At the birdfeeder

All of this happens after the Great Backyard Bird Count, of course.     The pictures are not good.  I just can’t seem to get a good clear sharp shot of birdies.  Oh well.  They were all taken through a window or screen.

Mourning Dove

Photobucket

Chipping Sparrow

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Northern Cardinal

Photobucket

 I haven’t been able to identify this last bird (below).  I have searched All About Birds and found nothing.

It must be a bird, because it is at the birdfeeder, right? 

Photobucket

22 responses to “At the birdfeeder

  1. LOL! Those birds are such stinkers.

  2. < ![CDATA[LOL! Those birds are such stinkers.]]>

  3. That’s the fuzziest looking bird I’ve ever seen.
    And how can you tell that is a cardinal with its whole front end shoved up into the bird feeder? LOL!

    Love
    Sylvia

    That is not a cardinal, for sure. The end that is shoved in the birdfeeder is actually his rear-end. He is hanging upside down. LOL

  4. < ![CDATA[That's the fuzziest looking bird I've ever seen. And how can you tell that is a cardinal with its whole front end shoved up into the bird feeder? LOL! Love Sylvia That is not a cardinal, for sure. The end that is shoved in the birdfeeder is actually his rear-end. He is hanging upside down. LOL]]>

  5. I think that the last one would be better identified at a mammal site.

    But, but, but, it is at the birdfeeder!

  6. < ![CDATA[I think that the last one would be better identified at a mammal site. But, but, but, it is at the birdfeeder!]]>

  7. The hairy bird is actually called the Not-A-Bird Squirrel 😀

  8. < ![CDATA[The hairy bird is actually called the Not-A-Bird Squirrel :D]]>

  9. Great pictures! Easter blessings to you and yours!

  10. < ![CDATA[Great pictures! Easter blessings to you and yours!]]>

  11. That is one fur-ry bird!

  12. < ![CDATA[That is one fur-ry bird!]]>

  13. That’s me, I flew down to steal your bird seed.

    You don’t look anything like I thought! And why didn’t you stop in and say hi?

    The cardinals here eat at the feeder like that one is eating in your picture (with its back to the food).

    I watched him for awhile. He is on the lookout for other birds trying to land on the feeder. He pecked at any that tried, including his mate. The big meanie.

  14. < ![CDATA[That's me, I flew down to steal your bird seed. You don’t look anything like I thought! And why didn’t you stop in and say hi?

    The cardinals here eat at the feeder like that one is eating in your picture (with its back to the food).

    I watched him for awhile. He is on the lookout for other birds trying to land on the feeder. He pecked at any that tried, including his mate. The big meanie.]]>

  15. I’m afraid your Carolina Wrens are in disguise too. Wrens have long, pointy, downcurved beaks, and they mostly eat insects and spiders. They almost never come to bird feeders to get seeds.

    The birds in your photos look like small sparrows – note the thick beaks for cracking seeds. It’s hard to tell from the photos, but I think they might be Chipping Sparrows, in their winter plumage.

    Thanks for the correction. 🙂 I did notice one bird coming to the feeder, yesterday, with a long beak and wondered why he was different. He was a Wren. 😀

  16. < ![CDATA[I'm afraid your Carolina Wrens are in disguise too. Wrens have long, pointy, downcurved beaks, and they mostly eat insects and spiders. They almost never come to bird feeders to get seeds. The birds in your photos look like small sparrows - note the thick beaks for cracking seeds. It's hard to tell from the photos, but I think they might be Chipping Sparrows, in their winter plumage. Thanks for the correction. 🙂 I did notice one bird coming to the feeder, yesterday, with a long beak and wondered why he was different. He was a Wren. 😀]]>

  17. I might have stopped in to say Hi to you, but you know us squirrels can’t speaka da Englash.

    😉

    The cardinals up here share all the time. They don’t seem to care who they are sitting next too. 😀

  18. < ![CDATA[I might have stopped in to say Hi to you, but you know us squirrels can't speaka da Englash. ;) The cardinals up here share all the time. They don't seem to care who they are sitting next too. :D]]>

  19. Loved the images!! That last one really made me laugh though… 🙂 Strange looking fellow, he is!!

    We’ve been having lots of fun here in SC. My son built us a bluebird box and a chickadee box. Both boxes were being checked out the VERY DAY we hung them! So fun!!
    My son also made a Robin ‘house’..yep, there is such a thing. It is more like a platform rather than a box. Anyhoooo, we haven’t hung it out yet. Probably tomorrow. :o)

    So glad spring is here!!!
    xoxox
    pattyanne

  20. < ![CDATA[Loved the images!! That last one really made me laugh though... :) Strange looking fellow, he is!! We've been having lots of fun here in SC. My son built us a bluebird box and a chickadee box. Both boxes were being checked out the VERY DAY we hung them! So fun!! My son also made a Robin 'house'..yep, there is such a thing. It is more like a platform rather than a box. Anyhoooo, we haven't hung it out yet. Probably tomorrow. :o) So glad spring is here!!! xoxox pattyanne]]>

  21. I like your feeders! 😀

    Those “Squirrel-proof” feeders crack. me. up. They’re about as bird-proof as my big toe. 😆

    Hugs from your birdy friend, Robin. :mrgreen:

  22. < ![CDATA[I like your feeders! :D Those "Squirrel-proof" feeders crack. me. up. They're about as bird-proof as my big toe. :lol: Hugs from your birdy friend, Robin. :mrgreen:]]>

Leave a Reply

