Let them eat cake!

My youngest is turning seven tomorrow.  Last year for her birthday party, she requested a Little Mermaid Princess party.  I paid a hefty price for a sheet cake with a few Little Mermaid toys thrown on top.  This year, I figured I could either buy her a cake for her birthday present or bake her a cake and buy her a bike with the money I save. 

I found this cake at Family Fun.  Well, that looks easy enough.  So, I set out and bought three boxes of cake mix, because the recipe calls for five 8″ square cakes and seven cups (you heard me) of white icing. 

After baking two of the boxes, I discovered another layer to the cake would be ridiculously high.  So, the final cake will be three layers high, with two layers for the tower on top.  A friend told me to ice the cake with a layer of icing and let it set for one hour.  This is called the crumb layer. After that ice the cake and you won’t have any crumbs showing.

As you can see, it didn’t work well for me.  I may have gotten the wrong information about the “crumb layer”, so I won’t tell you Chocolatechic who shared this with me.

I finally got all the layers together and even after fighting all the crumbs, that were not suppose to show, I got the tower put on too.  Icing the sugar cones became a chore and I found out after the first cone, that it was easier to spread the icing with my fingers after I licked my fingers.  😀  Just kidding; spread icing with clean fingers.  Then I sprinkled the pink sugar all over.  Below is the final cake.   Try not to notice the crumbs that CC said would not be there.  

I did not use the toothpicks with the flags on the end for a couple of reasons.   I didn’t have any toothpicks, all tape to attach flags to toothpicks had been consumed by my second daughter, and I was sick of working on the cake.

It turns out that my daughter loved the cake and helped me put the Good&Plenty candies on.  She didn’t even mind that there were crumbs, that CC said would not be there.

I am pretty sure that if I was asked to make this cake again, I would say, “Let’s not and say we did.”

30 responses to “Let them eat cake!

  1. I like your cake, the labor of love!! You did a good thing, look at your girl’s grin, she just loves it! =)

  2. < ![CDATA[I like your cake, the labor of love!! You did a good thing, look at your girl's grin, she just loves it! =)]]>

  3. It’s adorable! 😀

    My goodness, Applie, how much icing did you put between those layers?! 😯

    Uh, 3/4 pounds of butter, several squirts of vanilla, 4 pounds of powedered sugar. Or there abouts. :mrgreen:

  4. < ![CDATA[It's adorable! :D My goodness, Applie, how much icing did you put between those layers?! :shock: Uh, 3/4 pounds of butter, several squirts of vanilla, 4 pounds of powedered sugar. Or there abouts. :mrgreen: ]]>

  5. Oh, but its beautiful and just look at that happy face! I’d say it was worth the trouble. And don’t feel too badly about the crumbs, that takes practice and this is your first princess house cake, right?? 😀

    Love
    Sylvia

    I don’t feel too bad about the crumbs. I have to give Chocolatechic a hard time. 😀

  6. < ![CDATA[Oh, but its beautiful and just look at that happy face! I'd say it was worth the trouble. And don't feel too badly about the crumbs, that takes practice and this is your first princess house cake, right?? :D Love Sylvia I don’t feel too bad about the crumbs. I have to give Chocolatechic a hard time. 😀]]>

  7. I said an hour or 2, or until the icing got hard. Generally decorator icing gets “crusty” after an hour or so.

    I forgot that you live in humidity land. Sorry it didn’t work for you.

    I wasn’t really blaming you. I figured it was “just because”; however, I am still going to blame you. 😀

  8. < ![CDATA[I said an hour or 2, or until the icing got hard. Generally decorator icing gets "crusty" after an hour or so. I forgot that you live in humidity land. Sorry it didn't work for you. I wasn’t really blaming you. I figured it was “just because”; however, I am still going to blame you. 😀 ]]>

  9. It looks awsome, Applie. You did a great job. I might have to do one like that for dd#2’s birthday this year.

  10. < ![CDATA[It looks awsome, Applie. You did a great job. I might have to do one like that for dd#2's birthday this year.]]>

  11. It is adorable! 😀

    A great product to buy, that greatly reduces the crumbs on your cake, is Wilton Cake Release. I make cakes in the character and 3-d cake pans, sometimes I sell them, I love the cake release stuff! It works!

