Up to the top of the Gateway Arch (picture heavy)

The Gateway Arch Part 1

During 1867-1874 a man by the name of James Buchanan Eads, built the Eads bridge that spans the Mississippi River in St. Louis, MO.  It was the first bridge to span the Mississippi and it is a beautiful one too.  Here is a close up of part of the bridge.

close up of bridge

A beauty, isn’t it? You can find more information on this bridge here.

The bridge was to give back to St. Louis an economic edge over Chicago. More and more people were heading over to Chicago and St. Louis needed to do something about that. So they built a bridge. 🙂
Now you are probably wondering what does this have to do with the arch. Well, the design of the arch was copied from the arches in the bridge.

Ok, so now you know that little bit of history. You should read more about that bridge, very interesting. Back to the top of the arch.

We reach the top and look out of iddy-biddy windows. It’s a good thing everyone else was also looking out the windows and not paying attention to all the butts sticking out. Just had to say that.

looking out the window

Here is the very center of the arch; 630 feet up. How would you like to be on top, putting everything together? The margin of error that was accepted to make both sides meet was 1/164th of an inch. You can read all about it here.

At the top

This is what you see on one side. A flooded Mississippi.

flooded Missippi

And this is what you see on the other side. The Cardinals baseball field. They were practicing. 🙂

Cardinals

You can also see the city of St. Louis and the Eads bridge and all those teeny-tiny people below.

If there is a nice breeze outside, you can feel the arch sway. Which is pretty cool. We couldn’t feel it this time. Bummer.

The floor of the arch is not flat. It is curved. I wanted to show you a picture of it, but couldn’t get a good shot. So here is a shot of us leaving. The camera is pointing straight ahead and you can see the family below.

going down

Now we are heading back down, down, down….

Here is the family looking up to the arch from the ground level.

Looking up

And this is what I saw looking straight up.

arch 1

This last shot is a street going under the bridge. The height limit is 12’2″, but as you can see only about 4 feet is above the water.

flood

We didn’t go that way. 😀

More on our trip up north coming sometime in my future and possibly yours too.

 

14 responses to “Up to the top of the Gateway Arch (picture heavy)

  1. It was swaying when I went, it was actually kind of freaky.

    I liked that feeling. LOL I was bummed that the kids didn’t get to feel it this time. 😦

    chocolatechics last blog post..July 29

  2. FUN! You are showing me that we NEED to take the kids there on our next trip to visit the IL’s.

    missplacedalaskans last blog post..Nothing~

  3. Not sure I will go on the Arch if ever we visit St. Louis – fear of heights for me though the family will probably love it. If I do go I’ll be hoping it’s not a windy day.

    Elaines last blog post..Twosey Tuesday #2

  4. Yep, freaky….just like CC said. :shudder:

    Sheris last blog post..Twosey Tuesday #4

  5. Cool! I loved visiting St Louis thru you. I want to go there sometime. But I dont know if I will be able to handle going up in the arch.

    I am shuddering right along with Sheri !!

    You sissies!

    Kaths last blog post..Neglect…….

  6. I think I just got vertigo just from reading your post. and I had no idea that you could go up in it. way cool!

    peggyanns last blog post..From Down Under lived a little Puff…

  7. Hiya Miss Applie! :mrgreen:

    I’m back! I’m back! Details at 10:00 p.m. Or on my blog. 😀

    Your trip to St. Louis looks like it was a blast! And you even got photos of your son. And his whole head is in the picture! 😆

    So glad to “see” you again! I missed you! Hugs, Robin

    About time you got back on here. 😀 I’ll check out you blog later tonight, we are going out today. I have missed you. 🙂

  8. The view from the top is really something! 8) The river shot from the top makes me feel dizzy just from looking at the picture!

    😀 I am going to post some 1984 pictures, from the (almost) same spots, later this week. Just found them last night. LOL

  9. ok, well if it is a nice non windy day it will be fine.

    MichielleRoses last blog post..Yet another busy day in the CelticMuse house.

  10. That is one fantastic field trip but I’ll stay away from that bridge, thanks. Bridges freak me out.

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    Razor Family Farmss last blog post..An Unexpected Basket of Blessings

  11. Very amazing bridge. I terrified of heights-but I still enjoyed your post!

    Tippers last blog post..Down The Creek

  12. I have become a sissy!!

  13. *GASP* It’s, it’s, it’s . . . the Young Man! Be still my heart!

    I know, shocking! This may be the last photo for a couple of years.

    How fun! My kids are jealous. When we drove through the area a few years ago, we skipped the arch and made them go to Cahokia instead. JellyMan still hasn’t forgiven me, especially since reading the Percy Jackson books. 😀

    You’re mean.

  14. I also wanted to let you know that you can enter to win a free subscription to GRIT magazine right now… Go to the contests tab on my site.

    Razor Family Farmss last blog post..FREE GRIT SUBSCRIPTION! A NEW Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

