Physical Science Module 15

Apologia Physical Science

All things must come to an end. 😦  This is my last post for the topic of Apologia’s Exploring Creation with Physical Science by Dr. Wile.  We have had a wonderful year with this subject, the students were great, the book was great, and I just can’t believe it went by so quickly.  I highly recommend this book to anyone who is in need of a physical science course for their child.  All experiments were easy to do, with a few bumps along the way, but I was able to get help and work through the experiments.  The link at the top of this post will take you to a page with all the links to this years science journey.  I  hope you have enjoyed reading these posts as much as I have enjoyed writing them. 

The reason module 15 is my last post and not module 16 is because half of my class will be out during the last module for their end-of-year testing.  There won’t be anything worth while to post about.  🙂

This post is part 2 of Light.

We continued to study light and how the eye detects color.  This was a very interesting module for me.  I had no idea that you only see one color of the rainbow from one raindrop.  The higher raindrops show red and the lower raindrops show the violet.  It all has to do with the frequency of the light rays.  I also didn’t know that in order for a rainbow to appear, the sun has to be behind you and shine down onto the raindrops at a certain angle.  Very interesting.  🙂

Below is a picture of one of my students doing Exp. 15.5, How the Eye Detects Color.  They enjoyed this experiment and wanted to do it several times.  They also wanted to try other colors, but unfortunately, I didn’t think to bring any other colors of markers. 

 Photobucket

We also worked with reflection and refraction of light. For the experiment below the girls were to be far away from the bowl with a quarter in it, and not see the quarter. Then pour water into the bowl and see if you can see the quarter at the same position you were when you couldn’t see it. The reflection and refraction of light caused the quarter to be seen. When I was pouring the water into the bowl for the girls and the quarter “appeared” they oooooed. LOL In this picture the girls tried to see if they could touch the quarter at the site they saw it. They discovered they were a little off. 🙂

Photobucket

There was only one boy in the class that day and he was bored, so this is what he did with his quarter for the above experiment.

Photobucket

This was done before the experiment, then I forced him to do the experiment, then he spun the quarter again and insisted I take a picture. 🙄 Kids…

10 responses to “Physical Science Module 15

  1. I just love your site! Your photos — I don’t remember having anywhere near as much fun studying Physical Science — totally unfair! 🙂

    You are such an inspiration!

    Blessings!
    -Lacy

    Thank you, Lacy. My students think I am weird, yet they are sad I will not be facilitating Biology next year. I am sad too, but I have to go where I am needed.

  2. < ![CDATA[I just love your site! Your photos -- I don't remember having anywhere near as much fun studying Physical Science -- totally unfair! :) You are such an inspiration! Blessings! -Lacy Thank you, Lacy. My students think I am weird, yet they are sad I will not be facilitating Biology next year. I am sad too, but I have to go where I am needed.]]>

  3. The year has passed quite quickly I must say. It seems like it was just last month that you were beginning this class and lamenting and how bored the kids seemed and now here you have a group that wishes you were teaching biology next year 🙂

    I’m glad that you’ll be teaching where you are most needed but I agree w/the kids, I wish you were teaching biology because then I’d know if I’d want to teach that the following year.

  4. < ![CDATA[The year has passed quite quickly I must say. It seems like it was just last month that you were beginning this class and lamenting and how bored the kids seemed and now here you have a group that wishes you were teaching biology next year :) I'm glad that you'll be teaching where you are most needed but I agree w/the kids, I wish you were teaching biology because then I'd know if I'd want to teach that the following year.]]>

  5. Come on by and cast your vote for the Name That Photo Contest (I haven’t voted yet — looks like only one person has so far).

    You could submit a photo of a friend’s pet, too. I’ll allow it. Then you would be in the running for a really cool magazine!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

  6. < ![CDATA[Come on by and cast your vote for the Name That Photo Contest (I haven't voted yet -- looks like only one person has so far). You could submit a photo of a friend's pet, too. I'll allow it. Then you would be in the running for a really cool magazine! Blessings! Lacy]]>

  7. I didn’t know that about the raindrop. The water illusion really neat. I’ve really enjoyed reading your physical science posts. =)

    Thanks, Donna. I have enjoyed writing them. 🙂

  8. < ![CDATA[I didn't know that about the raindrop. The water illusion really neat. I've really enjoyed reading your physical science posts. =) Thanks, Donna. I have enjoyed writing them. 🙂]]>

  9. Thank you for doing this Blog. I have enjoyed looking at what you did and getting ideas for our co-op. The slinky and rope suggested in module 14 was sensational. I have also taken advantage of the links and other suggestions you made as well. It really helped me plan our sessions. Looks like you had a lot of fun. I agree that the year went by quickly, now that we are working on module 15. Discovered in module 13 or 14 that the photos posted don’t work in Firefox, but do in Safari, just if anyone else is having the same trouble. Thanks for recording your journey.
    Janet in CA

Leave a Reply

