Apologia Module 14

Waves and Sound

 We are coming fast to the end of our exciting journey with Exploring Creation with Physical Science.  We have learned a lot about God’s creation through this.  🙂

 Module 14 is about Waves and Sound.  We learned there are two types of waves.

The Transverse Wave.  I demonstrated this wave, in the classroom, using a long rope. This was suggested by Dr. Wile.  🙂 

The top part of the rope is the crest and the bottom part is the trough.  We could not make it continuous, to show the wavelength.

Photobucket

The second wave we learned about was the Longitudinal Wave and we demonstrated it by using the slinky.  Which was also suggested by Dr. Wile in his book.  Both the rope and slinky are great visual tools for the students.

Photobucket

You can’t see the compression or rarefaction in the slinky pictured above, but the students could see it in class.  

We had two problems with this experiment.

  1.  I had a very hard time getting the students to stop playing with the slinky and
  2. I could not stop mispronouncing the word rarefactions .  I kept saying rarefractions.  So, if you do this module, get it right.  OK?

The second Monday of co-op, I repeated the equations the students need to know for the exam.  They were getting a little lost with the frequency and speed of sound equations.  I had them do the problems in the summary module at the back of the book.  I always say, you can’t have too many problems to solve, when it comes to math and science. :mrgreen:

I think the most interesting experiment for this module was the Wavelength and Sound experiment 14.3.  We used a glass quart jar and a glass gallon jar.

Photobucket

We found the gallon moonshine applecider jug worked the best.  The half gallon jug above work ok, not as well as the gallon jug.  This was a great experiment.  I drew three jugs on the board and then drew the kind of wavelengths in each, to show how the levels of the water determined the pitch of the sound.  Cool beans, if you ask me.  😀

Oh, and we did try a 2 liter plastic bottle and it just didn’t work.  You really need the old fashion moonshine applecider jug to make this work. 😀

Next stop, Module 15 and all of God’s color.

8 responses to “Apologia Module 14

  1. What are you going to do today?

    Nothing :mrgreen:

  2. < ![CDATA[What are you going to do today? Nothing :mrgreen:]]>

  3. That looks like fun Michelle. =)

    At first I couldn’t remember what we did, but then I remembered that we played the glasses with different levels of water. Ya never know when that skill will come in handy. 😉

    Yep, it is a skill you need for a jug band. You also need a washtub. LOL

  4. < ![CDATA[That looks like fun Michelle. =) At first I couldn't remember what we did, but then I remembered that we played the glasses with different levels of water. Ya never know when that skill will come in handy. ;) Yep, it is a skill you need for a jug band. You also need a washtub. LOL]]>

  5. So where would one find these jugs that are similar to the ones used in the south for doing moonshine? I don’t have much to do w/alcohol of any type 🙄 so I honestly don’t know where I’d find such a thing.

    Yep, moonshine is done in the south. Elaine, I know you can find a gallon jug of wine. You can find really cheap nasty wine for cooking at Sam’s. LOL The gallon jug we used was applecider and the smaller jug was just apple juice. 😀

  6. < ![CDATA[So where would one find these jugs that are similar to the ones used in the south for doing moonshine? I don't have much to do w/alcohol of any type :roll: so I honestly don't know where I'd find such a thing. Yep, moonshine is done in the south. Elaine, I know you can find a gallon jug of wine. You can find really cheap nasty wine for cooking at Sam’s. LOL The gallon jug we used was applecider and the smaller jug was just apple juice. 😀]]>

  7. I can help Elaine out. Just a little digging ( ops forgot the three feet of snow as well) between farm fence lines out here and there is an old moonshine still. Ops I didn’t tell you that!

    Love the red look on the girls. Even the nails. Wow to be a teenager again.

    There you go, Elaine! There is always someone out there to help you out. LOL

  8. < ![CDATA[I can help Elaine out. Just a little digging ( ops forgot the three feet of snow as well) between farm fence lines out here and there is an old moonshine still. Ops I didn't tell you that! Love the red look on the girls. Even the nails. Wow to be a teenager again. There you go, Elaine! There is always someone out there to help you out. LOL]]>

Leave a Reply

