An Osprey

During lunch time at our co-op my daughters happen to look up at a near by tree and discovered an Osprey having his lunch.  Below are the pictures I was able to get.  They are not great, but you get the idea.  🙂  I used my zoom lense and then cropped the picture.   The fish was about as big as he was.  🙂

Updated to add:  The last two photos the bird is sizing me up.  Trying to figure out if I am a threat.  LOL

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

32 responses to “An Osprey

  1. Cool, but a bit disgusting! LOL 🙂 Glad you had your camera w/ya.

  2. < ![CDATA[Cool, but a bit disgusting! LOL :) Glad you had your camera w/ya.]]>

  3. 🙂 Michelle what a sight! Do you often see ospreys eating fish or was this a rare treat? I’m glad you had your camera. Great Shots!!!!!! 🙂

    This was a rare treat. 🙂 There use to be a nest near my in-laws dock and we could watch them fish. That nest is gone, because of the hurricanes. That makes me sad, but I know they built somewhere else. I showed the pictures to my girls and they were shocked that I got the front view. They thought if they looked at the bird from the front, it would come down and attach them. LOL I explained that it knew we were too far away to get its food.

  4. < ![CDATA[:) Michelle what a sight! Do you often see ospreys eating fish or was this a rare treat? I'm glad you had your camera. Great Shots!!!!!! :) This was a rare treat. 🙂 There use to be a nest near my in-laws dock and we could watch them fish. That nest is gone, because of the hurricanes. That makes me sad, but I know they built somewhere else. I showed the pictures to my girls and they were shocked that I got the front view. They thought if they looked at the bird from the front, it would come down and attach them. LOL I explained that it knew we were too far away to get its food. ]]>

  5. Your pictures are SO cool ! You always get the best pictures. How did you know what it was? You always have the exact name for these creatures you find.

    Well, they are not the best pictures, but thank you for the comment 🙂 . Osprey’s are really common around here, so that is how I knew that one. I think it is a male Osprey, because the band on the chest is not very big. I read that in the article I linked to. The Red-Tailed Hawk, I had to look up. I knew it was a hawk because of the face.

  6. < ![CDATA[Your pictures are SO cool ! You always get the best pictures. How did you know what it was? You always have the exact name for these creatures you find. Well, they are not the best pictures, but thank you for the comment 🙂 . Osprey’s are really common around here, so that is how I knew that one. I think it is a male Osprey, because the band on the chest is not very big. I read that in the article I linked to. The Red-Tailed Hawk, I had to look up. I knew it was a hawk because of the face. ]]>

  7. great pictures, that is a hugh fish. We think osprey got a couple of our koi in our pond a few years back!

    I always wondered about that. How could someone have Koi, get attached to them, and then they are bait for birds. I’d cry. LOL I am sorry about the fish.

  8. < ![CDATA[great pictures, that is a hugh fish. We think osprey got a couple of our koi in our pond a few years back! I always wondered about that. How could someone have Koi, get attached to them, and then they are bait for birds. I’d cry. LOL I am sorry about the fish. ]]>

  9. Way cool.

    I have never seen one before. The boy loves birds too. He will like this.

  10. < ![CDATA[Way cool. I have never seen one before. The boy loves birds too. He will like this.]]>

  11. Awesome shots. Life cycle in progress.

  12. < ![CDATA[Awesome shots. Life cycle in progress.]]>

  13. Very nifty! Good thinking to have your camera with you, and then remembering to use it! (I tend to get wrapped up in the moment and then snap a single picture of the very tip of a tail as the subject flees the scene.) I love the second to the last photo – it reminds me of my son. He’s a classic rubbernecker. LOL

    So what kind of fish is the osprey eating? 😀

    A big one. LOL I had no trouble getting pictures of this bird. He was there a good long time.

  14. < ![CDATA[Very nifty! Good thinking to have your camera with you, and then remembering to use it! (I tend to get wrapped up in the moment and then snap a single picture of the very tip of a tail as the subject flees the scene.) I love the second to the last photo - it reminds me of my son. He's a classic rubbernecker. LOL So what kind of fish is the osprey eating? :D A big one. LOL I had no trouble getting pictures of this bird. He was there a good long time.]]>

  15. Great photo’s! When we were in FL last weekend we saw an Osprey nest with baby birds in it. They were really neat to see!

