Name that bug…

Seriously, I have no idea what this is.  I know it is a Long Beatle, but I can’t find it in my bug book.  Anyone know what it is?  Isn’t it pretty?  It has a nice shiney red back.  😀

Photobucket

Photobucket

Updated to add:   This information came from Donna Young.

Name:  Stictoleptura erythroptera,  no common name.

If it is that aforementioned kind, it is from Czech Republic, parts of Asia, Iran, parts of Europe. Oddly though, it is considered to be a rare beetle in its native areas.

If I find this bug again, I am going to keep it. 🙂

16 responses to “Name that bug…

  1. Even as I saw your blog title on my feed reader, and even as I clicked on it, my brain was screaming…..’don’t click that, don’t click that, don’t click that’.

  2. < ![CDATA[Even as I saw your blog title on my feed reader, and even as I clicked on it, my brain was screaming.....'don't click that, don't click that, don't click that'.]]>

  3. It is very pretty! I have no earthly idea what it is though. There are so many beetles in the world!

    Blessings!

    Lacy

  4. < ![CDATA[It is very pretty! I have no earthly idea what it is though. There are so many beetles in the world! Blessings! Lacy]]>

  5. Good Morning Michelle. That beetle resembles the non-native “Stictoleptura erythroptera.” I don’t know what it is though. It’s a pretty one. =)

    Thanks Donna. I looked it up and it said “no common name”. I couldn’t find out anything else either, like where it came from. You are right about it being non-native. I wonder how it got here. I knew I should have kept it, but didn’t. 😦 I’ll keep my eyeballs open for another one. You could tell it was very confused, because it kept walking up and down our porch screen. 😆

  6. < ![CDATA[Good Morning Michelle. That beetle resembles the non-native "Stictoleptura erythroptera." I don't know what it is though. It's a pretty one. =) Thanks Donna. I looked it up and it said “no common name”. I couldn’t find out anything else either, like where it came from. You are right about it being non-native. I wonder how it got here. I knew I should have kept it, but didn’t. 😦 I’ll keep my eyeballs open for another one. You could tell it was very confused, because it kept walking up and down our porch screen. 😆 ]]>

  7. Poor confused bug. 😉

    If it is that aforementioned kind, it is from Czech Republic, parts of Asia, Iran, parts of Europe. Oddly though, it is considered to be a rare beetle in its native areas.

  8. < ![CDATA[Poor confused bug. ;) If it is that aforementioned kind, it is from Czech Republic, parts of Asia, Iran, parts of Europe. Oddly though, it is considered to be a rare beetle in its native areas.]]>

  9. Hmm.. I am not a bug person, but he is kind of pretty. I think that his color would make a really pretty dress. 🙂

  10. < ![CDATA[Hmm.. I am not a bug person, but he is kind of pretty. I think that his color would make a really pretty dress. :)]]>

  11. Poor Tanya,
    I don’t see any bug at all.

  12. < ![CDATA[Poor Tanya, I don't see any bug at all.]]>

  13. Bugs are way cool. As long as they are outside. 😆

    I love the color on that one! Did you ever find out what kind of beetle it is?

    Hugs, Robin

  14. < ![CDATA[Bugs are way cool. As long as they are outside. :lol: I love the color on that one! Did you ever find out what kind of beetle it is? Hugs, Robin]]>

  15. Well, now that I can see the picture I think that the common name for it should be ‘Red Heart’ as the first picture looks like the bug has a heart on it’s back.

    It’s probably a spy from the Iranians for terrorist activity. :nods:

  16. < ![CDATA[Well, now that I can see the picture I think that the common name for it should be 'Red Heart' as the first picture looks like the bug has a heart on it's back. It's probably a spy from the Iranians for terrorist activity. :nods:]]>

Leave a Reply

