Harvest Bread – A recipe

 Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Here is the recipe for the loaves of bread I took to Wednesday night dinner, at church.  It made three smaller loaves, 4×8 (?).  They rose beautifully and looked beautiful.  There was a wonderful color to them.  I took two loaves to church and didn’t bring any back home.  This is not a dessert bread.  🙂    I left the pumpkin seeds out, only because I didn’t have any.   Would be even better with the seeds in it, but my girls wouldn’t eat it then.

Harvest Bread

Source:  Marmee Dear  The Bread Basket Cookbook

Place the following ingredients in the kitchen mixer in this order:

  • 3 1/2 cups  warm water
  • 1 cup cooked pumpkin, mashed (I used Libbys)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 cup cooked oatmeal, cooled to lukewarm
  • 1 TB Molasses
  • 1 TB salt
  • 1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 3 cups unbleached bread flour (I used unbleached all purpose flour)
  • 2 TB yeast

For later use:  Fresh milled whole wheat flour (mill about 4 to 5 lbs)

Mix the above ingredients, except whole wheat, into mixer and let stand for 10 to 15 minutes until bubbly. 

After the 10 to 15 minutes, add freshly milled flour, 1 cup at a time until you get a nice workable dough.  I put the milled flour in until I had a nice dough.  I don’t know how much that was.

KNead for 6 to 8 minutes on medium speed.  Remove dough from mixer and form loaves on an oiled surface and place in greased loaf pans.  I used 3 Norpro pans, size 4X8.  Let the loaves rise for 30-40 minutes or until nicely rounded over tops of pans. 

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown.  Let loaves stand in pans 5 – 10 minutes after remvoing from oven.  Remove carefully from pan and let cooling complete on wire cooling racks.  Makes 3 – 4 loaves depening on the size of loaf pans.

8 responses to “Harvest Bread – A recipe

  1. Looks very good.
    I love the towel!!

  2. < ![CDATA[Looks very good. I love the towel!!]]>

  3. The Wednesday towel is cute with that kitty on it! 🙂 Your bread certainly does have a nice color. I bet they love to see you coming carrying your bread basket!!

  4. < ![CDATA[The Wednesday towel is cute with that kitty on it! :-) Your bread certainly does have a nice color. I bet they love to see you coming carrying your bread basket!!]]>

  5. I am always looking for new bread recipes…

    thank you…

  6. < ![CDATA[I am always looking for new bread recipes... thank you...]]>

  7. Your bread looks yummy! Thanks for the recipe.

  8. < ![CDATA[Your bread looks yummy! Thanks for the recipe.]]>

Leave a Reply