    There use to be a nest in a tree at church. The tree was right by the parking lot and no one would park in the three spaces under that tree. LOL It was a mess!

  16. < ![CDATA[Great photo's! When we were in FL last weekend we saw an Osprey nest with baby birds in it. They were really neat to see! There use to be a nest in a tree at church. The tree was right by the parking lot and no one would park in the three spaces under that tree. LOL It was a mess!]]>

  17. Those are the coolest pictures!! What a treat to be able to see that. That is one big fish that he is eating. Or she, I suppose. Going to make sure the kids see this one. Great job! Thanks for sharing.

  18. < ![CDATA[Those are the coolest pictures!! What a treat to be able to see that. That is one big fish that he is eating. Or she, I suppose. Going to make sure the kids see this one. Great job! Thanks for sharing.]]>

  19. Such cool pictures, Michelle!! I can see he wasn’t about to share his fish dinner with you! 🙂

  20. < ![CDATA[Such cool pictures, Michelle!! I can see he wasn't about to share his fish dinner with you! :)]]>

  21. I’m glad that he didn’t see you as a threat as he might have attacked you and ruined your new ‘do’ 😆

    Those pics are great, thanks for sharing them. I’ve got to start taking my camera with me as we’ve been seeing Bald Eagles again. Main problem is that most of the time when we see them they are flying high above. 🙄 Why oh why can’t they cooperate and sit still for me? 😕

    Same here, Elaine. I have seen one fly around our home, which is rare, and I can’t get a good photo of it. Our zoo has two that can’t fly, but taking pictures of them, is just not the same.

  22. < ![CDATA[I'm glad that he didn't see you as a threat as he might have attacked you and ruined your new 'do' :lol: Those pics are great, thanks for sharing them. I've got to start taking my camera with me as we've been seeing Bald Eagles again. Main problem is that most of the time when we see them they are flying high above. :roll: Why oh why can't they cooperate and sit still for me? :???: Same here, Elaine. I have seen one fly around our home, which is rare, and I can’t get a good photo of it. Our zoo has two that can’t fly, but taking pictures of them, is just not the same. ]]>

  23. Very cool!!

    We have a Red tailed Hawk around in our neighborhood that keeps eatting the Mourning Doves 😛

    A couple weeks ago me and Jessica saw white fluffy stuff floating around in the air…it was really pretty and almost looked like snow…then It happened!!! something fell out of the sky…then a large bird swooped down and grabed what had fallen…it was a Mourning Dove that fell and the fluffy stuff was its feathers! 😛
    Well, that was gross. Thanks for sharing it. LOL

  24. < ![CDATA[Very cool!! We have a Red tailed Hawk around in our neighborhood that keeps eatting the Mourning Doves :P A couple weeks ago me and Jessica saw white fluffy stuff floating around in the air...it was really pretty and almost looked like snow...then It happened!!! something fell out of the sky...then a large bird swooped down and grabed what had fallen...it was a Mourning Dove that fell and the fluffy stuff was its feathers! :P Well, that was gross. Thanks for sharing it. LOL]]>

  25. What a great pictures! I love to be in the right place at the right time.

  26. < ![CDATA[What a great pictures! I love to be in the right place at the right time.]]>

  27. Your so smart Applie.

  28. < ![CDATA[Your so smart Applie.]]>

  29. WeeeHOOOO! 😀 You go girlie! You did veddy veddy good, Miss Applie. :mrgreen:

  30. < ![CDATA[WeeeHOOOO! :D You go girlie! You did veddy veddy good, Miss Applie. :mrgreen:]]>

  31. “Well, that was gross. Thanks for sharing it. LOL”

    Well…at least I didn’t post pictures 😛 LOL!

  32. < ![CDATA["Well, that was gross. Thanks for sharing it. LOL" Well...at least I didn't post pictures :P LOL!]]>

Leave a Reply

