The Killing Jar

There are lots of sites out there that can tell you how to make a killing jar.  If you need more information than what I give, please just google “how to make a killing jar” and you’ll get more information than you need.  Here is what I did.

Items of interest:
Photobucket

Large jar with lid. (that’s a no brainer)
Cotton ball
Cardboard
Fingernail Polish Remover

Photobucket

You also need an insect. I am using this one.

1. Cut the cardboard to fit snuggly in the jar and punch a few holes in it.
2. Soak the cotton ball in the polish remover.

Photobucket

3. Place the cotton ball in the jar and then the cardboard on top.

Photobucket

4. If you were like me and didn’t think about the killing jar until you caught the wasp, then you will have to transfer the angry creature to the killing jar. It doesn’t want to go there, so you have to bang on the jar to make it fall in, and yell, “Get OUT of there stupid bug!”   This makes your kids look at you funny.  Then quickly place the lid on top.:mrgreen:

Once he/she is in there, it looks at you and this is where we don’t talk about what it is really saying to you.

Photobucket

It took longer than I thought it would to kill this Hunter Wasp. I felt sorry for it. I might need therapy for this one.

Now that it is dead,  I hope, it is time to pin it down. I have a special styrofoam block made just for this purpose. With #2 insect pins, I pin it down in a shape that I want, but not through the body.

Photobucket

The specimen was left on my kitchen counter for two days before pinning it to the board.  The #2 pin was used  to pin the specimen through the thorax. It wasn’t easy, but I persevered. Nothing oozed out of its body, just so you know.

Photobucket

Once you have him nicely pinned, you can take upclose pictures.:mrgreen: Here he is looking at you and saying “I wish I wasn’t here”.

And here is a side view. Pretty neat!

Photobucket

This was done several days ago and he is still on that foam board waiting to be placed on a board.   Next thing is to label with a very tiny piece of paper with the following information, date caught, exact location of abduction, name, legal name, first born, and ss#.   The last two you don’t really have to put on there.

So now you can go forth, kill something, pin it, and admire it. I’ll be waiting to read all about it.🙂

14 responses to “The Killing Jar

  1. Cool!

    Kaths last blog post..Healing……

  2. Way cool! Have you read Gone-Away-Lake yet? If so, the killing jar makes an appearance and boy is it ever cool.

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    Razor Family Farmss last blog post..Turn Off the Gravel Road

  3. Now that is not something that you will find at my blog while there is still breath in my body.

    You need to get a glass fronted shadow box to put this in.

    Oh, BTW – I’ve never heard any insects/bugs of any kind or with any number of legs speak to me. I’ve also not seen their eyes and feel no remorse on ending their lives. I don’t go to their homes and try to take over so I don’t appreciate they’re doing this to me. Now hubby will destroy hives that are too close to the house.

    Elaines last blog post..Twosey Tuesday

  4. That is one ginormous wasp! Great photo sequence, Applie. The one with the waspie thang on the side of the killing jar, pleading for his life, is a bit sad.

    Sheris last blog post..Grandpa’s Hen House

  5. You are da’ bomb-diggity!

    I don’t know exactly what that means, but The Man says it in a way that makes me think it is a good thing. LOL

    Melanies last blog post..Zombie Flesh Puffs

  6. Neat! And excellent pictures of the wasp.

  7. My broom doesn’t leave much to admire. That is at close as I get.

  8. Still getting the shivers looking at the wasp. I carry an Epi Pen.

    **slowly reaching for the Epi Pen with eyes on the wasp**

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    LOL, Lacy this wasp won’t hurt you for two reasons, 1. It’s dead and 2. If it was alive and outside, it doesn’t bother humans. Just leave them alone and they’ll leave you alone. They are in the Dirt Dauber family and they don’t sting.🙂

    Razor Family Farmss last blog post..Sneaky Strawberry-Rhubarb Graham Crisp

  9. I just used to….. (thank goodness my kids are past that stage where they want to keep bugs they find)….put the jar in the freezer for a few mintues/hours. It does the trick.

    that reminds me, my kids sang a song about
    “We like bugs” Hope I can run across it sometime it is waaaay tooo funny.

    peggyanns last blog post..She runs like a Deere

  10. Pingback: August 9 « Chocolatechic

  11. I posted a blog for you today.

    SMACK!!

    chocolatechics last blog post..August 9

  12. Very cool! But you have got to be kidding me, it’s going to a very cood day in Hades before CC “plays” with bugs.

  13. Pingback: The Collection « APPLIE’S PLACE

Leave a Reply

