My attempt at braided bread.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I have been trying for a good while to make a very nice braided loaf of bread.  You know the kind.  The one all family members ooo and ahhhh over and  tell all their friends what a wonderful baker you are.  I haven’t gotten to that part yet, but I keep trying. 

For the loaf above I used the Challah recipe found in the Breadbecker’s Cookbook and for the instructions on how to braid this lovely round loaf, I went to here.

After the first rise, I cut the dough into four equal parts.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Each part was then rolled out into a small triangle, then rolled into a long rope.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Once the four ropes are made, I placed  two up and two sideways.  Then started braiding.  According to the instructions, I braided to the left all the way around and then braided to the right. 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I continued to braid until there were only nubs left. 😀

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I’m thinking you could stop here and make this into a turtle.  Would be really cute.

Ok, next comes the really neat part.  This is where the wow comes in.  Pick up all the little nubs (turtle legs) and gather them together.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Now take that blob of dough and flip it over onto your stone, cookie sheet, whatever you use to bake your bread.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Isn’t it the neatest thing since sliced bread? 

Now let it rise for the second time, then brush with a whipped egg.  That gives it the shine on the crust after baking.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Bake according to your recipe.  My problem is the centers do not bake completely.  With the loaf above, I turned off my convection oven and just baked.  I covered it with foil and ended up baking it for about an hour.  The loaf turned out beautiful, as you saw in the first photo, but it was very dry.  I am still working on getting the perfect braided loaf of bread.

Here it is cut up.  This loaf was a monster size loaf.  It measured a whopping 12″ in diameter.  IF I make this recipe again, I’ll make two braided loaves.  I would also like to make mini-braided loaves for the girls to have at lunch time. 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Do you ever braid your bread dough?

12 responses to “My attempt at braided bread.

  1. I don’t, but one thing that you could add to your bread to moisten it is vinegar.

  2. I also thought that I would say WHY I don’t braid my bread. It takes to much time…and those in this house, save one, wouldn’t appreciate it anyway

  3. Your bread looks good. I think you have the answer, making two or more loaves from the recipe.

  4. It is a beautiful braided loaf!

    I rarely braid my bread, but when I do, it is a simple 3-braid and baked in a regular loaf pan or braided into a long baguette size. Not nearly as pretty as yours. The baguette sizes are done in the middle…I don’t remember if the loaf sizes are done or doughy.

  5. I’ve never gotten that creative w/my bread baking. All I’ve done is traditional loaves in loaf pans and French/Italian on flat stones.

    So did it not get done on the bottom there? Was the center doughy?

  6. WOW that is gorgeous! 😀 My DS7 says the fourth photo looks like a nest with eggs. 😆 Flipping the dough – how ’bout that!

    You know my answer to do I ever braid my dough (not for over 2 years 😉 ), but you’ve inspired me. I’ll have to try it again; and try that round loaf…smaller. 😉

  7. Wonderful, Michelle! You’re making me miss baking good old regular full-of-gluten bread!

    Love, Wardeh

  8. < ![CDATA[Wonderful, Michelle! You're making me miss baking good old regular full-of-gluten bread! Love, Wardeh]]>

  9. Thanks everyone for you nice comments. 🙂

  10. < ![CDATA[Thanks everyone for you nice comments. 🙂 ]]>

  11. That looks great! I think making braided mini-loaves for lunches is a very cute idea. I’ll probably never do it, though!

  12. < ![CDATA[That looks great! I think making braided mini-loaves for lunches is a very cute idea. I'll probably never do it, though!]]>

Leave a Reply

