Back in the garden.

I got up real early, one day last week, to weed the garden. I wanted to get out there before the sun came up and before the kids demanded to be fed. I didn’t want them to panic and think their mother had left them forever without feeding them first so, I posted a note on the T.V. and on the refrigerator. πŸ˜€

At first I was not wanting to weed. I knew it would take me all day to weed the entire garden. Yep, I let it go weedy. I just couldn’t keep up with it. So, I went looking for the hoe, rake, whatever I could find to help me. While looking around I found the TROUPER. Yep, I thought, it’s going to be a trouper and get those weeds out. Much better than a hoe, says I. Here is the TROUPER.

Photobucket

The TROUPER is used for scraping/clearing a grassy area. It takes away the grass and leaves the dirt. I’m thinking what a great tool to use for the rows between the plants! I was right and it worked like a trouper. I got a lot of the weeds out, but not near enough. I have to get back out there again tomorrow morning and work for another couple of hours. The husband is going to buy pine to put between the rows for weed control. Other than that I need to get the slave girls out there to help.

Anyhoo, here is the garden. You can see there are lots more weeds to remove, especially in the front area, where there are no plants.

Photobucket

We have harvested six Tommie Toes, three grape tomatoes, two hot peppers, and three squashes so far. πŸ™‚ We think something is eating our zucchini. Maybe it is one of these!

Photobucket

Now for the last picture. This proves that I did work in the garden.

Photobucket

Got dirt?

16 responses to “Back in the garden.

  1. Hasta la vista weedie.

  2. < ![CDATA[Hasta la vista weedie.]]>

  3. OK, I concede that you did actually work in the garden but I think you need to have someone taking pictures of you actually doing the work.

    This should be someone impartial, not bribeable….hmmmm I wonder who would want to go to Florida to do this task? πŸ˜•

  4. < ![CDATA[OK, I concede that you did actually work in the garden but I think you need to have someone taking pictures of you actually doing the work. This should be someone impartial, not bribeable....hmmmm I wonder who would want to go to Florida to do this task? :???:]]>

  5. I love being in the garden! My day begins with feeding all the animals and then tending to my garden. I can’t think of a better way to start the day!

    Love the post!

    Lacy

  6. < ![CDATA[I love being in the garden! My day begins with feeding all the animals and then tending to my garden. I can't think of a better way to start the day! Love the post! Lacy]]>

  7. That’s a cool tool Applie…. πŸ™‚

    Don’t cha just love getting down into the dirt. You definitely looked like you and your knees did a lot of weeding…..I stole um mean borrowed my daughter’s volleyball knee pad to use when I have to do knee work. They are just the right paddedness with out cutting off the circulation and they wash well……

  8. < ![CDATA[That's a cool tool Applie.... :-) Don't cha just love getting down into the dirt. You definitely looked like you and your knees did a lot of weeding.....I stole um mean borrowed my daughter's volleyball knee pad to use when I have to do knee work. They are just the right paddedness with out cutting off the circulation and they wash well......]]>

  9. Yep! You were working hard at it!!!

    That looks like a cool tool!

  10. < ![CDATA[Yep! You were working hard at it!!! That looks like a cool tool!]]>

  11. Looks like you have been working hard. I hope the zucchini stealer leaves some for your family.

  12. < ![CDATA[Looks like you have been working hard. I hope the zucchini stealer leaves some for your family.]]>

  13. You have DH favorite tool! We call it the Hula-Hoe. I don’t know why. We must have a half dozen around. They make fast work of weeds as long a the soil is fairly …. not compacted. We actuallly don’t have any other kind of hoes. I am going to be really jealous when you start really harvesting your tomatoes! Nothing like love and home grown tomatoes.

  14. < ![CDATA[You have DH favorite tool! We call it the Hula-Hoe. I don't know why. We must have a half dozen around. They make fast work of weeds as long a the soil is fairly .... not compacted. We actuallly don't have any other kind of hoes. I am going to be really jealous when you start really harvesting your tomatoes! Nothing like love and home grown tomatoes.]]>

  15. You should buy a roll of that rabbit keeper-outer stuff. We’re going to get some for our new, larger garden behind the chain link fence that we are going to work on over the summer for next year. I won’t lose my veggies to silly rodents if I can help it!

    My feet/legs have looked like that for a month now. πŸ˜† Except yours are skinnier. πŸ˜†

    Hugs, Robin

  16. < ![CDATA[You should buy a roll of that rabbit keeper-outer stuff. We're going to get some for our new, larger garden behind the chain link fence that we are going to work on over the summer for next year. I won't lose my veggies to silly rodents if I can help it! My feet/legs have looked like that for a month now. :lol: Except yours are skinnier. :lol: Hugs, Robin]]>

Leave a Reply

