Demolition Gingerbread House

People from next door, far, far, away, gathered around to watch the annual excitement. 

Photobucket

Why are they gathered around our humble place, you ask.  Why to watch the annual destruction of a candy home, of course.

Since we built the house out of two kits, Sir William wants to do the manly thing and saw it in half.  We will have twice the enjoyment of watching candy confections fly all over God’s creation.

Photobucket

Here is the…device.  Carefully planned and constructed by Sir William.  It has all of his favorite things to work with: bungee cords, wood, nails, and metal.

Photobucket

Below Sir William is saying, “Are you ready for this?”    There are two things to notice, one is the bright blue X on the fence, drawn by our second daughter.  She was wanting a target and our son wouldn’t comply, so she drew an X for her daddy.    The other thing to notice is how Sir William is holding the gingerbread house.  See how it is not falling apart?  That is because it is glued together by wood glue.  Makes for stronger ammunition. 

Photobucket

READY, SET, AIM…. “Are you REALLY sure you want to do this?”

Photobucket

FIRE!

Photobucket

THE END!

Photobucket

“LOOK MAMA!  This is all that is left.  Can we keep it?”

Photobucket

I hope you have enjoyed today’s entertainment.   Operation Demolition Gingerbread House, will resume on January 1, 2009.

40 responses to “Demolition Gingerbread House

  1. Flying Gingerbread, Batman! LOL
    …and right on target, too. 😆

  2. Very cool!! Your hubby has good aim 🙂

    Maybe you all should build one of those catapolt thingies for slinging pumpkins and watermelons 😀

  3. < ![CDATA[Very cool!! Your hubby has good aim :) Maybe you all should build one of those catapolt thingies for slinging pumpkins and watermelons :D]]>

  4. He hit the target, spot on!

    Which picture was the “key” photo?

  5. < ![CDATA[He hit the target, spot on! Which picture was the "key" photo?]]>

  6. < ![CDATA[Cool!]]>

  7. EXCELLENT! :mrgreen:

    I want to be your neighbor.

  8. < ![CDATA[EXCELLENT! :mrgreen: I want to be your neighbor.]]>

  9. I liked the explosions of 2007 better but then I’m partial, by marriage, to such things that go boom.

    Guess I need to show our experience….. I’ll let you know!!

    Good job w/the catapault and the pictures.

    I can think of better target though….can’t mention them here since I know this is a family friendly site 😉

  10. < ![CDATA[I liked the explosions of 2007 better but then I'm partial, by marriage, to such things that go boom. Guess I need to show our experience..... I'll let you know!! Good job w/the catapault and the pictures. I can think of better target though....can't mention them here since I know this is a family friendly site ;)]]>

  11. ok, while I admire the idea of this years demolition, I like last years idea much better. There is something to be said about blowing up a gingerbread house.

  12. Elaine and Celticmuse, this isn’t about making it better or worse than previous years. Just making a different way to dispose of a candy house. 🙂

    Donna, you can be our neighbor anytime, but I would rather be your neighbor, since you live up north. 😀

    CC, the key photo was the one the house hit the spot. I got the photo just before and just after that. It was important to me to have the photo where you could see the house actually hit the target. LOL

  13. < ![CDATA[Elaine and Celticmuse, this isn’t about making it better or worse than previous years. Just making a different way to dispose of a candy house. 🙂

    Donna, you can be our neighbor anytime, but I would rather be your neighbor, since you live up north. 😀

    CC, the key photo was the one the house hit the spot. I got the photo just before and just after that. It was important to me to have the photo where you could see the house actually hit the target. LOL ]]>

  14. Well come on up here then 😉

  15. < ![CDATA[Well come on up here then ;)]]>

  16. < ![CDATA[Sweet. :)]]>

  17. I’m with you on the key photo. It’s cool to see how accurate the catapult was. Did you have a few practise runs?

    Awesome catapult, tell Sir William I am impressed.

  18. < ![CDATA[I'm with you on the key photo. It's cool to see how accurate the catapult was. Did you have a few practise runs? Awesome catapult, tell Sir William I am impressed.]]>

  19. Sumi, that was the second try. The first attempt, I video taped, and the house hit slightly above the X. 🙂

  20. < ![CDATA[Sumi, that was the second try. The first attempt, I video taped, and the house hit slightly above the X. 🙂 ]]>

  21. < ![CDATA[Awsome as usual.]]>

  22. What fun! You guys are very creative!

  23. < ![CDATA[What fun! You guys are very creative!]]>

  24. Oh yes, I forgot to say that it was worth waiting for the key image. :mrgreen:

  25. < ![CDATA[Oh yes, I forgot to say that it was worth waiting for the key image. :mrgreen:]]>

  26. Woo hoo!! That is much more exciting than my method of disposal which is throwng it in the trash. 🙂

  27. < ![CDATA[Woo hoo!! That is much more exciting than my method of disposal which is throwng it in the trash. :)]]>

  28. < ![CDATA[Thanks Everyone! :mrgreen:]]>

  29. The catapulting of the candy house is way cool! 😀

    Did you take these with your finger held down on the shutter button? (multiple shots a second)

  30. < ![CDATA[The catapulting of the candy house is way cool! :D Did you take these with your finger held down on the shutter button? (multiple shots a second)]]>

  31. Robin, yes I used the shutter button. That is how I missed the key photo, where the house hit the X. I got the shot just before and just after that. My neighbor’s dad got the key shot for me. 😀

  32. < ![CDATA[ Robin, yes I used the shutter button. That is how I missed the key photo, where the house hit the X. I got the shot just before and just after that. My neighbor’s dad got the key shot for me. 😀 ]]>

  33. < ![CDATA[You guys are a hoot!]]>

  34. Oh my goodness! That is too funny! We have always gone out to the middle of no where and thrown our pumpkins (that were outside) of the car. It’s always something to look forward to. I wish we would have done that with our ginger bread house.

  35. < ![CDATA[Oh my goodness! That is too funny! We have always gone out to the middle of no where and thrown our pumpkins (that were outside) of the car. It's always something to look forward to. I wish we would have done that with our ginger bread house.]]>

Leave a Reply

