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cup corn syrup
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 TB vanilla extract
  • Powdered sugar

Soak the gelatin in 1/2 cup of water for 10 minutes in large mixer.

Mix 2 cups of sugar, 2/3 cup corn syrup, and 1/4 cup water.  Bring mixture to a boil and boil for one minute, or until the sugar’s temperature passed 250°F. 

Turn mixer at low speed while drizzling in the boiling sugar syrup. Once the syrup was mixed in, turn up the speed a little and add 1/4 tsp. salt. 

When the mixture begins to fluff up, scrape down the bowl and turned up the speed to high.  When volume of the marshmallow stopped increasing (about 8 to 10 minutes), add 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract. After the extract was mixed in, stop the mixer.  
Pour the marshmallows into the prepared pan and smoothed roughly with a silicone spatula (sprayed with oil).

marshmallow-4.jpgLet the marshmallow cool and set by leaving it on the dining table uncovered overnight.  Invert the pan over a cutting board covered in powdered sugar.  Cut marshmallows into squares.

marshmallows-3.jpg  We all agreed that the best way to have these marshmallows, is roasted over the fire.  We didn’t have a firepit going, so we use the gas stove.  Just like I did at the grandmother’s house when I was young.  🙂

The hardest part about the recipe, was getting it from the mixing bowl and into the pan.  Enjoy!

30 responses to “Homemade Marshmallows

  1. I loved reading this! 🙂 I make these for my own children. Even the oldest children who don’t live here any more come stand around the kitchen waiting for a marshmallow to roast over the stove. Sometimes I use flavored jello.

  2. < ![CDATA[I loved reading this! :) I make these for my own children. Even the oldest children who don't live here any more come stand around the kitchen waiting for a marshmallow to roast over the stove. Sometimes I use flavored jello.]]>

  3. I don’t like marshmallows, but I would be quite willing to try one of these!

  4. < ![CDATA[I don't like marshmallows, but I would be quite willing to try one of these!]]>

  5. WOW…. are you related to Martha Stewart?

  6. < ![CDATA[WOW.... are you related to Martha Stewart?]]>

  7. 😆 No, I am not related to Martha Stewart, but my sister looks just like her. 😀

    I am related to June. 🙂

  8. < ![CDATA[:lol: No, I am not related to Martha Stewart, but my sister looks just like her. :D I am related to June. :)]]>

  9. I’m impressed.

    I’m also lazy and would rather to grocery store, get package of Kraft marshmallows, put on sticks and place on graham cracker w/piece of Hershey chocolate – much faster.

    However if you made them be sure that I would eat them. I’m sure my R would love to help J,S & R eat them as well. 😆

  10. < ![CDATA[I'm impressed. I'm also lazy and would rather to grocery store, get package of Kraft marshmallows, put on sticks and place on graham cracker w/piece of Hershey chocolate - much faster. However if you made them be sure that I would eat them. I'm sure my R would love to help J,S & R eat them as well. :lol:]]>

  11. Well, June, you need to make these over and over and over again.

    Your poor darling girls are suffering immensely because you are refusing to make this. I am ashamed.

    I might have to send them a jar of hot fudge as a condolence gift. 🙂

  12. < ![CDATA[Well, June, you need to make these over and over and over again. Your poor darling girls are suffering immensely because you are refusing to make this. I am ashamed. I might have to send them a jar of hot fudge as a condolence gift. :)]]>

  13. The cooling process appears to have caused the marshmallow in the pan to shrink by approximately 2 or 3 pieces. 😉 I wonder if that always happens?

    I have The Martha Stewart Cookbook, it’s the best cookbook I have because everything is made from scratch and there is a recipe for homemade marshmallows in it. 🙂

    Do they puff over a fire?

  14. < ![CDATA[The cooling process appears to have caused the marshmallow in the pan to shrink by approximately 2 or 3 pieces. ;) I wonder if that always happens? I have The Martha Stewart Cookbook, it’s the best cookbook I have because everything is made from scratch and there is a recipe for homemade marshmallows in it. 🙂

    Do they puff over a fire?]]>

  15. I am not surprised you noticed that Donna. To answer your question, I am not sure if it always happens. I’ll let you know the second time around. My gut tells me yes, it does always happen. 😀

    I saw Martha’s recipe on the internet. I don’t know why I didn’t make hers. I remember seeing an article in her magazine, where a family made the marshmallows and had a winter, ice skating picnic, party. It looked like a lot of fun.

    No, they did not puff. The outside became crispy and the inside just melted. They are very good toasted.

  16. < ![CDATA[ I am not surprised you noticed that Donna. To answer your question, I am not sure if it always happens. I’ll let you know the second time around. My gut tells me yes, it does always happen. 😀

    I saw Martha’s recipe on the internet. I don’t know why I didn’t make hers. I remember seeing an article in her magazine, where a family made the marshmallows and had a winter, ice skating picnic, party. It looked like a lot of fun.

    No, they did not puff. The outside became crispy and the inside just melted. They are very good toasted. ]]>

  17. my friend made them once and then couldn’t figure out what to do with them. so she melted them to make rice crispie treats. *go figure* I would have roasted them just like you, and have done so many times.

  18. < ![CDATA[my friend made them once and then couldn't figure out what to do with them. so she melted them to make rice crispie treats. *go figure* I would have roasted them just like you, and have done so many times.]]>

  19. Appliejuice said, “My gut tells me yes, it does always happen.”

    My gut agrees with your gut. Food products, especially those of the sweet variety, always shrinks while cooling in pans at our house too. 😉

  20. < ![CDATA[Appliejuice said, "My gut tells me yes, it does always happen."

    My gut agrees with your gut. Food products, especially those of the sweet variety, always shrinks while cooling in pans at our house too. ;)]]>

  21. It is amazing, isn’t it, Donna? I think the government should spend millions on a scientific investigation as to why this happens.

  22. < ![CDATA[It is amazing, isn’t it, Donna? I think the government should spend millions on a scientific investigation as to why this happens.]]>

  23. I’m going to venture a guess and say that the problem is due to the aliens. The government should really do something about them.

    They look really good, Michelle! I’ve got Martha Stewart’s recipe too, but I have never made them.

  24. < ![CDATA[I'm going to venture a guess and say that the problem is due to the aliens. The government should really do something about them. They look really good, Michelle! I've got Martha Stewart's recipe too, but I have never made them.]]>

  25. I am not a marshmellow person, but I would try one of yours.

  26. < ![CDATA[I am not a marshmellow person, but I would try one of yours.]]>

  27. They look good but, I don’t have the patience at the moment to try them.

    But, I am thinking that maybe Ashley does since she won’t get away from me and keeps trying to make me scroll up so that she can see the ingredients. lol

  28. < ![CDATA[They look good but, I don't have the patience at the moment to try them. But, I am thinking that maybe Ashley does since she won't get away from me and keeps trying to make me scroll up so that she can see the ingredients. lol]]>

  29. That is it; I am going to try it. My girls deserve homemade marshmallows! They look so yummy.

  30. < ![CDATA[That is it; I am going to try it. My girls deserve homemade marshmallows! They look so yummy.]]>

Leave a Reply

