Black Vulture

The husband left one day last week and within a few minutes he calls me, “Hey, there are some buzzards in front of the neighbor’s house.  Thought you’d want a picture.”   So we hop in the van and drive two doors down, ok, we were actually on our way to somewhere.    I pull over and slowly got out of the van.  I didn’t want to scare them. The girls kept asking to come out, but I wouldn’t let them because I was afraid the birds would attack.  Ok, that isn’t true, I thought the girls would scare the birds off.  😀

Here is what I found, four buzzards having a late lunch. I could tell that one was the leader, because all the others just stood there and watched while their leader ate a fine squirrel meal. Freshly dead; still warm. You get the picture.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Look at that face! A face only a mother could love.

Photobucket

After I insulted one of the birds. They all just turned their backs to me and walked away. The nerve!!

Photobucket

Well! I just might not take another picture of ugly birds being ugly. They had their chance for some photo opportunties, but they blew it.

I had to look in my book to see what kind of birds these are. They are Black Vultures, 22 to 24 inches, wing span 4’6″. They depend on their vision for find food. I guess they have good eyesight, because that squirrel was in the middle of the road and we have lots of trees around.

Do you think vultures are beautiful?

 

12 responses to “Black Vulture

  1. Yes.

    They also eat nasty road kill. For that, I am grateful.

  2. < ![CDATA[Yes. They also eat nasty road kill. For that, I am grateful.]]>

  3. We don’t have them up here. We have ravens that take care of most of the road kills, of small animals at least, if the local dogs or wolves don’t get to them anyway.

    Personally I think they are ugly birds but what they do is a needed task.

  4. < ![CDATA[We don't have them up here. We have ravens that take care of most of the road kills, of small animals at least, if the local dogs or wolves don't get to them anyway. Personally I think they are ugly birds but what they do is a needed task.]]>

  5. No but I like that they eat road kill.

  6. < ![CDATA[No but I like that they eat road kill.]]>

  7. Buzzards and vultures are very useful. I’m always amazed at how HUGE they are!! What is really impressive: that gorgeous green grass! Is that your yard? It looks like barefoot heaven!!

    I keep meaning to email you back. I found sort-of blogstats. I think that paid accounts are set up differently. Not sure. Nothing says “blogstats” on my dashboard. Hmmmm…. Thank you for your help though!! You rock like KISS!!!

    Blessings,
    Lacy

    That is my neighbor’s yard. They know how to garden. Our yard is brown with weeds. I’ll post a picture of my neighbor’s flower garden later. Oh, and their front yard is the only yard in the neighborhood without any trees. Well, they have some srubs and a few baby pines that they planted.

  8. < ![CDATA[Buzzards and vultures are very useful. I'm always amazed at how HUGE they are!! What is really impressive: that gorgeous green grass! Is that your yard? It looks like barefoot heaven!! I keep meaning to email you back. I found sort-of blogstats. I think that paid accounts are set up differently. Not sure. Nothing says "blogstats" on my dashboard. Hmmmm.... Thank you for your help though!! You rock like KISS!!! Blessings, Lacy That is my neighbor’s yard. They know how to garden. Our yard is brown with weeds. I’ll post a picture of my neighbor’s flower garden later. Oh, and their front yard is the only yard in the neighborhood without any trees. Well, they have some srubs and a few baby pines that they planted. ]]>

  9. LOL! They are gawgeous. 😆 Okay, but they are beautiful in their own way. :mrgreen:

    My internet has been off for a lot of the past several days, hence my slow pokieness in getting to see this.

    We saw two vultures (are they the same thing?) at the Trail of Tears park last year that were the same size.

    Hugs, Robin

  10. < ![CDATA[LOL! They are gawgeous. :lol: Okay, but they are beautiful in their own way. :mrgreen: My internet has been off for a lot of the past several days, hence my slow pokieness in getting to see this. We saw two vultures (are they the same thing?) at the Trail of Tears park last year that were the same size. Hugs, Robin]]>

  11. Wow, it is not everyday that vultures are hanging out in the neighborhood picking up a free meal. I guess I think they are beautiful in a functional way. =)

    Donna you said it the right way, “beautiful in a functional way”. 😀

  12. < ![CDATA[Wow, it is not everyday that vultures are hanging out in the neighborhood picking up a free meal. I guess I think they are beautiful in a functional way. =) Donna you said it the right way, “beautiful in a functional way”. 😀]]>

Leave a Reply

