Fort Clinch – Part 2: The weapons

It was a  beautiful day walking up to the fort.  The weather was great and there was a nice breeze coming from the St. Mary’s River. 

After we purchase or tickets, we go through a gate to take a short walk down to the fort.  A sign on the right says:

“You are stepping into the past.  The year is 1864 and the Civil War is in progress.  Ahead of you is a masonary fort under construction.  Union soldiers are involved in the of the fort.  Ask them questions about the lives they lead stationed at Fort Clinch.  Follow the path into 1864.”

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket The walk looks long, but really wasn’t. See the cannons on top? That is what I am going to talk about today.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket This is the image just before going through the gate.  The view from the fort is amazing.  🙂

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket The first place we went to was to the upper level where the cannons are.  I think they look like cork cannons.  LOL    They are placed at different places on the upper level.  They guarded the mouth of the St. Mary’s River. The cannons needed  to shoot at long distances.  Each one is capable of shoot 100lb charges.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Each cannon is mounted on a turn table.  They were heavy and hard to move.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Here is picture of the wheels each of them had to help move them from side to side.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket In this picture, the husband is showing one of the kids the holes in the wheels.  The soldiers would place a steal rod in the hole, then push the rod to turn the wheel, and this would turn the cannon. 
Now for a question.  We found these openings near the cannons on the upper level.  Can you guess what they are for?Hole measures about 11 inches; 12 at the most.  Keep in mind it would not have the iron bars during 1864. Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
14 responses to “Fort Clinch – Part 2: The weapons

  1. I could guess my first thought, but before I say what I am thinking, I need to know the diameter of the hole.

  2. < ![CDATA[I could guess my first thought, but before I say what I am thinking, I need to know the diameter of the hole.]]>

  3. I updated the post. 🙂

  4. < ![CDATA[I updated the post. 🙂]]>

  5. My first thought is, it is a built in latrine.

    My second thought is that it has something to do with the cannons.

  6. < ![CDATA[My first thought is, it is a built in latrine. My second thought is that it has something to do with the cannons.]]>

  7. What a fun trip! I want to go too!

    I don’t know what the hole is for. My daughter says it is a latrine, because when you gotta go, you gotta go. LOL We’d ask The Man, but he’s sleeping.

  8. < ![CDATA[What a fun trip! I want to go too! I don't know what the hole is for. My daughter says it is a latrine, because when you gotta go, you gotta go. LOL We'd ask The Man, but he's sleeping.]]>

  9. Your fort seems like a nice place to visit. 🙂

    Hmmm, the hole, what could it be for???

    1. So the fellows in the lower level could enjoy the cannon noise and feel pride.
    2. Skylights – fancy fort ya got there.
    3. So they could mount their machine gun.
    4. To pass food or other things through.
    5. Because the roof will get holes anyway, why not have them where you want them and make them pretty.
    6. I don’t know, what are they for?

  10. < ![CDATA[Your fort seems like a nice place to visit. :-) Hmmm, the hole, what could it be for??? 1. So the fellows in the lower level could enjoy the cannon noise and feel pride. 2. Skylights - fancy fort ya got there. 3. So they could mount their machine gun. 4. To pass food or other things through. 5. Because the roof will get holes anyway, why not have them where you want them and make them pretty. 6. I don't know, what are they for?]]>

  11. Nice pictures. I often don’t think of Florida when I think Civil War.

    Our guesses (group effort here):
    a fire pit for lighting those fuses
    a hole for ammunition: powder or cannonballs
    a trash can to empty the cannon into

  12. < ![CDATA[Nice pictures. I often don't think of Florida when I think Civil War. Our guesses (group effort here): a fire pit for lighting those fuses a hole for ammunition: powder or cannonballs a trash can to empty the cannon into]]>

  13. Very cool !

    I could guess but I already know what the answer is 😆

  14. < ![CDATA[Very cool ! I could guess but I already know what the answer is :lol:]]>

Leave a Reply