  12. < ![CDATA[It is adorable! :D A great product to buy, that greatly reduces the crumbs on your cake, is Wilton Cake Release. I make cakes in the character and 3-d cake pans, sometimes I sell them, I love the cake release stuff! It works!]]>

  13. Oh Applie…you did a great job on the cake….and the crumbs just add character to the castle….

    Besides the smile on the face next to the cake…she won’t remember your crumbs… 🙂

    You’ve given her such a great memory….

  14. < ![CDATA[Oh Applie...you did a great job on the cake....and the crumbs just add character to the castle.... Besides the smile on the face next to the cake...she won't remember your crumbs... :-) You've given her such a great memory....]]>

  15. The cake looks great. And the crumbs just make it look more vintage. Like a castle is suppose to look. You dd looks extremely happy about it.

  16. < ![CDATA[The cake looks great. And the crumbs just make it look more vintage. Like a castle is suppose to look. You dd looks extremely happy about it.]]>

  17. The main thing is she liked it-my cakes never look right-but that doesn’t hurt the taste right?

  18. < ![CDATA[The main thing is she liked it-my cakes never look right-but that doesn't hurt the taste right?]]>

  19. Aren’t cakes so much fun to make? I’m a pie fan when it comes to actually eating desserts but cakes are just a blast to create!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

  20. < ![CDATA[Aren't cakes so much fun to make? I'm a pie fan when it comes to actually eating desserts but cakes are just a blast to create! Blessings! Lacy]]>

  21. I would have thought that you’d put the cake in the fridge after putting on the thin layer of icing so that it would set up.

    I’m with the others, your girls face tells the tale – the cake is just what she wanted, full of love.

    I’ve heard recently that desserts shouldn’t look ‘perfect’ or people won’t want to eat them.

    The castle has character and I’ve never seen an all white real castle that wasn’t part of some animated film.

  22. < ![CDATA[I would have thought that you'd put the cake in the fridge after putting on the thin layer of icing so that it would set up. I'm with the others, your girls face tells the tale - the cake is just what she wanted, full of love. I've heard recently that desserts shouldn't look 'perfect' or people won't want to eat them. The castle has character and I've never seen an all white real castle that wasn't part of some animated film.]]>

  23. It is beautiful as is your daughter’s smile. So very worth it I would guess. I think you should make it again. So how did the rest of the party go?

  24. < ![CDATA[It is beautiful as is your daughter's smile. So very worth it I would guess. I think you should make it again. So how did the rest of the party go?]]>

  25. As long as the birthday girl is happy with it, who cares if there are crumbs on the icing, right?

  26. < ![CDATA[As long as the birthday girl is happy with it, who cares if there are crumbs on the icing, right?]]>

  27. Thanks for visiting my site. Well done on the cake! It looks lovely and I’m sure that your daughter will always remember it! Once again, good job!

    Allie
    Learningtobefrugal.wordpress.com

  28. < ![CDATA[Thanks for visiting my site. Well done on the cake! It looks lovely and I'm sure that your daughter will always remember it! Once again, good job! Allie Learningtobefrugal.wordpress.com]]>

  29. Thanks everyone for your nice comments. Yes, the now seven year old, loved the cake. Another birthday is coming up in September, so maybe I’ll make something else. Maybe something, not so high. 🙂

  30. < ![CDATA[Thanks everyone for your nice comments. Yes, the now seven year old, loved the cake. Another birthday is coming up in September, so maybe I'll make something else. Maybe something, not so high. :)]]>

Leave a Reply

