Along came a spider…

Clever spider spins a thread
To make a trap we call a web.
Clever spider knows that she
Will have some insect with her tea.
Author Unknown

I made this for a contest in Raverly. The pattern is from Lisa Gentry of Hook and Needle Designs. Her patterns are easy and quick.

spider weaving

I decided to make this spider do what I love to do and that is crochet. Personally I do believe that is how spiders make their webs. 😀

IMG_4638

Then to add a special touch, I made her into a Black Widow. Here she is checking out the back of her web. It has to be perfect, you know.

Under spider

About Black Widow Spiders, they get to be bout 1.5 inches long. The female is usually black with a red hour glass on her belly, and the male has red streaks on his belly. The female will lay up to 900 eggs; however, only about 30 will survive to adulthood. The females hang belly up and rarely leave the web. On occasions, she has been known to eat the male.

I’ll probably hang her from my desk. I just hope Albert doesn’t get her.
 

13 responses to “Along came a spider…

  1. Last night, I was sitting in my chair watching a movie when I saw something out of the corner of my eye.

    It was a huge spider. I jumped, grabbed a shoe and mashed that nasty thing!

    You are so mean!

    chocolatechics last blog post..October 10

  2. Michelle, that’s cute! =) The second picture is the best one.

  3. Oh my gosh! That is amazing. What a wonderful job. You are so talented.

    Kristys last blog post..The Perfect Sick and Mexican Flowers

  4. Very cute!!! I wish I could crochet better

    MichielleRoses last blog post..Hi

  5. Applie, that is, by far, the cutest spider I’ve ever seen! I think you will win the contest.

    I don’t know if I will win the contest. There are some cute ones out there. Lisa Gentry did ask if she could put that picture on her website. LOL

    Sheris last blog post..For Elaine

  6. You know, that is one spider web and spider that I would allow to stay in my house. 😉

    Elaines last blog post..Homeschool Memoirs #8: Study Spot

  7. This is way too cute! I think it would be a great way to get kids started crocheting ! the web looks like a simple pattern.

    peggyanns last blog post..Flannel Rag Quilt a progress report

  8. Beautiful work!
    Cute poem. I’m making a spider web doily too … minus the spider;)
    I think you should win too.

  9. Oh, I love it! Simply love it. I love how creative crochet can be.

    JoAnns last blog post..Our Possessed Microwave

  10. Ha! I love it! If you don’t win, I’ll cry foul. Your web is MUCH tidier than the black widow webs I’ve seen. 🙂

    I hate to be the one who has to tell you this, but spiders don’t crochet. They knit with five double pointed needles.

    Melanies last blog post..Cookies and a Bookmark and a Curious Absence of Pictures

  11. That is cute! Except is that a black widow? Ugh. She is much cuter than the one I had in my grapes, though.

    Tressas last blog post..Saturday Mom Confession #7

  12. I love your spider tea party it is so cute…. Your spider and web that is crocheting with her little hook…. Hugs, Molly

    Thank you. I haven’t posted the spider tea party here yet.

  13. Pingback: Spider Friendships | APPLIE’S PLACE

Leave a Reply

