Didelphimorphia

Don’t ask me how to pronounce the title.  I just copied and paste.  😀 

I get a call from my husband and he annouces that our neighbor just caught a opossum in a trap.  With squeals of delight (from me), the kids and I run across the street to have a look-see. 

Now don’t get confused here, like I always do.  I couldn’t figure out why there were some spellings of Possum and some spelling of Opossum.  I came to the conclusion that we southerners like to spell things differently.  Some of us can spell and some can’t (like me).  Anyhoo, it turns out they are two different animals.  Who knew?  Not me.   You have the Possum and the Opossum, which is what was caught in the trap.

He was very small, but our neighbor said he was an adult. 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

This little opossum has been the source much frustration for my neighbor.  Every time they bought a knew plastic (blow up kind) kiddie pool, it would end up with possum teeth holes in it.  This last times was the last straw.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Can you see his teeth?  He is actually just breathing here.  He wasn’t hissing at us or being angry.  Just really scared. 😀    The lower left tooth is missing.  I told my neighbor it is stuck in his plastic pool.  LOL  Another interesting feature on this one is the white tip ears.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

We put him in the back of my van, still in the trap, and drove him to a knew happier (for us) location. 🙂  We thought he would come out fighting, but he was all too happy to be in a new home and ran out of the trap. 

My neighbor said if this had been a wild opossum he caught, it would end up on the grill or oven.  eeekkk!  I mean yuck!   Since this was a domesticated (lack of a better word) opossum it eats a lot of garbage like plastic and according to my neighbor diapers. 

So, if you ever catch a wild opossum and get hungry, here is a place to visit to get some ideas of what you can do with it.  😀

Possum Recipes  Which one is your favorite?  I think Cajun Possum Chili – NUCLEAR HOT !!! looks interesting.

And here are some more recipes for Opossum .

 CC, you’re from the country, which one have you tried?

18 responses to “Didelphimorphia

  1. Oh dear, as southern as I may be…

    I do not now, nor do I ever intend on either eating or cooking a possum or an opossum either for that matter. YECH!

    I dated a “possum” once though, back in high school, how southern is that? LOL

    I think he is kinda cute- but then I normally think anything with fur and whiskers is cute. SIGH

    Thanks for taking the lil’ critter out to a nice new “home”. : )

  2. < ![CDATA[Oh dear, as southern as I may be... I do not now, nor do I ever intend on either eating or cooking a possum or an opossum either for that matter. YECH! I dated a "possum" once though, back in high school, how southern is that? LOL I think he is kinda cute- but then I normally think anything with fur and whiskers is cute. SIGH Thanks for taking the lil' critter out to a nice new "home". : )]]>

  3. He is very cute! I’m glad you let him go and decided not to make the chili…lol. 😀

  4. < ![CDATA[He is very cute! I'm glad you let him go and decided not to make the chili...lol. :D]]>

  5. I refuse to eat anything that looks like that before it is killed. I would hurl….and it wouldn’t be pretty!

  6. < ![CDATA[I refuse to eat anything that looks like that before it is killed. I would hurl....and it wouldn't be pretty!]]>

  7. He is a cute critter…but I like him far away from me! I’m glad you gave him a new home.

    I don’t ever intend on eating ‘Possum. BUT, in Florida they do have a Possum Festival.

    http://www.defuniakspringsfl.com/festivals.htm
    The 38th annual Possum Festival will be held in Wausau, FL, in August. The annual Possum Festival and Fun Day is a Washington County institution. There will be Possum King and Queen contests, musical entertainment at the Possum Palace all morning, and a parade at 10:00 a.m. on Main Street. A flag-raising ceremony will be held at noon, and the world-famous possum auction will follow. The Wausau Volunteer Fire Department will sell barbecue pork plates and sandwiches, and other goodies will be available as well. Come experience the possum auctions; possum stew and ice cream; arts and crafts booths; performances by local bluegrass, gospel, and country bands; and a dance to round out the evening. Everyone is invited to attend this fun-filled family event! For more information, call 850-638-2976.

  8. < ![CDATA[He is a cute critter...but I like him far away from me! I'm glad you gave him a new home. I don't ever intend on eating 'Possum. BUT, in Florida they do have a Possum Festival. http://www.defuniakspringsfl.com/festivals.htm The 38th annual Possum Festival will be held in Wausau, FL, in August. The annual Possum Festival and Fun Day is a Washington County institution. There will be Possum King and Queen contests, musical entertainment at the Possum Palace all morning, and a parade at 10:00 a.m. on Main Street. A flag-raising ceremony will be held at noon, and the world-famous possum auction will follow. The Wausau Volunteer Fire Department will sell barbecue pork plates and sandwiches, and other goodies will be available as well. Come experience the possum auctions; possum stew and ice cream; arts and crafts booths; performances by local bluegrass, gospel, and country bands; and a dance to round out the evening. Everyone is invited to attend this fun-filled family event! For more information, call 850-638-2976.]]>

  9. They are cute little animals aren’t they? Hubby has tasted them at the gun-club’s annual wild-game dinner. It was either that or possum, probably possum. I didn’t go so I can’t remember, but I do remember that it was caged and corn-fed for 4-6 weeks before it was cooked.

  10. < ![CDATA[They are cute little animals aren't they? Hubby has tasted them at the gun-club's annual wild-game dinner. It was either that or possum, probably possum. I didn't go so I can't remember, but I do remember that it was caged and corn-fed for 4-6 weeks before it was cooked.]]>

  11. Oh, my goodness! What an adventure!

  12. < ![CDATA[Oh, my goodness! What an adventure!]]>

  13. < ![CDATA[Gag-a-maggot!!!]]>

  14. I’ve never tried Possum or Opossum but I’ll admit that wild game is good if prepared properly. I live for the day when hubby is able to get a moose or caribou so that we’ll have the meat in the freezer vs the beef and other meat we buy at the grocery. Game, true game anyway, doesn’t have those growth hormones and other stuff that they’re putting into the food supply.

    Of course you could just raise your own pigs, chickens and beef, feed the organically then butcher.

    I’d say that critter is a cute as our moose and sometimes just as big a problem to one’s garden.

  15. < ![CDATA[I've never tried Possum or Opossum but I'll admit that wild game is good if prepared properly. I live for the day when hubby is able to get a moose or caribou so that we'll have the meat in the freezer vs the beef and other meat we buy at the grocery. Game, true game anyway, doesn't have those growth hormones and other stuff that they're putting into the food supply. Of course you could just raise your own pigs, chickens and beef, feed the organically then butcher. I'd say that critter is a cute as our moose and sometimes just as big a problem to one's garden.]]>

  16. I can’t decide if he is cute or if he is just so ugly that you have to say that he is cute.

    Fun adventure you had though.

  17. < ![CDATA[I can't decide if he is cute or if he is just so ugly that you have to say that he is cute. Fun adventure you had though.]]>

Leave a Reply

