The Hunter

About a week ago, my son yells “Hey Mom! Come look at this huge bug!”  Which is weird because he can’t stand insects. So, I did what all good moms do, grabbed my camera and ran out the door.

It was trapped in my porch, it was huge, it was pretty, it was mad.  It walked and buzzed and buzzed and walked on my screen, trying to get away.  Then I got mad because it wouldn’t sit still for a good picture.

 Photobucket

It was time to bring him inside. I got a large mason jar and went back out to capture the creature. I needed a better view, you know. The young man didn’t like that idea at all. After capturing it, I looked it up and found out that it was a Hunter Wasp. It is also know as the Cicada Killer Wasp. It is Florida’s biggest wasp. Pretty, isn’t it? They are not aggressive towards people.  The young man kept telling me it may not be aggressive to humans, but I was trying to kill it and it didn’t like that.   He always looks on the bad side of things.

Melanie has a lovely post on the Cicada Nymph, which is what the Hunter Wasp wants. Unlike, Melanie, I did not give my insect a bath. She said she did so in the name of science and she isn’t weird or anything. I’ll let you think about that for a moment and you decide.  Let me know what you decide.

The hunter wasp was not happy being in the jar and I still wanted more pictures. So for the sake of science, I killed it. Unlike Melanie, who “poked it and prodded it and asked it all the right questions, and then took its picture”, I took pictures, killed it, then asked questions.  It’s the Ameican way.

Stay tuned, to learn how to make a killing jar. 🙂

7 responses to “The Hunter

  1. freeze it to death!

    peggyanns last blog post..She runs like a Deere

  2. Melanie isn’t weird….she’s an Alaskan and we’re God favorite people. :nods head:

    I also resent what you said about the American Way and then I realized that as far as I’m concerned when it comes to bugs you’re right. 😀

    Elaines last blog post..God’s Children…

  3. You’re a nut! “The American way.” LOL Well, I guess I’m from the kinder, gentler America.

    Can’t wait to see your killing jar!

    Melanies last blog post..Zombie Flesh Puffs

  4. I know how to make a killing jar. :p Blame it on being a voraciously reading homeschooler, with a penchant for random trivia. lol (I never killed anything with one…the only thing I kill are mosquitoes, and cockroaches. They deserve NO MERCY!! lol

    Melanie-Your comment is about being from a kinder, gentler America..your last blog post is titled Zombie Flesh Puffs….hmmmmm….:p

    ROTFL She has you there Melanie. Just admit it, you’re weird, not normal like me. 😀

    muralimanohars last blog post..Dancing on air..

  5. “Melanie isn’t weird…. she’s an Alaskan and we’re God’s favorite people.”

    Yeah! What she said. 😀

    Melanies last blog post..Zombie Flesh Puffs

  6. That is a beneficial insect and they also like mint flower pollen/nectar. I see at least one or two every day in the mint. They are quite large!

    It is a beneficial insect. I had no idea what they like, but I do know this one didn’t like being trapped. LOL They are large, one of the largest in Florida.

  7. Pingback: The Collection « APPLIE’S PLACE

Leave a Reply

