Crocus Bud Crocheted Shawl

Sir Husband and I will be celebrating our anniversary by going to Savannah, GA, for two nights. Yes, without kids! πŸ˜€

Since we will be able to go out to a nice dinner…alone, I wanted to wear something nice. I decided I needed this Crocus Bud Crocheted Shawl. It was very easy to make. I used a size larger hook and added just a few more stitches to get the right gauge.

Crocus Bud Shawl

Blocking was difficult. I used our kingsized bed and it took me over an hour to block it. I never did get it to the right size. I am disappointed in the width of it, but other than that it is nice.

Blocked Crocus Bud Shawl

I am not sure if I will try and reblock it. I will probably make another one twice the size, in black.

Here is the finished product.

open back

See how narrow the width is. It needs to be twice that size.

back

It isn’t too bad, once it is wrapped around the shoulders.

Front

This is the outfit that I will be wearing with the shawl.

13 responses to “Crocus Bud Crocheted Shawl

  1. The shawl is beautiful if like you said a bit on the skimpy side for width. You dear look beautiful!!!

    MichielleRoses last blog post..My Champion Swimmer

  2. ooooOOOOOOOOOOO

    Pretty!

    chocolatechics last blog post..August 18

  3. Its beautiful! Happy anniversary!

    How many years of wedded biss has there been for the two of you?

    kaths last blog post..Heartfelt Week…….

  4. You look fantastic, Michelle!!

    If that doesn’t make Sir Husband just fall at your feet in adoration I don’t know what will! πŸ˜‰

    I love your choice of color of your top, blue always works.

    As for the shawl/stoll, I think it looks great the way it is as an accessory. If you want it to help keep you warm then I would say make it wider though the length is perfect. Will you be using a broach or something to hold it at the shoulder?

    Elaine, it isn’t for warmth, but it does need to be wider. I don’t have a broach to hold it, but I have seen some lovely ones. πŸ™‚

    Elaines last blog post..Cough Funny

  5. Very lovely!

    Melanies last blog post..Pride of Ownership

  6. Now that’s schnazzzy m’dear! You and your new shawl look lovely. πŸ˜€ That stitch is so cool looking!

    Happy happy anniversary, a wee bit early. :mrgreen:

  7. Happy Anniversary!
    It is so beautiful and delicate.
    I want to see what it looks like on you.
    I guess I’ll have to wait for Anniversary pictures:)

  8. Sorry for some reason I didn’t see the whole post the first time. Wow you look stunning!!

  9. Michelle, you look so elegant! I love the shawl and think you did a lovely job. I like that it is white so that the details are easy to see.

    Beautiful!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    Razor Family Farmss last blog post..Tears on Your Pillow Pie

  10. Bravo! Well Done!! You look lovely!

    Sheris last blog post..Birthday Here

  11. Silver Silver Silver! Happy Anniversary on the 20th.
    nice shawl and black will be smashing too. How do you do this so fast?

    It was an easy, easy pattern. The hard part was blocking it.

    peggyanns last blog post..Vintage aprons

  12. I didn’t know that you crocheted. It’s beautiful, really. It’s a skill I never could get the knack of so I really appreciate your skill.

    I’ve enjoyed perusing the blog and getting to know your family a little better.

    See you at the next coop.

    Nancy Jo Wilsons last blog post..Seeing and Hearing (1st John 1:1-4)

  13. This is absolutely beautiful. Cingratulations by the way on your anniversary! Graeme and I celebrated ours on the 22nd of Aug. I’d do it all over again, too. : )

    Trishs last blog post..Silliness

Leave a Reply

