The fruits of our labor.

After two weeks of planting we finally are able to have a harvest.  It is a wonderful feeling when you finally see fruit from all the labor you put into it.  What?  You don’t think we can have a harvest after two weeks?  Ok, I’m busted.  This harvest is from a plant that grew from a tomato that was thrown out with the garbage.  Some how this little plant grew near our AC units.  Ok, busted again.  There was no labor in it for us, but it is a lovely gift from God. 😀

Back to the harvest. Yesterday one of the girlies said we had a red tomato, so we went out to inspect.   Yep, we have one ready to pick!

 Photobucket

We had the youngest kiddo pick the tomato.

Photobucket

Isn’t it an awesome sight! It does feel good to have something freshly grown from your garden, even though it is a bit small.

Photobucket

The girl wants to make tomato sauce with it. 😆

What’s growing in your garden?

14 responses to “The fruits of our labor.

  1. Weeds

    Weeds? Yes, we have weeds. We have lots of weeds. We thing they are lawn decorations. 😀

  2. < ![CDATA[Weeds Weeds? Yes, we have weeds. We have lots of weeds. We thing they are lawn decorations. 😀]]>

  3. I only have a flower garden, but it is mostly weeds!

    That is a precious picture of the youngest Dd.

    Even though she has grubby fingers? She had been playing in the dirt. 😀

  4. < ![CDATA[I only have a flower garden, but it is mostly weeds! That is a precious picture of the youngest Dd. Even though she has grubby fingers? She had been playing in the dirt. 😀]]>

  5. Too cute! I love that they wanted to make sauce!! 🙂

    Congratulations on the first tomato of summer. Who got to eat it?

    My favorite meal of the year is the first fresh garden salad — from my backyard. Heaven!!

    I came over to tell you that I entered you in the contest with

    *sniff*

    Because you really like red and I really like you — I thought you should be part of the contest. Voting is unlimited (people can vote as many times as they would like). So go cast your vote!! Tell others to vote for your title, too!!!

    Should you win, tell me how many are in your family. If six napkins aren’t enough, I can make a few more.

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    You’re too funny, Lacy. Like anyone would vote for sniff. LOL Thanks though, maybe I will win. Six napkins is just the right amount for us. 😀

  6. < ![CDATA[Too cute! I love that they wanted to make sauce!! :) Congratulations on the first tomato of summer. Who got to eat it? My favorite meal of the year is the first fresh garden salad -- from my backyard. Heaven!! I came over to tell you that I entered you in the contest with *sniff* Because you really like red and I really like you -- I thought you should be part of the contest. Voting is unlimited (people can vote as many times as they would like). So go cast your vote!! Tell others to vote for your title, too!!! Should you win, tell me how many are in your family. If six napkins aren't enough, I can make a few more. Blessings! Lacy You’re too funny, Lacy. Like anyone would vote for sniff. LOL Thanks though, maybe I will win. Six napkins is just the right amount for us. 😀]]>

  7. That is so cute! What a nice little surprise. 🙂

  8. < ![CDATA[That is so cute! What a nice little surprise. :)]]>

  9. What a wonderful gardener you have!!

    Let us know how the sauce turns out. Will there be enough for the boy’s spaghetti?

    Oh, nothing in my garden as it is not time yet for a garden. Though the crop of mosquitoes is growing 🙄

  10. < ![CDATA[What a wonderful gardener you have!! Let us know how the sauce turns out. Will there be enough for the boy's spaghetti? Oh, nothing in my garden as it is not time yet for a garden. Though the crop of mosquitoes is growing :roll:]]>

  11. Awwww! How cute! 😆

    You’re darn tootin’ that you could make tomato sauce with it! Or salsa for that matter.

    For a Barbie doll!! 😆

    I hope you have a wonnderful weekend! :mrgreen:

  12. < ![CDATA[Awwww! How cute! :lol: You're darn tootin' that you could make tomato sauce with it! Or salsa for that matter. For a Barbie doll!! :lol: I hope you have a wonnderful weekend! :mrgreen:]]>

  13. < ![CDATA[How cute!! =)]]>

Leave a Reply

