Fruit Smoothie

Sir Husband, bought a Vita-Mix for me a little while ago. Ever since I got it, I have been trying some new things. One of the things I have done regularly is make smoothies. Here is what I did today. 🙂 I have no recipe, just threw these things in.

Water
Six organic spinach leaves (shh, kids won’t eat spinach)
1 1/2 bananas (not frozen)
Frozen strawberries (I don’t have fresh ones)
Frozen blueberries (shhh, kids won’t eat blueberries)
White sugar; very little (I know! Bad stuff, but I am about out of honey)

Photobucket

Mix up real good

Photobucket

 and serve in fun ice cream cups that you got for less than 50 cents after last summer was over.
Photobucket

Watch kids, who don’t eat blueberries or spinach, devour this smoothie.

PS:  The husband came home and forced me to make him one.  So I did the same thing as above, but added honey and a large plop of fat free plain yogurt. 

PSS: Don’t tell the husband I took a bite of the banana before I put it in the blender.  We’ll just keep that a secret, ok?

PSSS:  Don’t tell him I had a chest freeze when I ate my smoothie.  He’ll just remind me that I don’t get brain freezes because you can’t freeze space. 

Want to learn more? Go here.  Just keep in mind, almost anything goes. 🙂

Update:  Sir Husband announced yesterday that he froze his chest and has declared he has lost his brain.

15 responses to “Fruit Smoothie

  1. tessofthebellgrades

    Don’t tell him I had a chest freezes when I ate my smoothie. He’ll just remind me that I don’t get brain freeze because you can’t freeze space.

    Oh, so that’s why that happens? *giggles* Apparently I am air head too. (I don’t get brain freeze either, I think it’s because my brain is smart enough to regulate it’s own temperature, thereby avoiding the freeze 😉 if only my chest were that smart…..)

    Regulate its own temperature. LOL I like that. I’ll have to remember that one. The husband says my chest freezes because I have a lot to freeze. 🙄

  2. tessofthebellgrades

    Oh man I really am AN air head….typo’s much? Me has good grammar.

  3. 😎

    I won’t ‘say’ a word 😉

  4. Smoothie sounds good! My SIL puts celery in them.

    Everything I have come up with to say comes out wrong so I’m going with Elaine on this one.
    Enough said!!!!

  5. Be right over – I love smoothies! I’ll bring some fresh strawberries, but hold the spinach . 🙂

    I’ll make you one! Just don’t watch while I make it. 😀

  6. Thanks for the tip I’ll have to try hiding spinach in my smoothies.

  7. We watched a VM Demo where the guy used spinach & mint flavoring to make Mint Ice Cream. It was “wunerful!” I’ll have to try your recipe.

  8. ok guess I’ll have to pull my VM out and start using it. I have fresh rhubarb in my garden, but DH wants a pie today.

  9. I would love to have a Vitamix. Ever since my sister made N a smoothie he has been bugging me about it.

  10. Oh, I forgot to say, your smoothie looks delicious.

  11. I won’t tell on you. Nope. But I require a smoothie for my silence. Pay up.

    🙂

    My designer/computer genius friend will be emailing you. His name is Carl and he’s super! He’ll help you. Ask him TONS of questions and get ready to be amazed!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

  12. Yummy! Your secrets are safe with me and my swiss cheese memory.

    Do you like the container design? Is it easy to clean? Do solidly frozen hard things like ice get completely pulverized? My square design container has minor issues with those two points.

    I need to freeze some coffee so I can make coffee smoothies. =)

    Yes, I like it a lot. I just run very hot water and a drop of soap in the blender at high speed for several minutes. I did pulverize some cooked beans the other night, that I had to sponge clean, but it was easy. The strawberries were frozen solid, like rock hard, and every one was pulverized. There wasn’t a chunk of anything in there. I wanted two things out of this blender. That it would pulverize ice and frozen fruits, and pulverize blueberry skins. My old blender could not do either of those. So, yes, I am very happy with it. 🙂

    Coffee smoothies sound good, with lots of chocolate and sugar, of course. I wonder if Tea smoothies would be good. 😆

  13. tessofthebellgrades

    Sir Husband maybe onto something there about the freezy chest. I am overblessed in that area myself. (My sisters get mad at me, saying I hogged all those genes, but they hogged all the tall so I figure we’re even 😉 )

    LOL

  14. I was gifted with a big container of strawberries today. Can you guess what I’ll be having in the morning?

    Wish I was gifted with some strawberries. 🙂 Glad you were.

  15. Thank you for answering my questions Michelle. =) My square vitamix container sometimes leaves one hunk of ice. If I use the spigot, the ice cube doesn’t matter, but the spigot is the hard item to clean in mine and I keep it closed with a cork. LOL

    A tea smoothy might be good. I make my coffee smoothies with double-strength coffee frozen into cubes, maybe that’d work with tea. They could be slushies.

    Donna, you might have that problem because your mixer isn’t red. 😀 Red ones work better, you know.

Leave a Reply

