Dinner Time

Every night one of The Peas (two youngest daughters) has to set the table.  It is usually a huge battle of who’s turn it is.  I try to get them to work together and work it out, but that is not happening just yet.  I will very soon have to change the setting of the table routine, to save my nerves.

Anyhoo, the other night it was my second daughter’s turn to set the table.  I had already started setting some of the food on the table, before she began.  There was a bowl of rice and a bowl of mixed salad there waiting for people to sit down.

After the daughter set the table, I walked to the table to put the final food down and this is what I saw…

 Photobucket

I suddenly forgot all the bickering and had a smile on my face. There is nothing like a child to brighten up your day or evening. 🙂

Just adding: Thanks for all the advice. I don’t need anymore. 🙂

 

26 responses to “Dinner Time

  1. I love that! =) How creative!!

  2. < ![CDATA[I love that! =) How creative!!]]>

  3. Fantastic!

    I’m smiling back.

    Why didn’t you like the detergent? Did you use fabric softener with it? It’s basically the same formula as Purel or Arm & Hammer detergent. I’m curious what happened.

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    It did not clean our clothes well. Of course I have kids and you don’t yet, so maybe it will work for you. Then again, you do work on a dirty farm. LOL

  4. < ![CDATA[Fantastic! I'm smiling back. Why didn't you like the detergent? Did you use fabric softener with it? It's basically the same formula as Purel or Arm & Hammer detergent. I'm curious what happened. Blessings! Lacy It did not clean our clothes well. Of course I have kids and you don’t yet, so maybe it will work for you. Then again, you do work on a dirty farm. LOL]]>

  5. < ![CDATA[That is SO CUTE!!!]]>

  6. How cute.

    I had one set and the other clear.

    That is the arrangement right now and they fight over who does what. I even set the date for them, but it is constant bickering. I warned them and they didn’t listen, so now I am going to do what my parents did to me. They work alone and will take turns doing it all alone. At some point in their lives they will learn it is easier to work together. 😀

  7. < ![CDATA[How cute. I had one set and the other clear. That is the arrangement right now and they fight over who does what. I even set the date for them, but it is constant bickering. I warned them and they didn’t listen, so now I am going to do what my parents did to me. They work alone and will take turns doing it all alone. At some point in their lives they will learn it is easier to work together. 😀]]>

  8. That would put a smile on the snarkiest of people….I know because I have a smile on my face now. =)

  9. < ![CDATA[That would put a smile on the snarkiest of people....I know because I have a smile on my face now. =)]]>

  10. So cute!!!! What a sweetheart!!!

  11. < ![CDATA[So cute!!!! What a sweetheart!!!]]>

  12. That is so funny!!! Very creative and cutsie too!!!

    If you manage to teach your kids how to work well together let me in on your secret. I will send over 5 more for some intense training!!

  13. < ![CDATA[That is so funny!!! Very creative and cutsie too!!! If you manage to teach your kids how to work well together let me in on your secret. I will send over 5 more for some intense training!!]]>

  14. That is so cute!

    You mean to tell me that my two aren’t the only ones who fight over kitchen duties? I am in total shock.

    If you come up with a solution please let me know.

  15. < ![CDATA[That is so cute! You mean to tell me that my two aren't the only ones who fight over kitchen duties? I am in total shock. If you come up with a solution please let me know.]]>

  16. Awwww! How creative and oh-so-cute! :mrgreen:

    I have mine work alone as well if they can’t manage to work together. I agree, they will learn that working together is more fun and also saves time. Mine do like to do dishes together!

    I hope your weekend is going really well, hugs, Robin

  17. < ![CDATA[Awwww! How creative and oh-so-cute! :mrgreen: I have mine work alone as well if they can't manage to work together. I agree, they will learn that working together is more fun and also saves time. Mine do like to do dishes together! I hope your weekend is going really well, hugs, Robin]]>

  18. Thank you for posting about the laundry detergent! We haven’t had a problem with it (mostly because all it really has to do is scrub out dirt). I’m sure that the fabulous combination-stains that children put on clothing would not come out so easily. I wonder what I can add to that formula to make it clean better?? I’m going to have to work on that.

    I’m on it, Michelle. I will figure something out.

    Promise.

    Blessings!

