The Gauge

In crochet the gauge is the number of stitches and rows per inch.  Patterns will often give you the gauge right after the list of materials needed and it will say something like, 15 sc and 17 rows = 4 ins.  

To find your gauge make a swatch of about four to six inches square, block if needed.  Take two pins and mark the beginning area to measure and count over the number of sts your pattern tells  you, then place another pin.  Place your ruler at the pins and measure the distance.  Do the same for rows.

The swatch below was made in the yarn I was going to use to make a hat for my husband.  It is a small swatch and should have been bigger.  Anyhoo, you can get an idea of where to put the pins and measure. For this swatch the measurements hit dead on and I didn’t have to change the hook size. I started the hat and ripped it out. Then made the scarf, that is going to somebody, but I don’t know who yet. 🙂

 gauge

If the stitches were too wide, I would have to go down a hook size. If the stitches were so narrow, I would have to go up a hook size.

Here is one of my latest projects. I really need to finish it before the end of August. I want to wear it the weekend of August 29th. 🙂

Crocus Bud Crocheted Shawl

With this pattern, I had to make a swatch the width of the shawl and several rows, then block, before measuring. The gauge on the patterns is 2.75 sts and 2 rows per inch afer blocking. I came up way short and had to go up a hook size.

Crocus Bud Shawl

Crocus Bud Shawl 1

The only problem I see is blocking it. I don’t have a way to block such a long piece right now. Also, I can’t decide if I should steam block or soak and block. Hopefully, I’ll finish this quickly and I’ll post about how I blocked it.

That is all for now.

10 responses to “The Gauge

  1. Oh…Applie……it is lovely.

    I know some people block it on their beds. Do you have a Queen or King size bed?

    I have a king size bed, but where will I sleep when it is blocking? I think it will take a day to dry.

    chocolatechics last blog post..August 5

  2. That is beautiful!!
    Is that thread crochet? The hook looks too big for thread but the yarn is so delicate and shiny. What a pretty pattern.

    It is not like the thread yarn you are thinking of. It is thin and they call it lace yarn or lace weight. I thought the same thing about the hook, but it needs to be that big, to give it the open lacey look. 🙂

  3. You are so talented, Michelle!

    I love visiting your blog and seeing what you are up to be it cooking, homeschooling, travels, craft projects (crochet, etc), and more. You are a delight!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    Razor Family Farmss last blog post..Finally a Good Use for Fat

  4. I see. Well it’s working your work is beautiful!!

  5. That is going to be very pretty and appropriate for Florida.

    So what’s up with August 29th? Something special happening then? I know you’re not coming up north on that day so I don’t know how special the day could possibly be. 😉

    If you have a spare room use that bed. Or put it on your bed as soon as Sir Husband is out of it and then pin it out.

    Elaines last blog post..Twosey Tuesday

  6. Who says you have to sleep?

    You could sleep with the Peas, or you could sleep on the couch. Sacrifice for the good of the shawl.

    chocolatechics last blog post..August 5

  7. Very pretty!

    I bought a bunch of those big foam puzzle pieces you see at pre-schools, and I block my large items on them. (I wasn’t willing to give up my bed, either.) They have the added benefit of providing The Goobers with fort-building materials. 🙂

    That’s a good idea. I’ll have to look around for them. Thanks!

    Melanies last blog post..Zombie Flesh Puffs

  8. If you are looking for what Melanie is talking about I would suggest going to Sams and looking in the automotive area, I’d bet the cost is lower than for the ones for kids and the only difference would be packaging and color.

    Show us pictures of what you wind up doing and how it works.

    Elaines last blog post..Twosey Tuesday

  9. That will be a pretty scarf! I hope that you finish it on time!

  10. Beautiful work. You are very talented.

Leave a Reply

