Homeschool Conventions

This weekend Sir Husband and I will be going to the annual Homeschool Convention in Orlando.  There are two in our state, but we only attend the one in Orlando. 

There will be lots of wonderful lectures and lots and lots of wonderful books to look at and sniff.  Homeschoolers understand sniffing.  🙂    The amount of information and resources available at conventions may cause many homeschoolers to have hives and itch all over.  The lack of oxygen going to the brain, after you see the miles of vendors, may cause major stress.  To fight against these unwanted attacks, I suggest a few quiet evenings with chocolate and a plan before the convention.  Chocolate during and after the convention helps also.

To help you plan, Donna Young has come up with (Surviving) The Curriculum Fair.  She has forms for the Battle Plan and for Goals.  These forms will help you control those hives and ease your breathing so that your brain can absorb the much needed oxygen.  Unfortunately, there is no help with the sniffing.  It is just an uncontrollable reaction we homeschoolers have. 

I hope this bit of information will help you.  Next stop, my Battle Plan. 😀

 

 

16 responses to “Homeschool Conventions

  1. I will readily concur that chocolate helps everything.

    While you are there, would you please sniff some Apologia Physical Science books for me.

  2. < ![CDATA[I will readily concur that chocolate helps everything. While you are there, would you please sniff some Apologia Physical Science books for me.]]>

  3. You brave, brave woman.
    I wish I could go with you. It is too much for my brain this year;) Hopefully hubby can help with calm the sniffing. I can’t wait to read about what you learn.
    (((hugs)))

  4. < ![CDATA[You brave, brave woman. I wish I could go with you. It is too much for my brain this year;) Hopefully hubby can help with calm the sniffing. I can't wait to read about what you learn. (((hugs)))]]>

  5. I’m going to have to go to one of those conventions someday. I just don’t know if my immune system is up to it. Hives? Oxygen deprivation? I don’t know. Maybe it’s all the sniffing that goes on. If I can just keep my nose to myself, I’ll probably be okay.

    Nah. I’m a homeschooler. I sniff. It’s who I am.

  6. < ![CDATA[I'm going to have to go to one of those conventions someday. I just don't know if my immune system is up to it. Hives? Oxygen deprivation? I don't know. Maybe it's all the sniffing that goes on. If I can just keep my nose to myself, I'll probably be okay. Nah. I'm a homeschooler. I sniff. It's who I am.]]>

  7. I wish we were closer, I’d love to attend “The BIG Convention”. I will be going to the very small “convention” in Pensacola in August.

    Have fun sniffing & learning & sniffing & chocolate eathing!

  8. < ![CDATA[I wish we were closer, I'd love to attend "The BIG Convention". I will be going to the very small "convention" in Pensacola in August. Have fun sniffing & learning & sniffing & chocolate eathing!]]>

  9. Ah. Sniffing. My kids think I am weird. I am glad that you guys understand.

    I love the FPEA convention. I can’t imagine any other convention being as cool as that one. So, I am not going to go. So, there.

  10. < ![CDATA[Ah. Sniffing. My kids think I am weird. I am glad that you guys understand. I love the FPEA convention. I can't imagine any other convention being as cool as that one. So, I am not going to go. So, there.]]>

  11. Have a great time. One day I will go to convention in Ohio but not for awhile yet. As for sniffing, I got to do that last week when my Sonlight order came and today when my Rainbow order came.

  12. < ![CDATA[Have a great time. One day I will go to convention in Ohio but not for awhile yet. As for sniffing, I got to do that last week when my Sonlight order came and today when my Rainbow order came.]]>

  13. Chocolate and wine… *smiles*

    Hang in there!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

  14. < ![CDATA[Chocolate and wine... *smiles* Hang in there! Blessings! Lacy]]>

  15. I wish I could go to your convention.

    I’m so relieved that Sir Husband is going with you. He can catch you should you swoon from book sniffing.

    I don’t know. He may just let me fall. Last year he bought me a huge box of pencils to sniff. Isn’t he thoughtful. 😀

  16. < ![CDATA[I wish I could go to your convention. I'm so relieved that Sir Husband is going with you. He can catch you should you swoon from book sniffing. I don’t know. He may just let me fall. Last year he bought me a huge box of pencils to sniff. Isn’t he thoughtful. 😀]]>

Leave a Reply