    Lacy

  19. < ![CDATA[Thank you for posting about the laundry detergent! We haven't had a problem with it (mostly because all it really has to do is scrub out dirt). I'm sure that the fabulous combination-stains that children put on clothing would not come out so easily. I wonder what I can add to that formula to make it clean better?? I'm going to have to work on that. I'm on it, Michelle. I will figure something out. Promise. Blessings! Lacy]]>

  20. That is so cute! What a sweetie…when she wants to be!

    Our solution to dining room/kitchen duty has been to have each child on a week long chore….they rotate on Sundays. It has saved my sanity because they are ALWAY S willing to tell me who did it last…I just have to figure out which of the 2 remaining kiddo’s have it next! Dd #3 doesn’t have main chore catagories yet…her time is coming soon!

    That is what I am going to do.

  21. < ![CDATA[That is so cute! What a sweetie...when she wants to be! Our solution to dining room/kitchen duty has been to have each child on a week long chore....they rotate on Sundays. It has saved my sanity because they are ALWAY S willing to tell me who did it last...I just have to figure out which of the 2 remaining kiddo's have it next! Dd #3 doesn't have main chore catagories yet...her time is coming soon! That is what I am going to do.]]>

  22. I’ve a solution to suggest. It works well for us for a multitude of two sibling issues.

    I call it the Even/Odd day solution but it isn’t of my creation.

    I am lucky in that my son was born on an even day and my daughter is born on an odd day.

    So, if it is an even calendar day, my son gets to choose regarding the ‘issue.’ For example, who gets to sit on the big sofa. Or, if he wants to load or unload the dishwasher. Or if he wants to empty the trash or the kitty litter.

    Naturally, if it is an odd numbered calendar day, the daughter gets to choose.

    My friend has adapted this for her family of 4. There are two ‘odd’ children and two ‘even’ children. The two youngest are on call from calendar days 1 – 14 and the two older from 15 – 30. Mom and Dad do the 31st if needed.

    This works with privileges too. For example, I want to only take 1 child to the mall with me and one must stay with Dad, the calendar date places the choice with the child if there are no other factors involved.

    Perhaps you can modify this for you! I do enjoy the choice factor and I’ve noticed that often the child will choose to please their sibling. And that goes along way to bringing a smile to my face much like the dinner plate did to yours!

    Thanks Birdy, but that won’t work for us.

  23. < ![CDATA[I've a solution to suggest. It works well for us for a multitude of two sibling issues. I call it the Even/Odd day solution but it isn't of my creation. I am lucky in that my son was born on an even day and my daughter is born on an odd day. So, if it is an even calendar day, my son gets to choose regarding the 'issue.' For example, who gets to sit on the big sofa. Or, if he wants to load or unload the dishwasher. Or if he wants to empty the trash or the kitty litter. Naturally, if it is an odd numbered calendar day, the daughter gets to choose. My friend has adapted this for her family of 4. There are two 'odd' children and two 'even' children. The two youngest are on call from calendar days 1 - 14 and the two older from 15 - 30. Mom and Dad do the 31st if needed. This works with privileges too. For example, I want to only take 1 child to the mall with me and one must stay with Dad, the calendar date places the choice with the child if there are no other factors involved. Perhaps you can modify this for you! I do enjoy the choice factor and I've noticed that often the child will choose to please their sibling. And that goes along way to bringing a smile to my face much like the dinner plate did to yours! Thanks Birdy, but that won’t work for us.]]>

  24. What do you mean you don’t need any more advice? 😕
    Everyone needs more advice….
    How could you possibly make it through the day w/o any advice from those who know it all anyway!!!

    So here you go, advice from the Far North (as far north as you know anyhow 😀 ) , You tell the Peas and the other 2 that if they don’t shape up and do what you tell them to they’ll have to come up here and start shoveling off Mt McKinley. That’ll shape ’em up!!

    😆

  25. < ![CDATA[What do you mean you don't need any more advice? :???: Everyone needs more advice.... How could you possibly make it through the day w/o any advice from those who know it all anyway!!! So here you go, advice from the Far North (as far north as you know anyhow :D ) , You tell the Peas and the other 2 that if they don't shape up and do what you tell them to they'll have to come up here and start shoveling off Mt McKinley. That'll shape 'em up!! :lol:]]>

Leave a Reply

