The Garden

We decided to give gardening one more try.  We have had small gardens before, with very little success.  Mainly because we do not get enough sun in our backyard.  I know that sounds funny, coming from someone who lives in FL, but we live under oaks.  Great big oaks that meet above our house. 

Last year our neighbor had to cut down a really huge walnut tree, due to inner rot or something.  That left a huge hole for some sunshine to come in. So, a gardening we will go.  🙂

Here is Sir Husband tilling the ground.  He rented a very fancy, huge, powerful, manly tiller.

 Photobucket

Even with that powerful tool, he had trouble tilling part of the ground because of the roots. One root measured a yard long and about five inch in diameter!

While Sir Husband was working, the girls decided to join him outside. Did they help him work? No, they played. What did they play? They played on the trailor that the tiller came on.

They discovered very quickly that it will bounce. All you do is take off running from one end of the trailer….

Photobucket

to the other end of the trailor. This causes whoever is on the end to bounce up.  Notice my smallest is holding up her pants.  She wouldn’t let me fix them for her, so she spent the day holding them up.  She is hard headed; gets it from her mother father.

Photobucket

Then you start all over with squeals of delight. Oh, to be little and young again. 😀

Photobucket

 Looks like the husband did a good job!

Photobucket

It is planted now. I’ll post pictures of that later. 🙂

20 responses to “The Garden

  1. Dear sweet Applie, oats grow like wheat, so if you are living under oats how do you breathe? Did Sir William contrive an under the earth house of some sort?

    SMACK!! That’s just for being my friend and always pointing out my typos. :mrgreen: I fixed it.

  2. < ![CDATA[Dear sweet Applie, oats grow like wheat, so if you are living under oats how do you breathe? Did Sir William contrive an under the earth house of some sort?

    SMACK!! That’s just for being my friend and always pointing out my typos. :mrgreen: I fixed it.

    ]]>

  3. We still have snow!!!! We are hoping for weather next week that will bring the hope for a possible garden.
    Oh and a garden needs lots of poop. I’m sure the that farm you visited would have some for ya. But I think its best to till it in before planting. thats what I always was told to do.

    Hey Kath. Sir Husband did till in some cow poop. 😀

  4. < ![CDATA[We still have snow!!!! We are hoping for weather next week that will bring the hope for a possible garden. Oh and a garden needs lots of poop. I'm sure the that farm you visited would have some for ya. But I think its best to till it in before planting. thats what I always was told to do. Hey Kath. Sir Husband did till in some cow poop. 😀 ]]>

  5. That is your idea of a “small” garden? 😕
    I really don’t want to see what you think a large garden would be. :shakeshead:

    I can’t wait to see what you planted. Don’t forget to keep us updated as to how it goes. After all we have to learn this stuff somewhere and you’ll be ending the science posts here in a few weeks so we’ll need something to learn about.

    =)

  6. < ![CDATA[That is your idea of a "small" garden? :???: I really don't want to see what you think a large garden would be. :shakeshead: I can't wait to see what you planted. Don't forget to keep us updated as to how it goes. After all we have to learn this stuff somewhere and you'll be ending the science posts here in a few weeks so we'll need something to learn about. =)]]>

  7. Yea! Yea! A garden. :mrgreen: You are so good at everything else, that “watching” you all garden should be great fun. What oh what are you going to plant?

    We just started working on our garden as well. I am enjoying this year much better because the piece we are working on is more managable than last years bigger spot that was oh-so-weedy.

    Are you doing veggies? Flowers? Both?

    Have a super rest of your weekend!

  8. < ![CDATA[Yea! Yea! A garden. :mrgreen: You are so good at everything else, that "watching" you all garden should be great fun. What oh what are you going to plant? We just started working on our garden as well. I am enjoying this year much better because the piece we are working on is more managable than last years bigger spot that was oh-so-weedy. Are you doing veggies? Flowers? Both? Have a super rest of your weekend!]]>

  9. I feel for you, we have lots of trees in m yard as well, I’m not sure how much of a garden I’m going to get out of it.

  10. < ![CDATA[I feel for you, we have lots of trees in m yard as well, I'm not sure how much of a garden I'm going to get out of it.]]>

  11. I love the picture of the hubby tilling!! We don’t get to see that around here, I’m the pony with the power-plow in this house. =P I need to get busy with it too.

    Your girls sure do know how to have fun. =D

    Your hubby did a great job tilling the ground and I really hope you get enough sunshine in your garden spot.
    =)

  12. < ![CDATA[I love the picture of the hubby tilling!! We don't get to see that around here, I'm the pony with the power-plow in this house. =P I need to get busy with it too. Your girls sure do know how to have fun. =D Your hubby did a great job tilling the ground and I really hope you get enough sunshine in your garden spot. =)]]>

  13. Busy busy…gardens are wonderful What kinds of stuff do you plant?

    we’re still freezing way up north!

  14. < ![CDATA[Busy busy...gardens are wonderful What kinds of stuff do you plant? we're still freezing way up north!]]>

  15. Looks great! I remember the oak roots. We tried to garden in our backyard under the giant oak trees. After Frances came through, we had much more luck. 🙂

  16. < ![CDATA[Looks great! I remember the oak roots. We tried to garden in our backyard under the giant oak trees. After Frances came through, we had much more luck. :)]]>

  17. Yep…garden planting season is here! We had our last frost (i hope!) last night. We’ll start setting out plants in the coming weeks.
    Your girls are having a blast – looks fun – I would be tempted to join them!

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving comment

  18. < ![CDATA[Yep...garden planting season is here! We had our last frost (i hope!) last night. We'll start setting out plants in the coming weeks. Your girls are having a blast - looks fun - I would be tempted to join them! Thanks for stopping by and leaving comment]]>

  19. Oh, to have such nice soil! Ours is solid clay and must be mixed with MANY truckloads of topsoil and mulch. We rented a tiller last year and made raised beds so we won’t be needing it again at this house. We talked about buying a tiller but decided that it would be a silly purchase for this house. We have many plans for our next house (not in Georgia) and a HUGE garden is one of them. We’re actually thinking that a small tractor might be better at that point.

    What will you be planting? Have you already started them inside? Dare I suggest a wonderful organic seed company called Seeds of Change?

    Blessings!
    Lacy

  20. < ![CDATA[Oh, to have such nice soil! Ours is solid clay and must be mixed with MANY truckloads of topsoil and mulch. We rented a tiller last year and made raised beds so we won't be needing it again at this house. We talked about buying a tiller but decided that it would be a silly purchase for this house. We have many plans for our next house (not in Georgia) and a HUGE garden is one of them. We're actually thinking that a small tractor might be better at that point. What will you be planting? Have you already started them inside? Dare I suggest a wonderful organic seed company called Seeds of Change? Blessings! Lacy]]>

Leave a Reply

