Cotton, Crochet, and Mother’s Day

Hi Everyone,

Two weeks ago was the beginning of my time with the siblings class at our co-op.  The topic I picked to share was cotton and crochet.  My plan was to teach them about cotton history, crochet a washcloth for their mothers, and make a Mother’s Day card.

All but the crocheting part has been easy. 😀

Here is a list of some of the sites that I used for this topic.

One of the mothers use to live on a farm that grew cotton.  She was kind enough to bring in a cotton bale for the kids to look at. They really enjoyed seeing a REAL cotton bale. LOL

 Photobucket

Next are a few pictures of trying to crochet. I won’t be doing this again with a large class. One or two students at a time is best for me. The first picture is of a girl starting her chain stitch. The second picture is of a boy who wouldn’t learn to crochet and is using one of my washcloths for his Mother’s Day gift. I told them I would make extras, just in case. 🙂

Photobucket

Photobucket

I am teaching crochet to two of my daughters, in the classroom. One daughter can crochet, but has decided I am not worthy of her work and is giving it to a friend. LOL The other one can’t seem to get past the chain part of crochet. I expect I won’t get a washcloth from her either. 😀

Photobucket

Yesterday we took a look at different cotton materials and cotton, itself, under the microscope.

Photobucket

I am not sure which part the kids enjoyed the most, but I do know this next project they really liked. All the kids colored, cut, and put together their Mother’s Day card. You can find the instructions for this fantastic Mother’s Day card at DonnaYoung.org. This is a very easy card to make.

Photobucket

If you look closely at the above picture, you will notice that each child colored their’s a little differently. I let them put whatever they wanted on the leaves of the card. Donna, thanks so much for the instructions. The kids loved it. 🙂

14 responses to “Cotton, Crochet, and Mother’s Day

  1. why does your daughter look so ??? in the last picture?

    Because this was about the fifth time I had them to move around for the photo. Someone was always hiding behind someone else.

  2. < ![CDATA[why does your daughter look so ??? in the last picture? Because this was about the fifth time I had them to move around for the photo. Someone was always hiding behind someone else. ]]>

  3. I love this post! I am a HUGE supporter of preserving the arts — handwork, quilting, etc. I love that you are teaching your children the joys of crochet and letting them express themselves creatively. You are such a great mom! I look forward to your advice just as soon as I have children!

    Blessings and thanks, my friend!
    Lacy

  4. < ![CDATA[I love this post! I am a HUGE supporter of preserving the arts -- handwork, quilting, etc. I love that you are teaching your children the joys of crochet and letting them express themselves creatively. You are such a great mom! I look forward to your advice just as soon as I have children! Blessings and thanks, my friend! Lacy]]>

  5. Oh how fun is that!! I have never seen a bale of cotton so thanks for that!! You make your lessons interesting even for “young” folk like myself.

  6. < ![CDATA[Oh how fun is that!! I have never seen a bale of cotton so thanks for that!! You make your lessons interesting even for "young" folk like myself.]]>

  7. That looks like a fun group of kids to teach. =) I love all of those smiling faces!!

    It certainly is nice of you to make extra washcloths for the ones who aren’t crocheting. I guess crochet just has to click and won’t happen easily until then. (That is how it was for me and I know I’m not exactly a good universal model of anything so I don’t know why I said that. lol )

    Their Mother’s Day cards look wonderful. =) Looks like you are getting two of them from your girlies. Thank you for posting the picture of the children with their cards. That means a lot to me. =)

    Yes, I’ll get two of them. 😀 I wasn’t allowed to look at their cards, so I’ll be surprised. 😆

  8. < ![CDATA[That looks like a fun group of kids to teach. =) I love all of those smiling faces!! It certainly is nice of you to make extra washcloths for the ones who aren't crocheting. I guess crochet just has to click and won't happen easily until then. (That is how it was for me and I know I'm not exactly a good universal model of anything so I don't know why I said that. lol ) Their Mother's Day cards look wonderful. =) Looks like you are getting two of them from your girlies. Thank you for posting the picture of the children with their cards. That means a lot to me. =) Yes, I’ll get two of them. 😀 I wasn’t allowed to look at their cards, so I’ll be surprised. 😆]]>

  9. That is so cool! A real cotton bale. How cool is that? :mrgreen:

    It is amazing how not simple it is to crochet if you are just beginning. I learned when I was like 7, so it is like I have been doing it all of my life. When I taught my girlies I realized just how many steps there really are. 🙂

    Have a wonderful Wednesday, hugs, Robin

    I was surprised it was difficult to teach some of them to crochet. My second daughter took to it like fish to water, so I was thinking it would be easy. NOT 😆

  10. < ![CDATA[That is so cool! A real cotton bale. How cool is that? :mrgreen: It is amazing how not simple it is to crochet if you are just beginning. I learned when I was like 7, so it is like I have been doing it all of my life. When I taught my girlies I realized just how many steps there really are. :) Have a wonderful Wednesday, hugs, Robin I was surprised it was difficult to teach some of them to crochet. My second daughter took to it like fish to water, so I was thinking it would be easy. NOT 😆]]>

  11. Sounds like a neat lesson. I haven’t had much luck teaching my girls to crochet either. My oldest does the chain and my youngest gets bored;)

  12. < ![CDATA[Sounds like a neat lesson. I haven't had much luck teaching my girls to crochet either. My oldest does the chain and my youngest gets bored;)]]>

  13. It’s hard to teach a large group to crochet, much easier to do with just 2-3 at a time. I wish I could have been there to help but it looks like you did good anyway.

    Hey, I’ve tagged you. Go read my blog entry “My Find…Part 2” and find out what you need to do.

    I’ll read your other entries here soon.

    You had better have added what you found. Waiting is not nice, except when it is everyone else doing the waiting. 😉

  14. < ![CDATA[It's hard to teach a large group to crochet, much easier to do with just 2-3 at a time. I wish I could have been there to help but it looks like you did good anyway. Hey, I've tagged you. Go read my blog entry "My Find...Part 2" and find out what you need to do. I'll read your other entries here soon. You had better have added what you found. Waiting is not nice, except when it is everyone else doing the waiting. 😉]]>

Leave a Reply

