Jenni’s Wild Rice Salad

My SIL made this for us one Christmas.  Since then it has been a family favorite at any get together. 

 

Photobucket

Jenni’s Wild Rice Salad

Cook 1 cup of wild rice according to directions.

While the rice is cooking, combine the dressing ingredients in a jar with a tight-fitting lid and shake well. Refrigerate unitl ready to use.

Dressing:
1/2 cup canola or olive oil
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
2 Tbsp. grated Parmesan
1 1/2 tsp. honey
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground white pepper
1/4 tsp. dry mustard
1/8 tsp. paprika
1 clove garlic, minced

In a large bowl, combine the salad ingredients with the rice.

Salad Ingredients:
1 (6-oz.) jar marinated artichoke hearts, drained and halved. (Reserve marinade)
1/3 cup coarsely chopped green bell pepper
3 green onions, chopped
1 cup cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
2 stalks celery, chopped
1/4 cup slivered almonds
1/4 cup Craisins

Add marinade and 1/2 the dressing. Cover and chill or eat at room temperature. Just before serving, toss again and taste. Add as much of remaining dressing as desired

11 responses to “Jenni’s Wild Rice Salad

  1. Wild rice just isn’t normal. 😉

    I bet the dressing would be great over couscous.

    chocolatechics last blog post..August 21

  2. Yum! That looks good. I have a hard time finding wild rice that isn’t a box mix with tons of sodium. I have to look harder so I can try this.

    Lisa, I found a box of it on the top shelf at Publix. They only have two different brands of plain wild rice. You could also find it at a health food store and would probably be cheaper. Did you know wild rice will stay fresh, if sealed, for two years. Brown rice goes rancid after six months.

  3. Yummy, yummy, yummy! Would you just come over here and make it for me?? I need someone to cook for me while I can up all this stuff!

    I’ll give you some canned peaches, tomatoes, and green beans… please??

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    Razor Family Farmss last blog post..Darn! Darn! Darn!

  4. That sounds very good.

    I didn’t know that about brown rice. Thanks! =)

  5. If your friend Lisa lives near a Whole Foods or Trader Joes, she will find LOADS of wild rice in the bulk section. 😀

    I tell ya what… make some of this on September 17 and I’ll be there to celebrate my birthday with you and your family. 😆

    Don’t I wish!! :mrgreen:

    It looks and sounds great! 😀

  6. No, I did not know that. You are a wealth of information:)
    That explains why I can’t find it I can’t see it in my go cart thingy. I’ll have to my tall girl to get it for me. I will try at the health food store too. I think I have a recipe for wild rice and barley somewhere too.

  7. I would love to try it. I’m not sure my family would go for it tho.

    Can you send me a few bites?????

    Kaths last blog post..We’re Back From This……..

  8. That looks delicious. I didn’t know brown rice goes bad – I’ve never bought enough at one time to last six months. Now I know not to. 🙂

    Melanies last blog post..A Garden and a Giveaway

  9. That looks mouthwatering! Thanks….saving it for a potluck.

    Sheris last blog post..Busy Birdbath

  10. I posted at GRIT.com again and am giving away a handmade grocery sack.

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    Razor Family Farmss last blog post..Guinea Fowl & Housing Plans

  11. Sounds delicious!

    Tippers last blog post..School Time

Leave a Reply

