A Garage Sale

At the beginning of the week, one of our good neighbors said she was having a garage sale this Saturday and wanted us to join her.  She sent out fliers to let all of us know, so about six familes on the street decided to join her in decluttering our homes.  She posted the times in Craig’s List and out on different streets.  Time is clearly marked.  We never had a garage sale before, so this was exciting.

At my normal time since we got the pups, I’m up at 5:00.  By 6:55 I am placing a table out on the driveway.  The sale begins at 8:00am.  At 7:10 people start showing up.  I have one table with just a few items on there.  One woman comes up and says, “Is this all you got?”.  I said, “The garage sale doesn’t start until 8:00, I don’t have it all out yet.” She says, “So, there is no more?”.  I said, “no”. 

All the neighbors got their junk treasures out to sell to all the people coming our way.  Our home is situated where I can talk to three neighbors in their driveways, at the same time.  So, we sit and chat.  About 8:00 or so, it starts to sprinkle.  Then it sprinkles more.  Then it pours.

Photobucket

Photobucket

It doesn’t stop. We place all the furniture on the porch and cover what was left out on the driveway.

Photobucket

It stops pouring and just sprinkles. Amazingly, people still came out to look. I had to meet everyone and tell them there was more on the porch. By 9:00 our neighbors have made 60 dollars. We have made nothing.

We did have a few offers on some things. One woman wanted to pay only $10.00 for our antique dresser. One woman wanted to pay only 50 cents for some toys that really could go for $2.00. One woman wanted to pay only $15.00 for our George Forman Grill. We were asking $30.00. It was a brand new never used, $100.00 George Forman Grill. We told her she could have it for $20.00. This was our conversation. Her $15.00? Me no, $20. $15.00? $20. $15.00? $20. $15.00 at this point I am laughing at her and said, “NO, $20.00!”. If she had asked again I would have said no sale. She ended up getting it for $20.00. It was a good deal for her.

So at the end of our garage sale, we made $29.00. I am declaring it here for all to see, read, and understand. We will never. have. another. garage. sale.  EVER!

Want to know what happened to the stuff that didn’t sell? Sir Husband packed it in the van and gave it to Betty Griffin House. The furniture and some of the toys are going on Craig’s List. 😀

Update:  Sir Husband has sold his plainer to a man who was interested in it from the garage sale.  I just sold my clarinet off of Craig’s List. 🙂   It’s starting to make us feel better about the garage sale, but we still will never have another one. 

10 responses to “A Garage Sale

  1. I am so sorry.

    chocolatechics last blog post..November 15

  2. Ugh, it rained. That’s not much for all the effort. I’m sorry.

  3. I hear ya! I’m sorry your first garage sale wasn’t a fun or at least a profitable experience. I’ve done several garage sales and only one was truly worth the time and effort….so it must have been an anomaly.
    I ebay somethings when I get a wild hare otherwise, it is straight to the Goodwill.

    Sheris last blog post..The Great Aldi’s Experiment — Part 1

  4. I’m with you…I hate garage sales. I usually just donate all of our stuff to the Christian Resale Shop. Or my “bigger/better” treasures go on Craigslist.

    Kristy Miklass last blog post..The Grocery Game

  5. Bummer. I haven’t had much luck with garage sales either. I’m glad you found a good home for most of your stuff and at least you sold your clarinet.

  6. Oh, no! What a pain! I’m sure you’d have done better if it hadn’t been raining – they all proably thought you owed them something just for coming out in the weather. LOL We’ve only had one garage sale, and that’s only because my mother-in-law was having one and invited us to bring over our stuff. We made about $200, but it was such a miserable day that we’ll never do it again.

    Melanies last blog post..Saturday Mom Confession #5

  7. Wow..$29?? I don’t blame you for never wanting to do it again!! And sucks about the rain…I haven’t done that many garage sales, but it’s rained half the time for them, too. Yuck.

    muralimanohars last blog post..Pyromania..

  8. Ahhhh phooey! I sure wish you’d sold more of your treasures.

    I get on yard sale kicks every now and then. We had four over a period of four weeks this last spring and made almost $400.00! 😛 I sold things like the play kitchen, a large Christmas tree, a t.v., etc. I was so glad to see those things go! We have enough stuff for another one this coming spring. I’ll try to sell my handmade aprons there.

    I hope the rest of your weekend was awesome!! Hugs, Robin

    Robins last blog post..The Ocean at Staten Island in Pictures & Words

  9. They are way too much work!! But I LOVE going to them. I sell clothes and decor at a consignment shop and make just as much as I did having a sale.

    Kaths last blog post..CommentLuv needs updating on this site. Please download the latest version and install it on your site. This message will apear during the first 10 minutes of each hour. This remote script will cease returning posts in 7 days

  10. I don’t care for garage sales either. I find that they are more work than they are worth. I prefer to just pack everything up and donate it. The last one we had was this summer and the only reason I agreed to it was because my daughter wanted to do it to benefit World Vision. We ended up making just under $150 and half of it was from donations rather than sales. We clearly advertised the purpose of our sale complete with posters from World Vision and showing the World Vision catalog to people. I had both kids working it, too, greeting and explaining. It was a perfectly gorgeous day so weather wasn’t an issue.

    JoAnns last blog post..Tacoma Kids Weeklly: Week of November 17, 2008

Leave a Reply

