What kind of worms are these?

Photobucket

These ugly things are on my tomato plants. I can’t find out what they are. I sprayed this afternoon, but it rained, so I am sure I’ll have to do more tomorrow. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get rid of them? 🙂

28 responses to “What kind of worms are these?

  1. Yuck! Are thsy bag worms? Did they have a web type thingy?

    No, and they are very tiny.

  2. < ![CDATA[Yuck! Are thsy bag worms? Did they have a web type thingy? No, and they are very tiny.]]>

  3. We had those last year – I’m pretty sure they’re cabbage loopers. They’re pretty under the microscope! We didn’t have nearly that many, so I just picked them off with my fingers and squished them. 🙂

  4. < ![CDATA[We had those last year - I'm pretty sure they're cabbage loopers. They're pretty under the microscope! We didn't have nearly that many, so I just picked them off with my fingers and squished them. :)]]>

  5. They are hideous worms and you buy some chickens to eat them for you.

    In other words….I have no clue.

  6. < ![CDATA[They are hideous worms and you buy some chickens to eat them for you. In other words....I have no clue.]]>

  7. They are gross worms! YUCK!

  8. < ![CDATA[They are gross worms! YUCK!]]>

  9. I’ve never seen those worms before. Maybe most of them died when you sprayed. I’d check tomorrow and pick off any survivors if there are not too many to pick off. You could drop them in a container for later disposal or just kill them right there.

    While at it, look for egg cases. They would be tiny little balls or oval shaped things stuck to your plants. If you see any squash them. I’m currently on egg case patrol on my beans.

    I went out this morning and found only two hanging from a thread. They’re gone. They are so small, I may have missed them. They are the same color as the leaves. I checked all the tomato plants and couldn’t find anymore, but found every color of aphids, white flies, some eggs, and a funny looking spider. I don’t know if the spider is good or not; I’ll have to search. One spider web had an aphid stuck in it, so I left it. I’ll spray again tomorrow. We are expecting some heavy rains this afternoon. Thanks for the help.

  10. < ![CDATA[I've never seen those worms before. Maybe most of them died when you sprayed. I'd check tomorrow and pick off any survivors if there are not too many to pick off. You could drop them in a container for later disposal or just kill them right there. While at it, look for egg cases. They would be tiny little balls or oval shaped things stuck to your plants. If you see any squash them. I'm currently on egg case patrol on my beans. I went out this morning and found only two hanging from a thread. They’re gone. They are so small, I may have missed them. They are the same color as the leaves. I checked all the tomato plants and couldn’t find anymore, but found every color of aphids, white flies, some eggs, and a funny looking spider. I don’t know if the spider is good or not; I’ll have to search. One spider web had an aphid stuck in it, so I left it. I’ll spray again tomorrow. We are expecting some heavy rains this afternoon. Thanks for the help. ]]>

  11. Or they might be western yellowstriped armyworms. Cool name, right?

  12. < ![CDATA[Or they might be western yellowstriped armyworms. Cool name, right?]]>

  13. The only thing I can think of is tomato fruitworm, but if that is what they are, you have found them at a very early stage. I’ve not been able to find images of them at an early instar stage. They do eat leaves, but later they will eat your tomatoes and buds – if that is what they are.

    The scientific name is Helicoverpa zea and they are also known as corn earworm. If this is what they are, they feed on a huge assortment of plants, including trees.

    Donna, I thought they were fruitworms or tomato hookworms, but I can’t find any photo of them at this stage. So, I am still not sure what they are.

  14. < ![CDATA[The only thing I can think of is tomato fruitworm, but if that is what they are, you have found them at a very early stage. I've not been able to find images of them at an early instar stage. They do eat leaves, but later they will eat your tomatoes and buds - if that is what they are. The scientific name is Helicoverpa zea and they are also known as corn earworm. If this is what they are, they feed on a huge assortment of plants, including trees. Donna, I thought they were fruitworms or tomato hookworms, but I can’t find any photo of them at this stage. So, I am still not sure what they are.]]>

  15. maybe they are caterpillars?

  16. < ![CDATA[maybe they are caterpillars?]]>

  17. Are they ugly worms? Or tomato eating worms?

    And I can’t believe that Melanie squished them in her fingers! That is soo gross!

    Yes, they are ugly. I don’t know if they eat tomatoes, but they are eating the leaves. I squished all kinds of aphids, eggs, and other things with my fingers this morning. It was yucky.

  18. < ![CDATA[Are they ugly worms? Or tomato eating worms? And I can't believe that Melanie squished them in her fingers! That is soo gross! Yes, they are ugly. I don’t know if they eat tomatoes, but they are eating the leaves. I squished all kinds of aphids, eggs, and other things with my fingers this morning. It was yucky.]]>

  19. Did you get some Sevin?

    Couldn’t find it. I got something else.

  20. < ![CDATA[Did you get some Sevin? Couldn’t find it. I got something else.]]>

  21. Hope the rain washes the ones that are left away.

  22. < ![CDATA[Hope the rain washes the ones that are left away.]]>

  23. I spray my tomatoes with hot sauce (I get it at Sam’s Club in bulk) and we have chickens. I haven’t seen a bug or worm since. I would remove any chewed up leaves and critters, spray the plant with hot sauce, and start thinking about getting a chicken or two. Netting can be good too.

    Hope that helps!
    Lacy

    I want chickens, but the hubs won’t build me a coop. 😦 I was going to make the soap spray; I haven’t heard of using hot sauce.

  24. < ![CDATA[I spray my tomatoes with hot sauce (I get it at Sam's Club in bulk) and we have chickens. I haven't seen a bug or worm since. I would remove any chewed up leaves and critters, spray the plant with hot sauce, and start thinking about getting a chicken or two. Netting can be good too. Hope that helps! Lacy I want chickens, but the hubs won’t build me a coop. 😦 I was going to make the soap spray; I haven’t heard of using hot sauce. ]]>

  25. Sounds like you got some good advice about the worms. Maybe let hubby know that you can get fresh eggs from chickens and they’ll take care of the bugs in the garden, they also produce good garden food….

    Now for what I was going to reply when I first saw the photo:
    Where did you get that hat? Did you do some fancy embroidery? Why are you trying to scare some of your readers?

    It took a bit for me to realize that you actually had a picture of worms on a leaf and those were your fingers underneath and not some pink yarn (I know that should have given it away since you don’t like pink but hey I’ve barely had a cup of coffee yet and I got woken up way too early to be thinking straight anyway)

    So now that I’ve given you a good laugh I’ll go back to reading blogs and eating breakfast.

  26. < ![CDATA[Sounds like you got some good advice about the worms. Maybe let hubby know that you can get fresh eggs from chickens and they'll take care of the bugs in the garden, they also produce good garden food.... Now for what I was going to reply when I first saw the photo: Where did you get that hat? Did you do some fancy embroidery? Why are you trying to scare some of your readers? It took a bit for me to realize that you actually had a picture of worms on a leaf and those were your fingers underneath and not some pink yarn (I know that should have given it away since you don't like pink but hey I've barely had a cup of coffee yet and I got woken up way too early to be thinking straight anyway) So now that I've given you a good laugh I'll go back to reading blogs and eating breakfast.]]>

  27. My hubs calls them “cut worms”. We use Sevin dust.
    Also we keep our raised beds moist and that lessens the amount of bugs we had to contend with.

  28. < ![CDATA[My hubs calls them "cut worms". We use Sevin dust. Also we keep our raised beds moist and that lessens the amount of bugs we had to contend with.]]>

Leave a Reply

