Planting the Garden

Photobucket

In the garden we husband and children, planted:

  • Three kinds of tomatoes
  • Two kinds of peppers
  • Cantaloupe
  • White onions
  • Collard Greens for the lizards
  • Yellow squash
  • Zucchini
  • Watermelon
  •  

    From seeds which aren’t planted yet:

  • Radishes
  • Pole Beans
  • Lettuces (heat tolerant kind)
  • And this is what we didn’t plant.

    Photobucket

    A slug or something. Sir Husband found it and saved it in a jar because; “I knew you like to take pictures of those kinds of things.”Ain’t he sweet?  :mrgreen:

    UPDATED: Donna said this ugly thing was a grub, so I went looking and found this, Sago Worm.   NASTY

    22 responses to “Planting the Garden

    1. That was thoughtful of him to save you the grub worm (that is what it looks like).

    2. < ![CDATA[That was thoughtful of him to save you the grub worm (that is what it looks like).]]>

    3. He’s ‘worming’ his way into your good graces 😉

      I’m proud of you for supervising this learning experience. The girls need practice working with men anyway for the future. =)

    4. < ![CDATA[He's 'worming' his way into your good graces ;) I'm proud of you for supervising this learning experience. The girls need practice working with men anyway for the future. =)]]>

    5. Did you make a biology class just so you could disect it? 🙂

      LOL no. I don’t get to teach my biology class next year. sniff

    6. < ![CDATA[Did you make a biology class just so you could disect it? :) LOL no. I don’t get to teach my biology class next year. sniff]]>

    7. My hubby found us some grubs and brought them home for us and we have had them for about a year now. They are in their final stage before they become a beetle. We think it will be a rhinoceros beetle.

      I am going to email you to get some details. 😀

    8. < ![CDATA[My hubby found us some grubs and brought them home for us and we have had them for about a year now. They are in their final stage before they become a beetle. We think it will be a rhinoceros beetle. I am going to email you to get some details. 😀 ]]>

    9. How did you get all the grass out of the dirt so quickly?? 😆 That was my biggest problem with trying to add on to the garden last year. We spent a gazillion hours ridding the ground of grass, only to have it promptly come back. The original part just wasn’t as grassy or something. We also added a lot more top soil over there.

      Your garden is going to be FAB!

      Ewwwww on that grub. Ew. Ick. Poo. Nasty little critters. Supposedly they taste “just like chicken”. 😆 I heard that in Lion King a few years ago.

      I can’t wait to plant our daffodils and zinnias. You will like the color of the flowers in our garden. I thought of you when if finally dawned on me what color of flower I really really really wanted in my garden. Tons of it. Yum. :mrgreen: I’ll blog the details of it, too. It should be warm enough to plant later this week. Yea!

    10. < ![CDATA[How did you get all the grass out of the dirt so quickly?? :lol: That was my biggest problem with trying to add on to the garden last year. We spent a gazillion hours ridding the ground of grass, only to have it promptly come back. The original part just wasn't as grassy or something. We also added a lot more top soil over there. Your garden is going to be FAB! Ewwwww on that grub. Ew. Ick. Poo. Nasty little critters. Supposedly they taste "just like chicken". :lol: I heard that in Lion King a few years ago. I can't wait to plant our daffodils and zinnias. You will like the color of the flowers in our garden. I thought of you when if finally dawned on me what color of flower I really really really wanted in my garden. Tons of it. Yum. :mrgreen: I'll blog the details of it, too. It should be warm enough to plant later this week. Yea!]]>

    11. Grubs will eat your plants from the roots up.

      KILL THEM!!!

      It is still in the jar with nothing to eat. It was still alive yesterday. LOL

    12. < ![CDATA[Grubs will eat your plants from the roots up. KILL THEM!!! It is still in the jar with nothing to eat. It was still alive yesterday. LOL ]]>

    13. Ick Ick Ick on the grub! Great job on the planting though!

    14. < ![CDATA[Ick Ick Ick on the grub! Great job on the planting though!]]>

    15. Gardening is so exciting! Remember our pet hornworm last year? We went on vacation and missed the transformation. Or the death. We don’t know for sure what happened to it. LOL I hope you have better luck with your grub. 😀

    16. < ![CDATA[Gardening is so exciting! Remember our pet hornworm last year? We went on vacation and missed the transformation. Or the death. We don't know for sure what happened to it. LOL I hope you have better luck with your grub. :D]]>

    17. That article at wikipedia says the Sago Worm tastes like meat.
      … well?? does it?? 😈

      😉

      Yes! Taste like chicken. :mrgreen:

    18. < ![CDATA[That article at wikipedia says the Sago Worm tastes like meat. ... well?? does it?? :twisted: ;) Yes! Taste like chicken. :mrgreen:]]>

    19. LOL!
      Sounds delicious! :mrgreen:

    20. < ![CDATA[LOL! Sounds delicious! :mrgreen:]]>

    21. Good luck with the garden!
      Have fun with those pesky grubs!

      Are those the same kind of grubs they eat on Survivor?

    22. < ![CDATA[Good luck with the garden! Have fun with those pesky grubs! Are those the same kind of grubs they eat on Survivor?]]>

    Leave a Reply

    