Come on in!

Welcome to the cabin.  This cabin was built many years ago by a woman.  She was a wealthy woman, who never married.  I’ll have to get the details, but this cabin was built after a huge storm went through the area.  The wood used was from trees that fell during the storm.  All things were made by hand.  All the shingles were cut with an ax, all handles were hand carved, etc. 

Please come in through the side door.  This is the most used door of the house.  It enters through the porch, where extra food is stored.  From there it goes into the kitchen.

 Photobucket

In this kitchen I have found antique cookware, still usable, cookbooks from the 20, 30, and 40’s, and items I have no idea what they are for. Inside the cabinets, are lists of items to take on a camping trip. They take everything including the kitchen sink. LOL If I ever go back, I’ll type up the list and share it.  There is very little food storage area in the kitchen, that is why everything is on the counter. 

Below you can see the handles of the cabinets. They were made from tree branches. Yep, carved by hand.

Photobucket

Next we enter the dining area. It is very small, but the view is breath taking. It over looks Mamie Lake. When no one is up talking, you can hear a pin drop out on the lake. One morning I was up alone and I heard someone talking. I jumped and turned around to find that it was just a boy and his father fishing out on the lake. Totally awesome.

Photobucket

Next comes the living room. This is where all the action happens at night. Family games or reading every night. There is T.V., but with only one or two slightly viewable stations, we don’t use it much. No computer either and only one dial phone. 🙂 Soooo nice.  The coffee table was built by my FIL with one of the local trees.  I can’t remember the kind it was.

Photobucket

 In the livingroom is our collection of fungus journals. Every year we hunt these things down and write about our summer. They never get bugs, because everything freezes during the winter. After our honeymoon, I took two home with us and within two days they were invested with bugs. I threw them out.

Photobucket

Here is an upclose photo, though not a good one, of our first fungus journal. It annouces our wedding 25 years ago. It is still there, as you can see.

Photobucket

That is all the photos I have right now. I have more from previous years that I need to find. I hope you have enjoyed the little trip through the cabin. Next I’ll try to post pictures of the plants outside. Yep, I’d love to live here.

10 responses to “Come on in!

  1. You couldn’t handle the cold.

    You are probably right. I keep telling myself, if I had the right clothes from Cablea’s, and the right snow equipment (snowmobile), then I could handle it. LOL I use to live up north.

    chocolatechics last blog post..October 22

  2. I love the fungus journals! What an original idea. And how cool to see yours from your honeymoon. Great cabin!

    Kristys last blog post..Analyze This

  3. I have never heard of fungus journals. It looks like they keep very well in the cabin. That is a very nice place. =)

  4. What a beautiful place with so many memories for your family.

    Kaths last blog post..My Shadow Is Gone…..

  5. Living with real seasons is a wonderful thing. If you don’t like crowds then living where it is warm all year is not where you should be.

    Of course if you buy into the whole “Global Warming” stuff then you should be looking at Alaska and northern North America because it won’t be long before we’re growing palm trees.

    Elaines last blog post..Twosey Tuesday – October 21, 2008

  6. I LOVE the cabin! How wonderful! I am simply enchanted by lakeside cabins and really wish that we could have one some day!

    Sigh.

    The fungus journals are so neat. I can see why you would try to take one home with you. It is such a neat keepsake.

    What an interesting blog post!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    RazorFamilyFarms.coms last blog post..Bringing Techie Back

  7. Ahhhhh Your cabin is gorgeous. And it’s in Wisconsin. Another ahhhhhhh.

    I can’t wait to see more photos of yours from WI. It’s like a good book that I can’t put down.

    Hugs, Robin

    Robins last blog post..The Flower Boat

  8. Only your family would keep fungus journals. LOL That is such a cool idea!

    The whole place is gorgeous, inside and out. I’m moving in, okay? I like the cold. Your fungi and I would get along famously.

    Melanies last blog post..Been Busy

  9. Michelle, this is a fantastic cabin! I can’t believe the door handles and the fungus journals. Wow! It is no wonder you love the place. Love, Wardeh

    Wardeh at Such Treasuress last blog post..Open Letter to My (Old) Web Host

  10. Pingback: The Boathouse, picture heavy. | APPLIE’S PLACE

Leave a Reply

